Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why my team will win in 2004

roopy

We all probably hope our team will win in 2004, so here is a thread where we can list the reasons they will do well.

My team is the Knights.

Obviously the Knights need Johns to have a great year to take out the title, and the good news is that Johns is officially in the best shape of his life in early off season training - he has the lowest body fat level since he joined the club and for the first time in his life he is nearly a non drinker since starting his new relationship half way through last season.

Johns will also have a quality 5/8 beside him for the first time since his brother left the club now that Kurt Gidley is finally reaching his potential.

Danny Buderus is the next most important player, and he is getting better and better as he reaches his mid twenties.

The Knights backs were a bit thin on the ground last season, but the club has bought at least three players of firstgrade standard to fill in if injuries/suspensions/rep duties run us short again this season.

The Knights forwards had a massive injection of young talent last season with 9 forwards making their firstgrade debut, and this season will see several of them (Price, Tanner, Lowrie, Mueller, Quigley etc) come of age as firstgraders, assuming they can push aside rep players like Kennedy, Simpson, Perry, Abraham etc.

The Knights suffered from a lack of depth last season, but this season they have bought several firstgraders (Richardson, Witt, Fitzgerald) and have many talented juniors backing up for their second season in firstgrade, so the depth problem shouldn't be a worry this year.

miccle

Since 1992, the Broncos haven't yet gone more than 3 years without a premiership. We've been dry for 2001, 2002 and 2003, so statistically we must win it :wink:

Nah in all honesty we have the bets fullback in the comp, best prop in the comp, one of the hardest working forward packs and a young, talented halves combo in Seymour and Tony.

Canterbury

Canterbury will win it in '04.

We have a well balanced backline that consists of the best pointscorer currently in the NRL.

we have arguably the best 5/8th/halfback combination in the NRL and brent sherwin at 100% health is as good as any other halfback in the nrl (as proven in 2002 and for most of the season in 2003.)

We have the rlw's prop of the year in steven price, also our skipper who inspires the boys in both win and loss, every week. and o'meley is a machine.

our hookers crap :(

If we don't win it we'll definately be in and around the top 8 and giving it our all against whichever team we may come up against. as we have done for the last 20 years.

Canterbury.

ozbash

i dont think johns will make it past rd 4.
someone will line him up..

if the warriors can go through uninjured,the trophy will reside in penrose.

top 4 after g/f

1,warriors
2,broncos
3,penrith
4,roosters

It has to be the Panthers in 2004! :D

The Panther have one thing going for them that no other team has. They can adapt their playing style to suit an opponent.

They can beat a Warriors side at their own game. Then the next week they can beat the Roosters at their own game.

They dont rely on one player to much. Newcastle had Johns, Sydney has Fittler, Brisbane has Lockyer, Penrith has.....just a bloody brilliant team!!!! :D

