Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Your annual spend.

xXSANDYXx

Record stores actually have the rights to sell the music and they give the money to the artists and record companies who create the music. But market sellers steal the music anyway and copy it a billion times to sell. I've bought music from markets which probably fund the IRA in the past :| thats scary. Kazaas great, it'll show the music bosses to reduce the price of cds soon, and already has, a few years ago singles where £5, now theyre only £3, thats the good thing about kazaa.

wittyfan

I avoid Kazaa like the plague. It dumped a bunch of nasty spyware on to my computer. I prefer to download songs from websites in Russia and Eastern Europe where copyright laws are weak or non-existant.

Still, I fork out several hundred dollars each year on CD's and music DVD's.

Sportsjock

sullyfan said:
I avoid Kazaa like the plague. It dumped a bunch of nasty spyware on to my computer. I prefer to download songs from websites in Russia and Eastern Europe where copyright laws are weak or non-existant.

Still, I fork out several hundred dollars each year on CD's and music DVD's.

If you get an American, Australia, or UK Copywritten song from a Russian or eastern european download , it doesn't mean you aren't breaking the copyright law bud!

taking a russian song from them may not , but the fact it has been stolen initially from another site to start with defeats the motives you suggest - even though they seem cool...

check out the website www.musicunited.org Sullyfan! And be a good boy :lol:

wittyfan

Sportsjock said:
If you get an American, Australia, or UK Copywritten song from a Russian or eastern european download , it doesn't mean you aren't breaking the copyright law bud!

taking a russian song from them may not , but the fact it has been stolen initially from another site to start with defeats the motives you suggest - even though they seem cool...

check out the website www.musicunited.org Sullyfan! And be a good boy :lol:

I've got a quite a big music collection, so quite a few artists have done well out of me over the years. :)

Admittedly I've been known to use Kazaa to search out new artists and sample before I buy. But all the mp3's get deleted eventually, and if I like it I go out and buy it.

Sportsjock

Good man El Garbo.

No musician doubts the world of technology can be a great benefit. If only more music " fans " were like you mate.

Melstar

After I got a virus from winmx, I stopped downloading music. It used to be great though, because you could listen to stuff that may not be available in the music stores.
I would on average buy a new cd each week (sometimes buying a few singles that would add up to the value of a cd). Dont go to too many concerts, maybe 1 or 2 a year

brook

I used to spend a fortune

1-2 cd's a week and the same number of concerts (ranging from festivals to just local bands) was my average

I have much less money nowadays though and I can't actually remember the last cd I bought :(

Simo

Melstar,

Unless i am mistaken (computer dudes could tell us) you cant get a virus from an MP3 file as it doesnt contain an executable.

So unless you are downloading something other than music files i dont believe it could have come from an MP3.

Thats what i understand anyway, feel free to correct me if im wrong.

As for Music downloading in general, if it wasnt for the net, i would never have had the chance to find and listen to artist such as Impelliterri or Michael Angelo. I find alot of non mainstream music that gets 0 radio play in this country. I found downloads of them and really enjoyed what i have been missing out on.

If it wasnt for free downloads on the net, I wouldnt have any Impellietrri CD's and Michael Angelo DVD's in my collection as we speak. Funny, using the net actually gave those artists money they wouldnt otherwise get as i would never have had a chance to hear their music!

P.s. Thank God for Utopia, where youcan find non-mainstream music!!!

Sportsjock

No one denies that Simo. Every musician sees the benefit in getting their music exposed online.

But how many people do you think are like you, discover music, and then go out and BUY IT? Well compared to those who just take it for free with no intention to buy it at all?

Melstar

Simo said:
Thats what i understand anyway, feel free to correct me if im wrong.

You're wrong! Nah, I have no idea to be honest, but the computer guys told me that that is what I had done. They were summinsing though, as they could not determine where the virus came from. I'm a computer bimbo, so just took their word for it

I hear heaps of music Sportsjock, it's free on the radio.
Whenever I get in the car with my kids or wife, they assume control of the radio and I have to listen it.
I have listened to it for free, am I stealing?

wittyfan

Mr Angry said:
I hear heaps of music Sportsjock, it's free on the radio.
Whenever I get in the car with my kids or wife, they assume control of the radio and I have to listen it.
I have listened to it for free, am I stealing?

