Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WT’s Pathways

It would be nice if we had some decent bookends.
Are there any coming through @Vic Mackey @RHYTHM AND STEALTH.

Christian Taupau-Moors who just landed a contract seems to have a bright future with us and may be in our NRL side next year. He has played front row but doesn't appear to be a huge lad, more in the mold of Sione Fainu, well that's how he appears to me.

Other pathway lads who's names are being mentioned are Lachlan Broederlow, Blake Van Drie, Denzel Schaafhausen-Mino, Siotame Havea Jr.
Happy New Year Nutz and everyone else in the forum.

Been enjoying the off season but as the reps kick off tomorrow thought i would reply to some questions.

In terms of props, Wests are struggling in the juniors. Not sure how Balmain are fearing but Wests are only lacking in this department. Every other facet i believe theu are well covered.

For example in the Matts side tomoro, the 2 props are Zeph Finau and Jerome Cosgrove.
I have watched both of these kids since around U9s. Zeph is a weapon but he is not a prop. He never plays middle for his Club. Hes a right edge 2nd rower or centre converted to the middle as per your post in lacking props. I still dont believe Zeph has made a decision on of League is his thing. Him and his Brother are great Union players as well and he even plays in the backs in Union.

Jerome is a middle but no way a prop either. He is a ball playing lock. Great skill set but to small for a prop and I believe its a waste having hime there. A waste of his skills. But i reckon he would play where ever hes asked. He copped a 44 week suspension after his Semi Final loss in 2024 for using a homophobic slur towards the referee. His Club and family fought it and went down every avenue even presenting previous cases etc. They finally got it reduced to 24 weeks. He ended up playing 4 games at the backend of the Season. Mentally it took a huge toll as he was included in the Matts squad last year but all he could do was hold the tackle bags at training.

One of the best young talents at Wests was prop Noah Vaotangi who has somehow ended up at Balmain. Again Wests just make it hard for themselves ffs with these Juniors.

But they have Izak Isdale at fullback. This kid is the goods. Impossible to tackle, quick, strong and the best footy IQ ever. I remember watching him also in U9s and we were in awe of him. Running block plays way back then.

Someone mentioned Monson Hopoate. Kid is great. He is Alipatis (Albert) Son. Always played a year up and turns 16 this year playing against 17 year olds. Good Kid to. Alberts is a great Coach to. Takes no shit and is brutal with his messages but gets the job done.

In SG ball the only prop i know is Taupau Moors. Never geard of the others. Phoenix Godinet will star in the comp. He runs his own training programs for younger kids as well so everything he has learnt he is passing on to the youth. He will play 1st grade maybe at the end of this year or next year, Depends how 1st grade are travelling. If they are out of contention i can see him getting a run.

Maddux Fui was an outstanding prop for Wests but Souths signed him last year. Big loss.

If you guys can, get to some Harold Matts games. The team is stacked with potential.

Enjoy your weekend

Nutz

Happy New Year Nutz and everyone else in the forum.

You too mate.

One of the best young talents at Wests was prop Noah Vaotangi who has somehow ended up at Balmain. Again Wests just make it hard for themselves ffs with these Juniors.
🤬
But they have Izak Isdale at fullback. This kid is the goods. Impossible to tackle, quick, strong and the best footy IQ ever. I remember watching him also in U9s and we were in awe of him. Running block plays way back then.
Now this is exciting to hear.
Phoenix Godinet will star in the comp. He runs his own training programs for younger kids as well so everything he has learnt he is passing on to the youth. He will play 1st grade maybe at the end of this year or next year, Depends how 1st grade are travelling. If they are out of contention i can see him getting a run.
Great stuff mate. I'll put those names in my little black book and watch out for them.
I'm thinking about paying to watch pathways again this year but I still don't think their commentary and coverage warrants it. I had to turn off the sound to the NSWRLTV games as it was so hard to listen to.
Still, I reckon it would be great for the NRL to strike up a deal with 9 and cover 2-3 pathway games each week. Maybe it could be in conjunction with NRLW games. Or have 3 grades play, one after another. I think I'm dreaming though.
Good to hear you've got wraps on Phoenix Godinet as there's good press about this kid. I can't wait to see how he progresses and hopefully cements a permanent spot in the NRL.
I hate the way we develop these kids the lose them because they can't make it into first grade.
The bookend seems to be a rare thing these days. The majority of forwards seem to be edge type players these days???
If we can unearth another AFB we could possibly save money in the long run and be a better club for it.

Izdale didnt miss all of last year ffs
He missed the Harold Matts Comp and the first 5 rounds of Club footy. He then came back and had a cracker Season, claiming Man of the Match in the GF and representing Wests Cubs against the Titans

There are a few to watch in this team. Couple of real weapons

Centre Zedric Vaiau came 2nd in the U15 100m in the state and went to Nationals for it. A real speedster who can hit real hard. Plays 2nd row as well as centre for his club side. He is also in the Matts squad as a development player.

Keiran Moyston is a promising fullback. Been in the system a few years. Just picture David Peachey who can goal kick.

Hooker Jesse Ropata is a half in Club footy. He also has just turned 15. Which means he is eligible for this side next season. Good organising half who i take my hat off to as he is playing hooker and playing up an age group to do it

There are 2 forwards that I have big wraps on.
1 is Moses Smith. About 6ft 4in and just a unit. Plays 13 in club footy but played prop last week. Got all the skills. Massive kicking game, runs hard. Hes like Payne Haas playing school footy. Huge metres every carry.

2 is Bryce Blatch. About 6ft 5in right edge 2nd rower. On attack he is a weapon. He picks his moments when to call for the ball when he spots a weakness in the left side defence. Hes not lazy just smart with his hit ups when they are attacking.

2 massive forwards to keep an eye on

There are a few to watch in this team. Couple of real weapons

Centre Zedric Vaiau came 2nd in the U15 100m in the state and went to Nationals for it. A real speedster who can hit real hard. Plays 2nd row as well as centre for his club side. He is also in the Matts squad as a development player.

Keiran Moyston is a promising fullback. Been in the system a few years. Just picture David Peachey who can goal kick.

Hooker Jesse Ropata is a half in Club footy. He also has just turned 15. Which means he is eligible for this side next season. Good organising half who i take my hat off to as he is playing hooker and playing up an age group to do it

There are 2 forwards that I have big wraps on.
1 is Moses Smith. About 6ft 4in and just a unit. Plays 13 in club footy but played prop last week. Got all the skills. Massive kicking game, runs hard. Hes like Payne Haas playing school footy. Huge metres every carry.

2 is Bryce Blatch. About 6ft 5in right edge 2nd rower. On attack he is a weapon. He picks his moments when to call for the ball when he spots a weakness in the left side defence. Hes not lazy just smart with his hit ups when they are attacking.

2 massive forwards to keep an eye on
Cheers.
Those last 2 you mentioned are big lads, is it their size making them dominate?

Cheers.
Those last 2 you mentioned are big lads, is it their size making them dominate?

In Moses case I would say yes.
However his team got smashed in last Seasons GF againat a great East Campbelltown side who make up huge numbers in the AJs squad.
They are coached by Daniel Milford who is the Laurie Daley Coach and his East team are so good defensively. They wrapped up Moses in the GF by getting numbers rushing him and locking up the ball limiting his options. At no stage did they use Moses as a decoy or block runner which would of been more effective.

Is Bryces case, as I mentioned he is an edge back rower. It helps that he is tall but he is super smart by not over playing his hand and reads the defencive patterns before he hits it up.
Very rare for a 15 year old

In Moses case I would say yes.
However his team got smashed in last Seasons GF againat a great East Campbelltown side who make up huge numbers in the AJs squad.
They are coached by Daniel Milford who is the Laurie Daley Coach and his East team are so good defensively. They wrapped up Moses in the GF by getting numbers rushing him and locking up the ball limiting his options. At no stage did they use Moses as a decoy or block runner which would of been more effective.

Is Bryces case, as I mentioned he is an edge back rower. It helps that he is tall but he is super smart by not over playing his hand and reads the defencive patterns before he hits it up.
Very rare for a 15 year old
How are the Wahs going to go this year? Any new boys to look for?