SpaceMonkey

The Warriors will win in 2004. Each of the last three years we've had some of the ingredients but we've never had it all together until now.
In 2001 we were predicted to get the spoon but performed well above expectations. In 2002 we were the surprise packet, falling short only through a lack of finals experience and very good opposition in the Roosters, who had the wood on us via a thrashing lat in the early season. In 2003 we were hampered by the lack of an off-season due to a Kiwi tour and some serious injury problems, plus the lack of a goalkicker due to Cleary's departure. In 2004 none of these factors will apply.
There are a lot of reasons why we'll be the team to beat this year.
1: Our squad is almost fully fit, only PJ Marsh is still to return from a major injury and hopefully he'll be back by the time the season kicks off. Jones and Lauiti'iti will be back to their best after injury-hampered seasons.
2: Immense depth. There is hardly a position where we don't have a wealth of talent. Whether it's Martin, Toopi and Anderson fighting for centre spots, Leulai and Hohaia fighting for the stand-off role, Marsh and Betham contesting for hooker or any one of six (count em!) NRL-grade second rowers, we've got depth all over the park.
3: Experience. We've made the semi-final two years running and our squad is stacked with Internationals. There are plenty of old heads there who know how to win and handle pressure.
4: Goalkicking. In Tony Martin we've actually got a decent kicker this year! Webb's ok, but he'll be better without the pressure of kicking.
5: Forwards. Arguably the biggest, meanest, most skillful bunch of pigs in the competition. A massive front row of Seu Seu, Villisanti, Palea'esina and Tookey followed by a mixture of workhorses and ball-players in the second row.
6: Halves. One of the world's best in Jones, paired with two of the best young talents in the NRL in Hohaia and Leuleuai, plus the scheming of Marsh from hooker. We could even see Marsh at 5/8th if Bethams form at hooker continues.
7: Backs. One of the best attacking centres around in Toopi, arguably the NRL's best winger in Meli, the best jumper in Faafili, and one of the best broken-field counterattackers in Webb. Add to that Tony Martin, the powerful and ever improving Anderson, and a host of youngsters, and we have a backline to trouble any defence.
8: The front office. We've got a top coach in Daniel Anderson backed by the most efficient administration in the NRL, all paid out of Eric Watsons deep and generous pocket.
9: Home advantage. A re-developed Ericcson will be one of the best grounds in the NRL and the most intimidatiing for opposition fans. Plus we've got two away games in other parts of NZ where the crowd will largely back us.
10: Away support. Gone are the days when the Warriors couldn't pull a Sydney crowd. An army of kiwis will flock to every match on Australian soil and cheer their countrymen to victory.

Anyway I'm off down to the TAB to put some $$ on the Warriors before the bookies read this post. 2004, THE YEAR OF THE WARRIOR!!

nospam49 said:
It has to be the Panthers in 2004! :D

The Panther have one thing going for them that no other team has. They can adapt their playing style to suit an opponent.

They can beat a Warriors side at their own game. Then the next week they can beat the Roosters at their own game.

They dont rely on one player to much. Newcastle had Johns, Sydney has Fittler, Brisbane has Lockyer, Penrith has.....just a bloody brilliant team!!!! :D

nospam49, you took the words right out of my mouth mate!!

PANTHERS IN 2004!!

Disco

SpaceMonkey said:
The Warriors will win in 2004. Each of the last three years we've had some of the ingredients but we've never had it all together until now.
In 2001 we were predicted to get the spoon but performed well above expectations. In 2002 we were the surprise packet, falling short only through a lack of finals experience and very good opposition in the Roosters, who had the wood on us via a thrashing lat in the early season. In 2003 we were hampered by the lack of an off-season due to a Kiwi tour and some serious injury problems, plus the lack of a goalkicker due to Cleary's departure. In 2004 none of these factors will apply.
1: Our squad is almost fully fit, only PJ Marsh is still to return from a major injury and hopefully he'll be back by the time the season kicks off. Jones and Lauiti'iti will be back to their best after injury-hampered seasons.
2: Immense depth. There is hardly a position where we don't have a wealth of talent. Whether it's Martin, Toopi and Anderson fighting for centre spots, Leulai and Hohaia fighting for the stand-off role, Marsh and Betham contesting for hooker or any one of six (count em!) NRL-grade second rowers, we've got depth all over the park.
3: Experience. We've made the semi-final two years running and our squad is stacked with Internationals. There are plenty of old heads there who know how to win and handle pressure.
4: Goalkicking. In Tony Martin we've actually got a decent kicker this year! Webb's ok, but he'll be better without the pressure of kicking.
5: Forwards. Arguably the biggest, meanest, most skillful bunch of pigs in the competition. A massive front row of Seu Seu, Villisanti, Palea'esina and Tookey followed by a mixture of workhorses and ball-players in the second row.
6: Halves. One of the world's best in Jones, paired with two of the best young talents in the NRL in Hohaia and Leuleuai, plus the scheming of Marsh from hooker. We could even see Marsh at 5/8th if Bethams form at hooker continues.
7: Backs. One of the best attacking centres around in Toopi, arguably the NRL's best winger in Meli, the best jumper in Faafili, and one of the best broken-field counterattackers in Webb. Add to that Tony Martin, the powerful and ever improving Anderson, and a host of youngsters, and we have a backline to trouble any defence.
8: The front office. We've got a top coach in Daniel Anderson backed by the most efficient administration in the NRL, all paid out of Eric Watsons deep and generous pocket.
9: Home advantage. A re-developed Ericcson will be one of the best grounds in the NRL and the most intimidatiing for opposition fans. Plus we've got two away games in other parts of NZ where the crowd will largely back us.
10: Away support. Gone are the days when the Warriors couldn't pull a Sydney crowd. An army of kiwis will flock to every match on Australian soil and cheer their countrymen to victory.

