Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Y.N.W.A Thread III: Enter 'The Normal One'

Haffa

This guy called Graeme Kelly who apparently has insider connections reckons Van Dijk is a done deal...his gossip that Rodgers was gone after the Everton derby was spot on so who knows...
I've read he's a done deal to City too. I fully expect he'll be signed by someone in August after he's completed preseason and played a couple of friendlies to prove his knee has held up.

saint.nick

I've read he's a done deal to City too. I fully expect he'll be signed by someone in August after he's completed preseason and played a couple of friendlies to prove his knee has held up.
Well you've got Paul Joyce at the Telegraph saying it's a done deal for City, and then you've got Graeme Kelly actually calling him a wanker saying he's wrong, so I don't know who to believe.

saint.nick

I'm sure there are idiots out there who are "pissed" the reactions are comical IMO. It's part of football these days. It's been on the cards since the start of the season as the club have been strong in refusing to indulge teenage contract rebels. Ola Aina missed large chunks of last season only to put pen to paper with a month or so remaining and then featuring a bit in the firsts this season.
No agent worth his salt is going to undersell his client, Solanke wasn't happy with the money and looked to seek the most available to him, we would all do the same.

I'm disappointed but it's been on the cards and he's one of a decent crop coming through. Some of which have proven themselves in England.
Yeah, of course, the reactions are comical, but it's encouraging for Liverpool fans because it means that they all rate him.

I've watched clips of him, his style is a bit like Costa's...

Haffa

Yeah, of course, the reactions are comical, but it's encouraging for Liverpool fans because it means that they all rate him.

I've watched clips of him, his style is a bit like Costa's...
I'd guess most of them have never actually seen him play though.

The British Media are so bad, they actually make some of our League writers look OK.

They invented clickbait.

Haffa

The British Media are so bad, they actually make some of our League writers look OK.

They invented clickbait.
Within one scroll through twitter I read United had turned to 6 different centre forwards since they dropped interest in Griez.

not surprised at all mate, plus I always thought that the Griez thing was all about upping is contract at Athletico

saint.nick

not surprised at all mate, plus I always thought that the Griez thing was all about upping is contract at Athletico
And considering that they can't really buy anyone until January, convincing Atletico to sell him now would be quite a tough ask wouldn't it?

Jack_Napier

So apparently we have been close to signing VVD of Southampton. Agreed on weekly wages for our management to change them at the last minute which has seen the deal stop from being agreed with him.

Salah of Roma could be a possibility as well. Looks to be an alternative to Julian brandt who want aussrances of first team football that we won't and shouldn't be giving.

saint.nick

So apparently we have been close to signing VVD of Southampton. Agreed on weekly wages for our management to change them at the last minute which has seen the deal stop from being agreed with him.

Salah of Roma could be a possibility as well. Looks to be an alternative to Julian brandt who want aussrances of first team football that we won't and shouldn't be giving.
It blows my mind how much this fell under the eds' radar. It's been one of the most obvious transfer pursuits from the club yet up until now have claimed it's all nonsense.

I reckon we'll get him, people say he's our first choice, and sure the club and VVD will find a suitable agreement.

I don't understand why Brandt is wanting those assurances. Who does he think he is? So naive. If a big club is very keen on you, accept the opportunity for what it is (a reasonable risk with high reward), and take it or leave it. Wanting to play every week in order to progress himself is all well and good, but don't make those demands to Liverpool because you'll just look like an idiot IMO.

Jack_Napier

It looks like we'll lose out to city for both Mendy and VVD. They will basically double any wages we offer and offer more $$$ to Monaco and Southampton.

$60m and $200k a week is obscene money for someone like VVD.

saint.nick

It looks like we'll lose out to city for both Mendy and VVD. They will basically double any wages we offer and offer more $$$ to Monaco and Southampton.

$60m and $200k a week is obscene money for someone like VVD.
Yeah f**k it, they can have him. I'm disappointed about Mendy though, I feel we could have afforded him if we wanted to.

Jack_Napier

Yeah f**k it, they can have him. I'm disappointed about Mendy though, I feel we could have afforded him if we wanted to.
Yeah we could've genuinely got in a very good LB which is a must get position for us.

VVD would be good but not for that obscene money. Just goes to show you can't compete with city and their ability to inflate the market.

Foz

Which central defender would VVD replace?
2 ways to look at it.
1-its worth 60 million to get rid of one of them.
2-you could spend 2 million and get a better option than our central defence.

Either way buying anyone's an upgrade.Just do it.

Jack_Napier

VVD is a left sided CB so it would be in place of lovren or Klavan. The interest is there because his agent approached us as well.

Just think for £60m + £200k a week we could find better quality than VVD

Foz

VVD is a left sided CB so it would be in place of lovren or Klavan. The interest is there because his agent approached us as well.

Just think for £60m + £200k a week we could find better quality than VVD

It's world class striker money.
Reality is no defenders worth that sort of money.
Well I can't think of one anyway.
There's a couple of Germans Klopps mates with that might be tempted by that sort of cash.
I just hope he's serious about buying a defender because what we were left with last year was a patch up job.
I'd deadset take Trent Sainsbury as a better option than what we have.
Where's he these days?

saint.nick

The Echo are reporting the VVD chase in fact isn't over after all, the figures quoted with City are supposedly bullshit

Foz

Just googled Trent.
Played for Inter via one of the Chinese teams.
He'd be great for us.
Sounds like he's not sure where he'll be.
Bet he doesn't cost 60 million and 200k a week too.
Also bet he'd do a better job than what we have.

Jack_Napier

The problem is there is so much money in the English game this coming season. Sides know this so there will be some ridiculous numbers thrown around.

I read someone is offering close to £35m for Troy Deeney. That's just truly insane money for him. Throw in a side like city who have thrown £50m at players like Sterling and Stones and the market is at a very unrealistic place.

Surely only Cb's like Hummels, Chiellini, Boateng and Alderweireld are worth that sort of money.

Jack_Napier

We really should be pushing hard for Mendy imo as well. He's a very good LB who is keen/interested in joining us.