Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Worst finals series in years?

Dogaholic

NorthShoreEel said:
Disappointment of the year would have to be the dogs, wouldnt it? This year was their last chance to make it to the semis with their budget busters.
They showed that they have no team spirit when things became a bit tough.

As the saying goes, when the going gets tough, the tough get going.

Well, the only place they went this year seemed to be to the pub.

Next year they are destined (without all of their budget busting players) to go even further - they will end up in the cellar.

Maybe they can use the spoon to control some of the "children" in the club that keeping acting up.

They were a BIG disappointment in 2005.

With a total of 17 players injured, they were always going to take a nose dive.

Dogaholic said:
With a total of 17 players injured, they were always going to take a nose dive.

Mate, don't bother explaining yourself to someone who vomits the words and opinions of the daily telegraph to try to sound intelligent, he's a loser

knights04

I didn't really enjoy the finals like every other year. Other than the Grand final I only enjoyed the Sharks v Dragons and Storm v Broncos matches from week 1. No other game matched the intensity for me and were the only two games that were close to the end.

Pig Champion

If the sharks had won through to the GF and then won that it would have been the best final series ever, even if every game was somnambulistic. But as that didn't happen I shall use the words we sharks supporters use every year at this time of year "there's always next year".
Anyway it was the best final series for west tigers fans so good luck to them. :)

melon....

It wasnt teh finals. it was the whole season. The standard of league definitely dropped. Mistake rates were high, and found in teams that usually have low mistake rates. Teh roosters, Bulldogs, Panthers, played well below their normal standards. Teh Dogs had an injury excuse, but the others were just off.

And so it gave the season a more "balanced and even" feel. The standard was crap. Thats the truth.

melon.... said:
It wasnt teh finals. it was the whole season. The standard of league definitely dropped. Mistake rates were high, and found in teams that usually have low mistake rates. Teh roosters, Bulldogs, Panthers, played well below their normal standards. Teh Dogs had an injury excuse, but the others were just off.

And so it gave the season a more "balanced and even" feel. The standard was crap. Thats the truth.

Kiwi was 100% right.

You just sound like a fan who's finding it difficult to accept that his team has been caught, passed and then lapped.

I'll give you one word why your mob weren't successful in 2005 - Fittler. Without him you were defensively tough but offensively weak as piss. That's not the fault of the teams who went past your team.

Fact is that more people went to see the games this season on average than ever before and more people watched it on TV than ever before.

Manu Vatuvei

It was the closest comp on record, but there were no close finals games. Who do you blame for that? Two teams can go out and play good footy but the game won't necessarily be close, that's completely luck of the draw and has little to do with the quality of on display. If you are actually complaining about the quality on display than fair enough (although I don't agree), but to suggest that it was a poor finals series because there weren't any last second nailbiters is absurd. Do you want the games to be contrived? Scripted? Like pro-wrestling?

chileman

legend said:
I'm not taking anything away from the Tigers and congrats on the win, I expect to see plenty of new single mums at Campbelltown Centrelink in about nine months to collect the baby bonus.

Back to my point, not one game in this years final series had me glued to my seat, biting the fingernails like I have seen in previous years.

The 2003 series was a cracker followed by the best GF I have seen outside 89' but this years games were all duds with no close results or games that were in the balance coming into the last five minutes.
The Swans made up for it :p *chile waits for the abuse*

Moffo

f**king swans chile!

wrestling isn't fake either thierry. The hulk hogan leg drop is more lethal then a bullet to the abdomen

smeghead

Hmmm. My only real response would be that you are entitled to your opinion. I wont agree (Maybe our two biases at work). Either way I dont care

Edwahu

Go back 12 months and have a look at most of the topics on the board. They would all be about how much the Roosters or Dogs suck and what huge cheats they are. That was the big difference IMO, no bad guys and no "dynasties" to be thwarted.

Manu Vatuvei

Moffo said:
f**king swans chile!

wrestling isn't fake either thierry. The hulk hogan leg drop is more lethal then a bullet to the abdomen

The People's Elbow is more lethal than the leg drop imo, cos of the little song and dance routine that goes with it.

Cockadoodledoo

Misty Bee said:
Lest not forget the Eels flogging of Manly - such an inept club getting smashed in a semi final and thus making it's chequebook football policies utterly laughable!

Ironically you could say the same for the hiding of the Eels at the hands of the Cowboys.. :roll:

Cockadoodledoo

Everlovin' Antichrist said:
Fact is that more people went to see the games this season on average than ever before and more people watched it on TV than ever before.

Which at the end of the day shows the NRL got the results they wanted.

hrundi99

It's funny that most of those who've moaned about this season and/or the finals are those whose teams didn't make the finals...