Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why are NRL players so good at other sports?

Armageddon.

NRL players are carving up in other sports, especially Rugby Union.
It doesn't happen the other way around, nobody from Union succeeds in league.
Folau made the Wallabies in no time and dominates.

Heck even blokes like Cooper Vuna and Joseph Tomane who could barely hold down club spots in league represented Australia after switching to Union...

Other players such as:
- SBW
- Berrick Barnes
- Brad Thorn
- Wendell Sailor
- Lote Tuqiri
- Mat Rogers
- Timana Tahu
- Ryan Cross

have all done well in union, and that's just off the top of my head.

So why do NRL players go to union (and other sports) and find it so easy compared to league?

Andrew Johns even played cricket....

At some point the private school diehards are just going to have to admit that Rugby Union does not breed good Rugby players.

Son of Minto

Didn't Brett Sheehan play for the Wallabies? He probably wouldn't of made NSW Residents if he stayed in League. Shit sport.

Fire

They're better athletes and the NRL is a superior competition.

Seriously, look at Australian rugby, it's played by a bunch of fat merkins who want to smell the bums of other fat merkins in a thing called a "ruck."

"Running rugby" is dead as dead.

f**ken woeful sport these days.

Rugby is a lazy man's game.

BranVan3000

They're better athletes and the NRL is a superior competition.

Seriously, look at Australian rugby, it's played by a bunch of fat merkins who want to smell the bums of other fat merkins in a thing called a "ruck."

"Running rugby" is dead as dead.

f**ken woeful sport these days.

Rugby is a lazy man's game.
I tried to watch the Wallabies Lions game, was the most dull shit I've ever witnessed. I would seriously rather watch AFL

Fire

I tried to watch the Wallabies Lions game, was the most dull shit I've ever witnessed. I would seriously rather watch AFL

Got a mate who is a banker these days. Grew up a Cronulla fan and playing rugby league. Anyways, he became a banker and now thinks his shit doesn't stink and has decided to follow the Wallabies (cause all his wanker banker friends do). When he invites me over to watch them, I seriously drink my beer twice as fast to get drunk quicker because it bores the shit out of me.

I'm actually off to the rugby now (got corporate box tix). I'd rather be watching the game at Kogarah.

I will be get extremely drunk extremely quickly...

Armageddon.

Got a mate who is a banker these days. Grew up a Cronulla fan and playing rugby league. Anyways, he became a banker and now thinks his shit doesn't stink and has decided to follow the Wallabies (cause all his wanker banker friends do). When he invites me over to watch them, I seriously drink my beer twice as fast to get drunk quicker because it bores the shit out of me.

I'm actually off to the rugby now (got corporate box tix). I'd rather be watching the game at Kogarah.

I will be get extremely drunk extremely quickly...

You may see some jolly swell penalty goals.

footy75

They are good at other sports because they are professional athletes that have good genetics, were brought about as sporty kids and most of all have that competitive streak and mindset between the ears that you need to make it tot he highest level.

Jonathan Davies
Scott fairburn
Alan tait
Ricky Stuart
John devearux
Brian carney
Franco botica
Scott Gibbs
Dally messenger

Etc etc

Me thinks the op's theory may be flawed!

playdaball

Jonathan Davies
Scott fairburn
Alan tait
Ricky Stuart
John devearux
Brian carney
Franco botica
Scott Gibbs
Dally messenger

Etc etc

Me thinks the op's theory may be flawed!

There have been 100s of guys who've made the switch from union to league succesfully, especially pre rugby pro days. Carney was league went to union and then back to league.