Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wing and Kidwell in starting side

JetRider

JT has made some changes which include Wing at lock and starting and Kidwell starting in second row. Also has included Simpson and Geddes to bench.

What does it all mean?

Nickmm

JT has made some changes which include Wing at lock and starting and Kidwell starting in second row. Also has included Simpson and Geddes to bench.

What does it all mean?

I like it, more size and Wing to start. I think thats closer to our best team. Im sure we will see a more committed team this week. :)

glory glory

Of course Wingy had to be in the starting side but not sure Kiddy deserves a spot over Pettybourne? Doesn't really matter I suppose as all the pigs rotate anyway.

Dave Q

Souths side is as follows:

1. Capewell: Solid game v Manly.
2. Max
3. Best
4. Champion
5. Fetuli

6. Sutto
7. Sandow

8. Stuart
9. Luke
10. Aso

11. Kiddy
12. Dave

13 Wing (an excellent choice)

14 Simpson
15. Eddie
16 JLo
17. Scotty
18. B Lowe

19: McPherson.

This is just about right for mine, very hard to submit against.

JetRider

Good to see Geddes back, anyone know how he has been going for Norths? I can only assume well given his inclusion.

johnkelley

I have watched quite a few NSW Cup matches this year and it is very difficult for a guy like Geddes or any forward for that matter to stand out.

The important thing is that he has obtained match fitness.

Because of the different tempo and the drop in class of several other players in the team, guys of first grade ability definately struggle to play their own game as they are quite often two steps ahead of the others.

Geddes offers us another prop with size and heart.

I believe he will be a welcome addition to our side and once Greeny and Cleal get some time on the field IMO they will also add much to our squad.

Aaron_sfas

i dont know about this. our starting back row consists of kidwell, not our best defender by far, frog, solid player, once again, defence not the best aspect of his game, and wing, a 5/8, who can tackle, but will lack size against some of the bigger boys in the sharks line up.

will do good things for our attack though

I see this as JT playing our most experienced back row against what is Cronulla's only real strength. On paper, Cronulla have just about the best back row in the comp. Gallen, Tupou and Maitua could tear us apart if allowed any sort of space and really shape as the Sharks only hope of beating us. If these blokes are allowed to play their games, they will lay on some tries, hence, JT has marked them up with the most experienced backrow we can muster. Gallen and Tupou are the big threats to us winning this game. If we can shut them down, and snuff out their attack we will lay on more points than the Sharks.

Whats going on with Greenfield to me he'd have to be in there over Lowe surely?

Good to see Wing and Kidwell starting will give ya's more options in attack + a lot more passion which u's have been lacking in ur starts.

Eddie as well IMO is a better bench player type of guy who makes an impact he was a bloody maniac against the knights.

Greenfield has been carving it up in NSW Cup. Mail is that the powers that be still feel he lacks a bit of match fitness yet. I would expect to see him picked next week or the week after if he plays alright this weekend for the Bears.

I agree with your prognosis on Pettybourne. He would be the first person picked on the bench for mine. If you start him, then you run the risk of losing his impact. Kidwell on the other hand has lost his bench impact so you're probably better off starting him nowadays and using him up in the heavy stuff early on. He hasn't lost any Mongrel and that is handy at the start of the match.

I reckon the team picked this week is an acknowledgement of the fact that we've been behind in nearly every game we've played this year and we can't keep expecting to give headstarts and then reel sides in. JT has picked a team he thinks can actually get us off to a good start for a change.

Appin Rabbit

Aaron but will our forwards run for the holes & run of Aso or just run straight into the opposition as usual and gain very few metres.!
i dont know about this. our starting back row consists of kidwell, not our best defender by far, frog, solid player, once again, defence not the best aspect of his game, and wing, a 5/8, who can tackle, but will lack size against some of the bigger boys in the sharks line up.

will do good things for our attack though

I think that too many people get hung up over the number on a blokes back. Especially when talking about wing and centre or five eight and lock. TBPH, there isn't that much difference between some of these positions nowadays. In fact, I'll go so far as to say that you can group players on the field into a bunch who can all play a similar role. 8, 10, 11, 12 all basically carry the same job description nowadays. 6, 7, 9, 1 can all be rotated freely with each other during a game as well. As can 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 as well as 3, 4, 6, 11.

