Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

your side for Round 1

Snoop Shark

And all I'm saying Ghoti is that Leutele has had ample time to make one of the centre spots his own.

I would just be confused as to why we would reward him with a starting centre spot come round 1?

And all I'm saying Ghoti is that Leutele has had ample time to make one of the centre spots his own.

I would just be confused as to why we would reward him with a starting centre spot come round 1?

I have struggled with this question too. He's simply not that good. The only problem is that there isn't a better option as it currently stands without playing someone like Feki or Gagan or even Stanley out of position.

bluefox1968

I have struggled with this question too. He's simply not that good. The only problem is that there isn't a better option as it currently stands without playing someone like Feki or Gagan or even Stanley out of position.

Pretty sure Feki would handle centre, and Gagan could also handle it, but would probably need some help learning the position - that's, of course, assuming that he has't played significant time there in juniors. From what we've seen, and yes, it's not that much, he (Gagan) has done a great job on the right wing... I wouldn't call him a plodder...

ghoti

I wasn't arguing that Leutele is any good, but I can agree with that at least - he's solid depth at best.

Weaponhead

It makes a refreshing change see a Sharks team with options so the forum experts can have a meaningful discussion about the merits of said options.

FWIW my views are

Gordon - picks himself. Will benefit from better attacking players around him
Feki - under pressure form Gagan. Needs to drop the error rate
Leutele - I think he will start due to the established combination with Feki. I don't think that he is particularly good and doubt he'll be there come the middle of the season
Beale - will need to perform well early in the season. Tends to drift out of games and is a suspect defender
Holmes - Must play NRL. Enormous talent and will add another dimension to our attack if allowed to roam.
Barba - had some nice touches in the All Star game. Looks ready
Robson - not the most exciting but the best option in the club right now
Fifita - expecting a big year
Ennis - looking forward to seeing him drive the pack
Gallen - it just has to happen
Lewis - needs to be given a role that suits him. Battering ram aint it.
Wade - time to move to the elite. Will benefit from the dramas being done.
Heigno - I like him starting as middle backrower. Good defender and nice skills

Bird - I am tempted to start him at right centre with Beale going to left but hesitant to have him inside Val meaning 2 rookies on one side. Adds versatility and mongrel to the bench
Toops - will have fun with Barba, Val and Holmes running off him. Stay fit please
Taga - make or break year. Needs to aim up with some aggression or will be moved on for Houma
Bakuya - quality backrower. Will go well

In the wings
Gagan, Brown, Prior, Arona

ghoti

Totally disagree with this.

I reckon these 2 are a couple of the most promising wingers in the comp. Feki has proven himself & Gagan will.

Likewise, I think those two are the best finishers (from the wing) in our squad...and they can also find space surprisingly easy at the end of a backline movement.

I know everyone's got a semi for Holmes, but I rate Gagan as a better wing prospect than Holmes. Holmes will be a great fullback, and will do the job on the wing, but if we're to pick the best players in each position, I think Gagan would get the jump on him (as a winger as a winger don't hit me).

webShark

Pretty sure Feki would handle centre, and Gagan could also handle it, but would probably need some help learning the position - that's, of course, assuming that he has't played significant time there in juniors. From what we've seen, and yes, it's not that much, he (Gagan) has done a great job on the right wing... I wouldn't call him a plodder...

My mail is that Feki is not being considered for a centre position and Gagan in doubt for Round 1.

My expectation is the side will look like below :-

1. Gordon
2. Feki
3. Beale
4. Leutele
5. Brown
6. barba
7. Robson
8. A. Fifita
9. Ennis
10. Gallen
11. Tupou
12. Bakuya
13. Graham
14. Arona
15. D. Fifita
16. Prior
17, Ayshford

Ennis to play 80 and injury doubts over Taga and Lewis.

Totally disagree with this.

I reckon these 2 are a couple of the most promising wingers in the comp. Feki has proven himself & Gagan will.

Likewise, I think those two are the best finishers (from the wing) in our squad...and they can also find space surprisingly easy at the end of a backline movement.

I know everyone's got a semi for Holmes, but I rate Gagan as a better wing prospect than Holmes. Holmes will be a great fullback, and will do the job on the wing, but if we're to pick the best players in each position, I think Gagan would get the jump on him (as a winger as a winger don't hit me).

Free yourself from the lens of mediocrity! Free yourself from the standard sharks supporting traps! Breathe in the fresh air of objectivity! They were good performers in a rubbish, diabolical team. They are well down the list of NRL wingers.

It makes a refreshing change see a Sharks team with options so the forum experts can have a meaningful discussion about the merits of said options.

FWIW my views are

Gordon - picks himself. Will benefit from better attacking players around him
Feki - under pressure form Gagan. Needs to drop the error rate
Leutele - I think he will start due to the established combination with Feki. I don't think that he is particularly good and doubt he'll be there come the middle of the season
Beale - will need to perform well early in the season. Tends to drift out of games and is a suspect defender
Holmes - Must play NRL. Enormous talent and will add another dimension to our attack if allowed to roam.
Barba - had some nice touches in the All Star game. Looks ready
Robson - not the most exciting but the best option in the club right now
Fifita - expecting a big year
Ennis - looking forward to seeing him drive the pack
Gallen - it just has to happen
Lewis - needs to be given a role that suits him. Battering ram aint it.
Wade - time to move to the elite. Will benefit from the dramas being done.
Heigno - I like him starting as middle backrower. Good defender and nice skills

Bird - I am tempted to start him at right centre with Beale going to left but hesitant to have him inside Val meaning 2 rookies on one side. Adds versatility and mongrel to the bench
Toops - will have fun with Barba, Val and Holmes running off him. Stay fit please
Taga - make or break year. Needs to aim up with some aggression or will be moved on for Houma
Bakuya - quality backrower. Will go well

In the wings
Gagan, Brown, Prior, Arona

Other than swapping Heighno and Boogs your team is the same as mine so props for being a smart merkin.

The smart people here, like me, have been telling you merkins for 4 years Leutele doesn't have it.

You all really got listen harder.

Weaponhead

I don't rate Leutele highly but think he will get first shot mainty for the Sharpie argument about incumbents and combinations. If Flanno goes in a different direction, I'll be quite happy.

I'd be happy for Beale to play left centre with a good defender/communicator inside young Val on the right wing.

Card Shark

Free yourself from the lens of mediocrity! Free yourself from the standard sharks supporting traps! Breathe in the fresh air of objectivity! They were good performers in a rubbish, diabolical team. They are well down the list of NRL wingers.

Haha.

Ok mate, we will beg to differ. See what happens in 26 rounds.

Maybe players that shine in a shit team will be stars in a decent team, with many more opportunities!

Frenz what's your thoughts on Bird position wise?

Wide running second rower who will play in the 3/4s to learn about running some lines and lateral defence.

7/10 prospect based on the NZ giggle fest. Have only seen him play 1 game of proper footy and that was the kiddies SOO where he didn't do much.

He'll be a top 20 2nd rower eventually I reckon. Maybe top 10. Can't see him being an elite centre. He's young, is going to get bigger and in doing so I expect him to lose a yard of speed.

I like him m