Anyway I'm off down to the TAB to put some $$ on the Warriors before the bookies read this post. 2004, THE YEAR OF THE WARRIOR!!
Im convinced

Raiders:

The reason why we will win the comp in 2004 is because we have the best mix of youth, experience and skill. Our forward pack is close if not the best in the comp. Lead up front by an experienced Davico, and the young and hungry Ryan OHara, the work ethic of Ian Hindmarsh and sheer power and attacking prowless of rubin wiki provides one of the best 2nd row combinations. Our hooker and captain when on song can play well above his weight and is in the 4th best hooker in the comp atm, sitting behind only Buderus, Wing and Priddis. With the work-aholic Terry Martin packing the scrum we have a powerful and mobile unit. And lest not forget to mention Waymen and Cross, who IMO are bound for rep teams, Ben Cross is the next Rubin Wiki ;-)

Our halfs are McLinden and the back to the future Croker, Croker provides the experience and defence whilst McLinden has that unpridicable style and is growing as a halfback. Add Skippy (Drew) and a young Campeese to that mixture and we have enormus depth in the halves.

Our blackline is often under-rated because of our enormus forward pack. But in the backline we have the brains of our opperation Schifcofske, he didnt come 3rd in the Dally M count last year for nothing. On the wings we have Joel Monaghan who scored 23 tries last season and partnering him will more than likly be Matt Gafa who scored a mamoith 350 odd points in Premier League last year. Our centres provide a wonderful mix, Graham the young and exciting attacking player, with a few extra kilos during offseason he will a handy defender aswell and Mogg the old wise defencive man, mind you he aint to shabby in attack either.

Now i cant talk about all this without mentioning Matty Elliot, in his short time at the club he has turned us form a borderline top 8 team to a top 4 and only 2 points form the minor premiership. He has been the catayst for our dramatic away record turn around which saw us lose ony a handful of games away last season.

This precise mix of youth and experience is why the might raiders will win the premiership next season. GO THE MIGHTY GREEN MACHINE!

That Guy

Disco said:
SpaceMonkey said:

Im convinced

Mee Too :D :D :D

keeney

Raider_69 said:
Raiders:

The reason why we will win the comp in 2004 is because we have the best mix of youth, experience and skill. Our forward pack is close if not the best in the comp. Lead up front by an experienced Davico, and the young and hungry Ryan OHara, the work ethic of Ian Hindmarsh and sheer power and attacking prowless of rubin wiki provides one of the best 2nd row combinations. Our hooker and captain when on song can play well above his weight and is in the 4th best hooker in the comp atm, sitting behind only Buderus, Wing and Priddis. With the work-aholic Terry Martin packing the scrum we have a powerful and mobile unit. And lest not forget to mention Waymen and Cross, who IMO are bound for rep teams, Ben Cross is the next Rubin Wiki ;-)

Our halfs are McLinden and the back to the future Croker, Croker provides the experience and defence whilst McLinden has that unpridicable style and is growing as a halfback. Add Skippy (Drew) and a young Campeese to that mixture and we have enormus depth in the halves.

Our blackline is often under-rated because of our enormus forward pack. But in the backline we have the brains of our opperation Schifcofske, he didnt come 3rd in the Dally M count last year for nothing. On the wings we have Joel Monaghan who scored 23 tries last season and partnering him will more than likly be Matt Gafa who scored a mamoith 350 odd points in Premier League last year. Our centres provide a wonderful mix, Graham the young and exciting attacking player, with a few extra kilos during offseason he will a handy defender aswell and Mogg the old wise defencive man, mind you he aint to shabby in attack either.

Now i cant talk about all this without mentioning Matty Elliot, in his short time at the club he has turned us form a borderline top 8 team to a top 4 and only 2 points form the minor premiership. He has been the catayst for our dramatic away record turn around which saw us lose ony a handful of games away last season.

This precise mix of youth and experience is why the might raiders will win the premiership next season. GO THE MIGHTY GREEN MACHINE!

i like the raiders, but all of this season i saw them as a sturdy team, a team that could beat most teams during regular season, but come finals just lack the creative flair, they haev the basis of a really good team, but play too safely, they had the best completion rate last year, but they didnt perform during the finals

Misty Bee

The reason that Nathan Cayless will hold aloft the 2004 telstra Cup is because Parramatta will flog all of the above clubs.

Facve it, Nathan Hindmarsh scares the shit out of your teams. The best second rower in the NRL (Dally M's 2000-3). And our go forward has improved, with the signings of a shitload of bench miscle: Cannings, Muspratt, Muckert, PEarson, Stapleton, Moi Moi and now (as rumour has it) kafusi.

John Morris is the next NSW hooker.

Adam Dyles has finally found form. And a combination with young Michael Witt, who will be Queensland's half for SO 2004. This is the first in form half five eitht combo Parra have had since Sterlo and Bert reigned supreme. Quite simply, think of our 2001 season, with A DECENT SCRUMBASE!!!

Jamie Lyon confirmed that he is the world's best threequarter.He completely outclassed Hodges, Tate, Carroll, and whoever else was thrown his way in Origin. David Vaialiki is also a seasoned internatriona. Eric Grothe Jnr is back, and raring to go. Matt Peterson is on the other wing - try hungry and feeding off the magnificent service of Nathan Hindmarsh.

And we have the services of the best juniors in the world - seven consecutive times Club Championship winners.

We will flog Bulldogs in round 1, who will be weakened by not being able to cheat for the first time in yonks.

2 points are guaranteed from our game at Suncorp.

We will restore the little upstart brother, penrith, to it's rightful lowly position.

Manly willbe a bloodies pile of feathers after we finish with them. So will the Chooks.

There will be no opposition.

This IS the year of THE MIGHTY EELS!!!!!!

Maroubra Eel

That Guy said:
I am looking forward to the view of a souths fan on this one.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Souths have about as much chance as Newcastle, Dogs, Panthers, Roosters, Broncos, Raiders, etc.
Absolutely no chance with the Mighty Eels coming back into form. Its ours so you can all just forget about it.

PB

To add to Mistys insight (and to continue to install fear in the rest of you :) )

Cayless, Hindy and Luke Burt are blue and gold to the bone, and between them played about 20 games last year. They will all be screaming to make up for lost time this year. Burt would have been in the Country side last year, and a bolter for the blues, getting the junp ahead of Devere had he not broken his collar bone twice.

Dykes is winning the strength tests down at parra suggesting his injuries are behind him.

In 2001, alot of our success came on the back of people, who prior to that season, hadnt made names for themselves, but had shown to be reasonable first graders. This year, the likes of Cannings, Witt, Muckert and Grothe (to name but a few) will all realise their potential.

warren

PB said:
In 2001, alot of our success came on the back of people, who prior to that season, hadnt made names for themselves,

in 2001 your success was due to one person, maybe 2......jason taylor and michael beauttner

keeney said:
Raider_69 said:
Raiders:

i like the raiders, but all of this season i saw them as a sturdy team, a team that could beat most teams during regular season, but come finals just lack the creative flair, they haev the basis of a really good team, but play too safely, they had the best completion rate last year, but they didnt perform during the finals

we didnt proform last year during finals because we only had 1 and in the 2nd semi 1 1/2 halves, Croker was injured, Drew wasnt fit for Finals 2 so all teams had to do was shut down Macca

watch us go this year ;-)

thickos

2004 is, quite simply, going to be the year of the Canberra Raiders. It will be for the following reasons.