No, because the artists earn royalties from radio airplay.

Sportsjock

Mr Angry said:
So the writer gets a cheque each time it is played?

The writer earns money each and every time a song is played on radio or tv

Every radio station across the world keeps tabs of every song every single day and the royalties are dispersed via royalty collection companies back to the artist via their record label or publisher.

Same as if a song is used on TV, whether it be for a sport event, or anything on a show, a movie, or anything at all. E.g. if you watch a news article or a current affair show and an excerpt of a song plays in the background, tabs are kept of what songs are given coverage, and the royalties are paid accordingly.

The songwriter of every song that gets played on the radio will basically earn money every time the song is played on the radio. Royalty payments are made to songwriters either quarterly, half yearly or annually dependent on their contract agreements.

Mr Angry, please check facts if you wanna speak it up with the big boys :lol:

Samwise

Sportsjock said:
No one denies that Simo. Every musician sees the benefit in getting their music exposed online.

But how many people do you think are like you, discover music, and then go out and BUY IT? Well compared to those who just take it for free with no intention to buy it at all?

in regards to these same people who download it for free without the intention of buying it afterwards, whats the likelihood of them buying it if it wasn't available for free? basically bugger all. so if you had your tunes on the net your still promoting yourself and record sales. because a)the people who do steal it and not eventually buy it are still creating good word of mouth (if the product is any good), popularity and brand equity and b) you are reaching the percentage of the market that do try before they buy. This in turn will increase ticket sales at live gigs and the likelihood of getting radio airplay. The only "artists" that lose out from mp3s is the multimillion dollar top 40 pop crap bands and singers. Theres a harvard study that shows this, i also know a guy who is doing his Phd on this topic but the record companys just stick their head in the sand and ignore it. For an up and comer like yourself SJ, it has been proven that distributing your stuff over the net for free is actually good for you.

Having said that I still buy most of my cds, especially if they are Australian. I was one that used to try before i bought by downloading, the only reason i don't anymore is because of how badly Kazaa wrecks your computer.

Sportsjock

Samwise, I see the benefits, believe me! There are also more downsides.

If everyone had the intention to go and buy Tee Shirts, or live gig tickets etc, then I completely see the benefits, but many don't - because frankly, if people are often not in the position to buy an album because of financial constraints, what chances them paying MORE to go to a live show and in many cases, more for just a Tee Shirt?

I certainly will never be convinced distributing your music on the internet can lead to greater radio airplay. And radio play is what directly affects sales. Not internet access. Radio stations play your songs alot, sales follow. That is why bands on Triple J exclusively, the more " obscure " bands, hardly make enough money to survive. ( Yes even the likes of Grinspoon etc barely scrape even )

I am however interested in these studies you speak of, are there any papers online to show the findings of these studies? I've never heard of it before.
Being in the industry, and having my music on the net, I can assure you from first hand experience, the negatives, far outweigh the positives from my point of view, and if you check out what other artists have to say, there has to be a reason behind why they say it.

As a songwriter my greatest returns come from royalties - both airplay and sales. Distributing my songs for free online , do not benefit either.

If the bulk of income came from gigs, tee shirts etc, then maybe I can be swayed. But a songwriter while they earn good money from live performances, earn their greatest % of funds from royalties.

The lead singer of the Goo Goo Dolls sums it up for me "If you rob artists of their means of earning, eventually there will be no art of consequence or substance."

Sportsjock said:
Mr Angry, please check facts if you wanna speak it up with the big boys :lol:
Forgive me for asking, and checking the facts. I won't bother you again, you must be busy writing songs, must be tough.

Sportsjock

Mr Angry said:
Forgive me for asking, and checking the facts. I won't bother you again, you must be busy writing songs, must be tough.

Well if it was so easy, I assume we'd all be doing it :lol: