Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why we suck

K-Man

Before the season started I said our forward pack wasn't good enough, and people were carrying on about how "tough" they were. I was shocked at how much optimism there was about a forward pack of old tough guys who haven't broken a tackle at pace or beaten anyone with footwork in about 5 years. It's a pack of solid plodders, but that doesn't cut in the NRL.

Start writing a list of the most dangerous attacking forwards in the comp from the best down. Don't worry too much about getting it exactly right, just go with your own rough opinion, and see how long it takes you to get you to the second and third Knights players.
Snowden's going well as a genuine metre eater, but in terms of a tackle busting and skillful threat I'd estimate your list gets to about 70 before you find your second Knights forward. And I don't even know who you would have there, Mason? He makes like 5 runs a game.

In my opinion it all starts and ends with the forwards. At the start of the season I think you look to the quality and depth in each team's forwards to best gauge how the season will pan out, not just the first 6 weeks which can be misleading because nobody is at their best and sometimes the backs can really capitalise on all the errors etc.

But as the grind of a season drags on, you simply have to have some real punch and variety in the forward back. We don't have it, we didn't have it in pre-season, and we won't discover it this year or next. To me it's just a lack of real class, and a bit of youth.

Individually I don't have an issue with Mason, Snowden, Cuthbertson, Smith, Scott, Rochow, McKinnon or Sims - all decent to fairly good players in their own right. But they don't work as a unit because there's no genuine power, footwork, skill, second phase, tackle breaking ability, offloads etc. It's all too same same. They try hard, they're "tough" (so sick of hearing that, it's an overused plaudit for a forward who offers little else).

Unfortunately for us I think everyone is right, about everything. Every point someone has made in this thread has been a sound one, meaning we have a lot more than just one specific deficiency in our team.

slotmachine

We make more metres with the ball that any other team, we have the best kicking game for yards in the comp.

It's what we do (or don't do) with that field position that hurts us.

On the other side of the ball, the Bennett coached dragons were notorious for giving up the most metres of any team.
Don't have the stats but wouldn't be surprised if it's us now.
No wrestle as everyone has pointed out.

We make more metres with the ball that any other team, we have the best kicking game for yards in the comp.

It's what we do (or don't do) with that field position that hurts us.
It's ok to make heaps of metres and then gain a heap more off a kick, but it's all nullified in 1 swoop as soon as you give them a penalty while they're struggling to get out of their half. We'd have to be right up there, particularly in the last few weeks, for giving away relieving penalties... and thus undoing all the other good work we do.

slotmachine

100% mate.

If we're not going to wrestle and we're not good enough in goal line defence to keep opponents to less than 10 points, we're going to need more points.

K-Man

This is the type of team I wish we could (somewhat realistically) have put together. It's a bit ambitious but not outrageously so, and I think it illustrates how the forwards are our big issue, not the backs. In this hypothetical I've not wasted big money on Boyd, and I'd signed Kev up on a bargain long-term contract last year instead. I also didn't buy Beau Scott or Jeremy Smith, and I found a way to offload Costigan, Houston and Tahu early, replacing them with Vaivai and Likiliki in my rotation if required.

1. Naiqama
2. McManus
3. Leilua
4. Gagai
5. Uate
6. Mullen
7. Roberts
8. Snowden
9. Gidley
10. Fifita
11. McKinnon
12. Stewart/Lewis
13. Bird

14. Clydesdale
15. Mason
16. Cuthbertson
17. Rochow
18. Sims
19. Frei
20. Vaivai
21. Likiliki
22. Mantellato

OUT: Boyd, Costigan, Houston, Smith, Scott, Tahu

IN: Bird, Stewart, Fifita

Allstar Knights

This is the type of team I wish we could (somewhat realistically) have put together. It's a bit ambitious but not outrageously so, and I think it illustrates how the forwards are our big issue, not the backs. In this hypothetical I've not wasted big money on Boyd, and I'd signed Kev up on a bargain long-term contract last year instead. I also didn't buy Beau Scott or Jeremy Smith, and I found a way to offload Costigan, Houston and Tahu early, replacing them with Vaivai and Likiliki in my rotation if required.