The days of specialist positions are over. Playmaking positions have blurred. Watch a Tigers game and see how often, Marshall, Farah and Morris actually play there own position. Watch the Roosters play and see how often Anasta alternates between ball playing 5/8 or a ball running Lock. Watch the Storm and look at how many times Cronk, Smith, Slater play half / hooker / five eight. Watch how many teams will have a Winger drop back to Fullback to allow a Fullback to chime into the backline. Also watch how many teams will have a back rower chime into the centres to cover an injury. To say that Wing and Sutton have the wrong number on their back is ridiculous, because the number they wear means absolutely nothing in the scheme of things. The modern game is a different animal to the game of 10 years ago. Look at blokes like Rueben Wicki. He was a centre when he first started, then a backrower and finished up a Prop. If I were a first grade coach, I'd pick the best team I possibly could out of the troops I had and then let them sort out the where and the how on the training paddock and the field. Wing is the perfect example. You could stick him in just about any position on the field and he would make a go of it, because he is a natural. He is also the classiest player that we have. Sandow, Sutton, Wing and Luke all need to be on the field for us to be succesful so you just stick them all out there and let them sort out where they play and what they do.

Aaron_sfas

Aaron but will our forwards run for the holes & run of Aso or just run straight into the opposition as usual and gain very few metres.!

thats why i said it will do good things for our attack. but i feel most of our wins this year are going to come from our defence, not our attack

Paul Hewson

Greenfield hasn't played over the last 2 weeks and needs some match fitness. His form from all reports has been a standout for Norths.

lance (c)

I am a Dragons fan and I am not trying to cause any problems.

I just wanted to ask your opinion on your playing roster and your best 17.

From watching Souths this season, Craig Wing has been sensational especially against Newcastle.

I personally think that you should play Sandow at 7, Sutton at 6, Luke at 13 and Wing at 9.

If Luke plays at 13, I think you can maximise his running game which would allow Souths to play a lot more second phase footy. The service that Luke provides and the options he takes are not up to the same standard of Wing in my opinion.

What do you think? Again I am not trying to cause any problems.

Dave Q

I think that too many people get hung up over the number on a blokes back. Especially when talking about wing and centre or five eight and lock. TBPH, there isn't that much difference between some of these positions nowadays. In fact, I'll go so far as to say that you can group players on the field into a bunch who can all play a similar role. 8, 10, 11, 12 all basically carry the same job description nowadays. 6, 7, 9, 1 can all be rotated freely with each other during a game as well. As can 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 as well as 3, 4, 6, 11.

The days of specialist positions are over. Playmaking positions have blurred. Watch a Tigers game and see how often, Marshall, Farah and Morris actually play there own position. Watch the Roosters play and see how often Anasta alternates between ball playing 5/8 or a ball running Lock. Watch the Storm and look at how many times Cronk, Smith, Slater play half / hooker / five eight. Watch how many teams will have a Winger drop back to Fullback to allow a Fullback to chime into the backline. Also watch how many teams will have a back rower chime into the centres to cover an injury. To say that Wing and Sutton have the wrong number on their back is ridiculous, because the number they wear means absolutely nothing in the scheme of things. The modern game is a different animal to the game of 10 years ago. Look at blokes like Rueben Wicki. He was a centre when he first started, then a backrower and finished up a Prop. If I were a first grade coach, I'd pick the best team I possibly could out of the troops I had and then let them sort out the where and the how on the training paddock and the field. Wing is the perfect example. You could stick him in just about any position on the field and he would make a go of it, because he is a natural. He is also the classiest player that we have. Sandow, Sutton, Wing and Luke all need to be on the field for us to be succesful so you just stick them all out there and let them sort out where they play and what they do.

You wont believe this, but I came to the same conclusion just after last weeks game. I was telling Newk about it on Sunday arvo.

It is the only way forward.

Get the best players on the paddock for as long as possible in every game.

Get the rotation rule book and fugging burnt it.

Get a game plan together but let the players work within it and not to it.

We will soon see a very lethal rabbitoh team.