Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wolfmother last night

I went , I was there as a more a spectator than a fan.

The hordern pav...haven't been in there since it's glory days in which I saw... to name a few.
Nirvana
Sex Pistols
The Oils in about 84
Chilli Peppers
Faith no more

Funny how time makes buildings seem smaller.

Anyhow ...Wolfmother.....hmmmm.

The came on while the house lights were still on...( dunno why ).
Introduced as the "Greatest rock n roll band in the world" by Steve O from jackass fame.
Andrew Stockdale had his trademark skin tight black Faberge jeans on and a nice new addition to his wardrobe.... a set of white tuxedo tails.

...well...the music....yep ..they came out firing.
I moved from my litle safe side of the stage seat to the middle of the dance floor to watch.
Only having one album proved a bit of a problem for them.
They played a few of the hits early which left the middle a bit loose.
They played a 10 minute jam of just well...a jam and they did super long extensions to the intro's of songs.
Nobody seemed to care though.
Steve O came back out with that "little person" from Jackass with a birthday cake for Stockdale.
It was his 30th...the crowd sung happy b'day and then he threw the cake into the crowd...( I didn't get hit or was I game enough to taste it ).

They then dedicated "White Unicorn" to the late Syd Barrett...only a handful of older blokes like me knew who they were talking about.
They played Woman ...hard to not get into that song.

The 3 blokes make a shyte load of noise and the keyboard is a great gimmick .

Overall 8-10 ....they really looked like they were enjoying themselves.
They played really well ....all the solo's were spot on plus his afro was in fine bouncy form.

Crowd highlights.
watching 15 year olds line up for 1.5 hours in the rain wearing next to nothing...while us smarter older ones drank beer under heaters across the road at the pub.
Funny thing was there was no reason to line up as there was no seating allocations.

A young couple pashing off to "Joker and the thief".

Pissed up/stoned up kiddies struggling with reality as they spewed in the dunny.

my personal highlight was the attempted afro emulations in the crowd.
It was like going to a Kiss concert wearing makeup.
God love them.

Thomo.

thanks carch

some of my students went. they loved it

are they going to release another album anytime soon?

thomo_shark said:
thanks carch

some of my students went. they loved it

are they going to release another album anytime soon?
dunno Thommo..

I read they are going back over to the US and Europe soon.

Hey Phillips it's cool, they don't give a toss about the baggers....
Don't buy it then you wont have to listen to it.
easy hey?

OVP

NPK said:
Do they admit to being tryhard Led Zeppelin?

Who cares. I think its great that young people these days get a taste of the true greats. I'll never knock Wolfmother, while there is Gangsta Rap or R&B in this world. It may make them appreciate the greats a little more, and hence we see it more on the airwaves. Nothing wrong with that.

Mr. Fahrenheit

I went Last Night... i bought tix at the Box Office to a sold out concert... werid. But yeah im only 16 and i had the experience of my life. We didnt queue up, but yeah went it, watched that crap 1st band "tucker B's" where the rhythmm guitarist is a guy named barbara who has a beard and wears a skirt... :|.

but Dungen were f**kn awesome, and the flute playing guy from Dungen came back for witchcraft. But yeah me and my mate like almost fainted, coz we were pushed to the very fron t of the mosh, were you could literally not breathe because evryone was being stupid, me and mmy mate fell over twice and got trapmpled on... then we realised that the middle section was better, and as we were goin back we got sperated... anyway i got some water coz i was basicaly buggered b4 WM came on bcoz of the crowd.

I found myself surrounded by chicks... and my highliht was 2 chicks pashing when Andrew said "everyone spread the lvoe" because he was about to play love train. he Jam sessions and the intro to Minds Eye and White Unicorn was fkn unbeleivably awesoem... All in all brilliant concert.

that rumour comes around every year, but they never turn up

Wolfmother are a great live band, although thier sound comes from the 60s/70s metal bands, they do it well

just download some Uriah Heep (Gypsy Queen), and you'll think your listening to Wolfmother

2 True Blues

Dont mind them and bought there album several months ago. However still reckon Led Zeppelin are better.......!!!!

Godz Illa

DJ Shadow and Mos Def at the same venue last night. Mighty Mos spat raw, two turntables and a microphone hip-hop. Classix Ms Fat Booty and Definition got a run. Good sh*t all round. Shadow was something special, a total audio-visual sensory experience. He was elevated on a scaffolding amidst nine big screens beaming intricately-edited visual accompaniment to the music. With the thick fog of second hand weed smoke, it was almost psychedelic.

Godz Illa said:
DJ Shadow and Mos Def at the same venue last night. Mighty Mos spat raw, two turntables and a microphone hip-hop. Classix Ms Fat Booty and Definition got a run. Good sh*t all round. Shadow was something special, a total audio-visual sensory experience. He was elevated on a scaffolding amidst nine big screens beaming intricately-edited visual accompaniment to the music. With the thick fog of second hand weed smoke, it was almost psychedelic.

Sweet Jesus! I was listening to DJ Shadow when i opened this thread!

Mr. Fahrenheit

Twizzle said:
that rumour comes around every year, but they never turn up

Wolfmother are a great live band, although thier sound comes from the 60s/70s metal bands, they do it well

just download some Uriah Heep (Gypsy Queen), and you'll think your listening to Wolfmother

lol, yeah the thing is twizzle, they bring it all back, i mean if it werent for them i wouldnt have known what good music was...