1. The forward pack just keeps getting better and better
Wiki, Davico, Woolford, Drew, O'Hara, Hindmarsh (the one that actually rolls his sleeves up and does something lol), Croker, Martin, Smith, Weyman, Cross...the production line just rolls on. Youth and experience. Hard heads and there's no doubt there is the fire in the belly.
2. Everything Old is new again
I listed Croker in the forwards but in all likelihood he'll start the season as our no. 6. And its not a negative step - Toots offers us creativity with the ball in his hands as well as being a rock defensively, allowing the little men to run riot as the forwards get tired.
3. The little guys
Woolford, McLinden, Drew. Most clubs will fear this trio running at them as the defensive line is being rolled backwards from a rampart Raiders forward charge. The array of skills on show - Drew's cross field chips on the 2nd tackle, Woolfords kicking out of dummy half and McLinden's versaitility and speed make the Raiders a difficult team to contain. McLinden also blossomed into a mature young half in 2003 and will continue on in 04.
4. Pace to burn
You think your club has the fastest winger in the comp? Phil Graham made Rhys Wesser look like a prop when he ran around him twice in Round 10 this year on a 70 metre turbo ride. Look out when this kid turns it on!
joel monaghan is a big lump of a kid but he can sniff out a try and is a Raiders favourite. Adam Mogg is a young veteran who has pace and always helps out from dummy half. Then there's Robbo, Matt Gafa (our 350 point machine from premier league), Boogas....
5. Schif
Schif
Schif
Schif-cof-ske!
That was the chant that echoed around stadiums this year as Clinton had one of his finest years in first grade. As safe as a house. He kicks the goals. Sniffs out tries from close range. Owner of 'the schif shuffle'. He is one of the best fullbacks in the world and I wouldnt trade him for anyone.
6. We know we can compete with the top teams
In 2003 most people thought the Raiders 'came from nowhere.' But we knew what was going to happen! And the pleasing thing is is that from being cannon fodder for the premiership heavyweights in 2001, we were more than a match for all of them in 2003. We only lost ONE GAME by more than 12 POINTS - an incredible record. The Roosters-Raiders match and Raiders-Warriors semi final were games of extreme intensity, where the Raiders matched it with some of the premier teams in the NRL. This will instill belief in the squad that it can take the next step in 2004.
7. The Young Guys
The Raiders 2003 premier league squad was unmatched in terms of skill, power and sheer ability. It shattered point scoring records, try scoring records and claimed the premiership with only 3 losses and a convincing minor premiership. And the names Gafa, Simpson, Kahler, Doeg, Chalk - and the NEXT BIG THING - TERRY CAMPESE - will probably all surface at some stage in the first grade team in 2004. Campese as the Raiders' grand final five-eighth? Remember you read it here first! 8)
8. The pain still lingers...
Our exit this year was heartbreaking. All of you know 'what might have been' Bulgarelli dropping it over the line in the dying minutes.... it could have all been so different. But the effort was there. A bounce of the ball and its all different. We KNOW we can compete, we can take the big guns on and WIN. 2004 is about getting back there and righting the wrongs.

Raiders for the 2004 premiership!

PB

warren said:
PB said:
In 2001, alot of our success came on the back of people, who prior to that season, hadnt made names for themselves,

in 2001 your success was due to one person, maybe 2......jason taylor and michael beauttner
Warren; if old Michael Buettner was the reason we made the GF in 01, then the subsequent quality that we have in our side now must mean we are certainties to go one step futher!