Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WT’s Pathways

Preseason started, does anyone know, when the full squad comes back together?

I'd Imagine the rep players will have at least a month longer.

Preseason started, does anyone know, when the full squad comes back together?

I'd Imagine the rep players will have at least a month longer.
I thought we were reuniting in December.

Benji wanting the earliest possible start.

The fringies and newcomers are usually always keen to do extras anyway.

And of course, the club will be taking platform readings across a range of readings, pace, strength, agility, breathing, pulse rates…the whole show.

Plenty of white suits and mad scientists.

@Vic Mackey will know the ropes better than me.

I have connections with one of our welfare crew, I’ll reach out to him and see if do any mental health, well being or welfare assessments. I’m just interested to see.

Might be a good idea to measure contentment levels and see if they improve or decline over the year.

I’ll report back for the panel.

I thought we were reuniting in December.

Benji wanting the earliest possible start.

The fringies and newcomers are usually always keen to do extras anyway.

And of course, the club will be taking platform readings across a range of readings, pace, strength, agility, breathing, pulse rates…the whole show.

Plenty of white suits and mad scientists.

@Vic Mackey will know the ropes better than me.

I have connections with one of our welfare crew, I’ll reach out to him and see if do any mental health, well being or welfare assessments. I’m just interested to see.

Might be a good idea to measure contentment levels and see if they improve or decline over the year.

I’ll report back for the panel.

Hey mate they come back in stages, it depends on how long you've had an NRL contract which gives you a certain amount of weeks off every year. The Players Union have put it in. Dont know exact but its something like

4 years & Under - 6 weeks off
5-6 years - 8 weeks off
7+ years - 10 weeks off

hence why the younger inexperienced blokes will always be back early

Hey mate they come back in stages, it depends on how long you've had an NRL contract which gives you a certain amount of weeks off every year. The Players Union have put it in. Dont know exact but its something like

4 years & Under - 6 weeks off
5-6 years - 8 weeks off
7+ years - 10 weeks off

hence why the younger inexperienced blokes will always be back early
Cheers.

Do you know if they make any mental health or like enquiries at preseason.

I’m betting that they do as part of the overall welfare campaign.

It sounds counter-intuitive but players I’ve spoken to find pre-season challenging.

I spoke to ex eels forward Ben Smith once at his peak and he shared with me the anxiety of the pre season and interestingly, he said his thoughts turned to his diet when at home.

I guess your first grade player is like a ww2 pilot. Everything directed to what is a short make or break performance.

A million dollars to play the game you love then have 10 weeks off holiday is a pretty good gig hey Vic.
Some are more deserved of the big cash than others.

For the period in the game, it’s probably a 90% life commitment.

Even if coaches like Benji want a more balanced regime, a lot of players will push themselves.

Des Hasler was considered to be one of the world most self motivated players.

So when he’s pushing players, it’s nothing he didn’t do.

Unfortunately, Manly etc had that tragic death. I’m still uncomfortable with the outcome with the inquiry tbh.

It’s also a bit unfair to me to see the bottom youngsters on minimum $145k a year and say JL earns 10x more.

If that happened at my work, we’d up and walk off the job raising fingers.

$145k sounds like a lot, it is, but that’s virtual slavery. Your time is rarely your own and you can’t do what you’d like.

Terrell stood up to Robbo about it.

Nutz

If we didn't have such a huge NRL game in this lucky country, the majority of players who come from humble heritage wouldn't be playing this wonderful sport and would be pushing concrete filled wheelbarrows for a lot less than $130k I tell you .
Some of the prancing dancing players act like they don't know how lucky they are and they need to think about life after footy when they'll be faced with real uncertainties in life.

It’s also a bit unfair to me to see the bottom youngsters on minimum $145k a year and say JL earns 10x more.

If that happened at my work, we’d up and walk off the job raising fingers.

$145k sounds like a lot, it is, but that’s virtual slavery. Your time is rarely your own and you can’t do what you’d like.

Terrell stood up to Robbo about it.
I reckon every kid playing footy would give their left nut to be doing it, though.

If we didn't have such a huge NRL game in this lucky country, the majority of players who come from humble heritage wouldn't be playing this wonderful sport and would be pushing concrete filled wheelbarrows for a lot less than $130k I tell you .
Some of the prancing dancing players act like they don't know how lucky they are and they need to think about life after footy when they'll be faced with real uncertainties in life.
Yep, council wages are way, way lower.

Nutz

I reckon every kid playing footy would give their left nut to be doing it, though.
Yes, I think most youngins are aware that they have a mountain in front of them to climb. Bring on my apprenticeship scheme and noone will get the shitesters except managers.

My first 9-5 job was a store man and packer, waiting for uni results. Lots of carrying, minimal equipment. It wouldn’t fly these days oh&s.

Then as the youngster on the crew, I took the orders from the older guys and they’d bundy off early. Sometimes the pub for a long lunch. I was lucky to be invited, but always had to go at 2.

And you stayed loyal to the lads at all times. We only gave good reports to management about people lol.

It was a good job for the future because it taught me that if I didn’t apply myself to my studies, I’d have to work hard for not much pay.

So I tell the youngsters at work to knuckle down when they’re young, fit and have the time.

A lot of them still at home these days, well into their 20s.

I’m of the view that we are constantly learning. If we are reading philosophy, watching footy or the foreman is sending you back to move stuff. The brain doesn’t really switch off sucking in and processing info.

In my world, a lot slips out, but so be it lol.

de-learning comes easy!

Nutz

My first 9-5 job was a store man and packer, waiting for uni results. Lots of carrying, minimal equipment. It wouldn’t fly these days oh&s.

Then as the youngster on the crew, I took the orders from the older guys and they’d bundy off early. Sometimes the pub for a long lunch. I was lucky to be invited, but always had to go at 2.

And you stayed loyal to the lads at all times. We only gave good reports to management about people lol.

It was a good job for the future because it taught me that if I didn’t apply myself to my studies, I’d have to work hard for not much pay.

So I tell the youngsters at work to knuckle down when they’re young, fit and have the time.

A lot of them still at home these days, well into their 20s.
Arrrgghh you were lucky, when I was a kid we used to have to clean our driveway with our tongues and dad would kill us just before school, ah yes those were the days, but I was lucky.
We were so poor that we had to live in a shoe box with 20 other children all because dad and mum were catholics and didn't use those rubber thingys, ah but we were lucky.