1. Naiqama
2. McManus
3. Leilua
4. Gagai
5. Uate
6. Mullen
7. Roberts
8. Snowden
9. Gidley
10. Fifita
11. McKinnon
12. Stewart/Lewis
13. Bird

14. Clydesdale
15. Mason
16. Cuthbertson
17. Rochow
18. Sims
19. Frei
20. Vaivai
21. Likiliki
22. Mantellato

i think I've said it before, but even a guy like Anthony Tupou would be a realistic and great addition to our pack. He was a gun at the Roosters and while not as good at the sharks, he's still showed glimpses of what he's capable of. He'd be hands down the best attacking backrower at the club and in my opinion, he still has a lot to offer. He's off-contract at the end of the year and probably not wanted at Cronulla with their abundance of backrowers. We'd get him pretty cheap, I reckon.

Yosh

I think another issue we've been having is Aku's been down on form. He usually good for a try a game but not has he been injured but he was not playing to well before. If he had been keeping up his strike rate we'd probably have one or two more wins and be up around 5th.

I mentioned it before but Gagai's form hasn't been flash either. I think on form our outside backs are just as good as any in the comp but Gagai and Uate hasn't been playing flash. We're losing maybe 1 or 2 tries a game from them which is hurting us.

Roberts is, in my opinion, a good player but since he's young, he'll have good and bad games. I know people will argue that players like DCE etc, always play well but I think DCE is the better player that's all. Players like Johnson have had great games but some really terrible ones. Gower won't Joey 2005 Game 2 it but he'll give us solid games week in week out. He'll also take lots of pressure off Mullen and I think Mullen will play even better.

In years gone by I would have said that our problems were fixable but we've got a really good roster and I think we're good enough for 5th or 6th.

slotmachine

Our outside backs are starving from lack of early ball.

I'd swap Roberts for 75% of the halfbacks in the comp without blinking.
Maybe more.

The Red Afro

This.

It's one of the main reasons I despise Houston during our attacking movements. The ball just dies with him. And with the 'quality service' from Waddell, our attacking movements are cut down before it even reaches our strike men.

I know most people are focusing on the issues in the ruck on this thread, but we really dont create all too many opportunities for ourself either.

Maybe it's just me, but does anyone else still get frustrated by Mullen's Hail Mary cross-field chips? We have got to be one of the worst teams in the league at forcing the repeat set. We have finishers on both sides of the park, why not try again to set up a play to bring them into the equation rather than gift the opposition possession?

I can't recall Kev getting much ball if at all the other night out on his wing with space. He just stood out there being ignored.

Fiery

1. Naiqama
2. McManus
3. Leilua
4. Gagai
5. Uate
6. Mullen
7. Roberts
8. Snowden
9. Gidley
10. Fifita
11. McKinnon
12. Stewart/Lewis
13. Bird

14. Clydesdale
15. Mason
16. Cuthbertson
17. Rochow
18. Sims
19. Frei
20. Vaivai
21. Likiliki
22. Mantellato

Being a Dragons fan I haven't watched too many Newcastle games but was surprised by how s**t Boyd was in the SOO and then even worse against the Dragons. Is he having some personal problems? Unlike the other Dragons imports Newcastle have (including the coach), he should be in his prime right now.

rnb11

Boyd's been playing the best, most consistent footy he has yet, his involvement has improved massively and he's setting up plenty of tries as usual. He was off the pace last weekend and in SOO because he nearly fractured his ankle the week before and ended up playing 2 games in 3 days when really he shouldn't have played for 3 weeks.

Fiery

Boyd's been playing the best, most consistent footy he has yet, his involvement has improved massively and he's setting up plenty of tries as usual. He was off the pace last weekend and in SOO because he nearly fractured his ankle the week before and ended up playing 2 games in 3 days when really he shouldn't have played for 3 weeks.

I see.

Fiery

I'd swap Roberts for 75% of the halfbacks in the comp without blinking.
Maybe more.

Please allow a swap for him and Fien!!!! Bennett picked Fien in the All-Stars last year. Let him prove it wasn't simply because he signed Fien to a 3 year deal shortly before announcing he was leaving the Dragons and wanted to show he wasn't screwing over the club but really does rate Fien despite a glut of young hookers coming through. One of whom Bennett tried to get to break his contract.