Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Zac Lomax

Crush

Before the season started I wanted Lomax starting at centre and said that he was the best outside back prospect that we have had since Gasnier.

Funny, very early in the season, when Aitken was playing well and getting rave reviews, I made a comment saying that I wanted Aitken to get injured as that was the only way he was going to not be in the team and that is the only way that Lomax was going to get a shot as Mary wasn't going to be dropping Aitken and promoting Lomax. lol I think it was Old Timer and Dragonsammy who both commented on my Aitken getting injured comment. I expected a bit of flack for that comment, but now it looks like I have been proven right again. lol Just imagine if Aitken did get injured early in the season and Lomax got a start. We probably would won the minor premiership and Lomax would have been one of the top contenders for rookie of the year, as I predicted he would win, if given the chance to play first grade early in the season.
We probably won the minor premiership with Lomax in there? Rookie of the year? Cmon mate, a bit premature. He's played 2 games now. He looked good on the weekend but they all did. Lafai had a better game than Lomax. I think calling Lomax the messiah is crazy. All it will take is a few bad games and everyone on here will be calling him slowmax and looking to move him to the backrow.

Crush

Aitken can run .. lomax can run, pass, kick, defend and moreover knows when to use each skill
You got all that from 2 games of NRL?
He's got massive potential and you don't make under 18s Kangaroo teams if you aren't immensely talented but I'll wait until he has played a few more games myself before I judge him.
So far so good though.

RufusRex

You got all that from 2 games of NRL?
He's got massive potential and you don't make under 18s Kangaroo teams if you aren't immensely talented but I'll wait until he has played a few more games myself before I judge him.
So far so good though.

2 games and 3 minutes … plus some trials .. plus some reggie games I have seen.

The 2 things that you struggle to coach are blistering speed and time. He obviously doesn't have the 1st but he has the 2nd in spades. Even if he doesn't improve he is already a better player than Aitken will ever be and yes that is after 2 games … But he will improve and that is fantastic and scarey all in one.

The closest thing to this I can think of is 92 and the Knights unearth a 7 who plays a critical role getting their team into a finals series and wins the comp's Rookie of the Year award. A year later another youngster with a more complete game gets a couple of games in the season and the following year the Rookie of the Year from 92 is gone. This is such an easy decision for Mary to make.

ALSGI

2 games and 3 minutes … plus some trials .. plus some reggie games I have seen.

The 2 things that you struggle to coach are blistering speed and time. He obviously doesn't have the 1st but he has the 2nd in spades. Even if he doesn't improve he is already a better player than Aitken will ever be and yes that is after 2 games … But he will improve and that is fantastic and scarey all in one.

The closest thing to this I can think of is 92 and the Knights unearth a 7 who plays a critical role getting their team into a finals series and wins the comp's Rookie of the Year award. A year later another youngster with a more complete game gets a couple of games in the season and the following year the Rookie of the Year from 92 is gone. This is such an easy decision for Mary to make.
Agree 100%.
Lomax has already surpassed Aitken.
Only 18 his potential is scary.
I’d like Aitken to be there somewhere, he’s young and has lot’s of upside but he’ll need to find somewhere.

giboz71

If Lomax does eventually replace Aitken, then we would have finally removed all the skill free players in our spine and backline. Only took 3 years. Clearly the ability to do tricky things like passing is overrated.

Rein last year.
Dugan this year
Aitken next year.

Oh and we’ve also removed the slowest winger in the comp in Nighty.

Next year is looking ok. We finally have some footy players to look forward to.

aquiin

If I had been picking the team, Mclean probably would have got a shot last year and Cotric would have come very close to playing this year.

I also think they will look for a halfback to play next to Cleary because that’s essentially the role Maloney is playing. I’m not sure how well Keary and Cleary would go together, although that’s the next likely tandem. Be it Brooks, Flanagan or whoever else is going well. The only other way they’d go is if big five-eighth like Wighton plays in the halves for Canberra and brains the competition.

Frank Facer

I also think they will look for a halfback to play next to Cleary because that’s essentially the role Maloney is playing. I’m not sure how well Keary and Cleary would go together, although that’s the next likely tandem. Be it Brooks, Flanagan or whoever else is going well. The only other way they’d go is if big five-eighth like Wighton plays in the halves for Canberra and brains the competition.
Yeah, Cleary is most likely next cab off the rank for 5/8 right now. He would probably go alright. I would have Moylan ahead of Cleary, but on their day, each can be better or worse than the other. I don't have Brooks or Wighton in my State of origin calculations. I know there are big wraps on young Flanagan. It will be interesting to see how he develops.

Radley - LOL …

Radley has played hooker for the chooks this year and is one of the smartest players in the league… Aitken cant pass …

Aitken's only real option is a 3/4/11/12 type role - Beau Scott/Joel Thompson - Tough carries/strong defence and energy … However that means that one of Frizell/TSims/Luc would have to play in a different role otherwise there simply isn't room for Aitken in the top 17.
I don't know, the more I think about it the more I come to the conclusion that Aitken should go. As he is contracted long term, I'd be bulking him up in the offseason and seeing how he goes coming off the bench in ISP. There's really no place for sentiment in our Club. To play NRL you have to perform. Aitken has had the same problems in defence for the past two seasons and it seems no one is doing anything about it.

Prometheus

Lomax was named in the centres today for the Souths game with Aitken in the 21-man squad as a reserve.

Aitken's demonstrated ability to dominate Greg Inglis versus Lomax being the only decent goal-kicker available to us. I'm glad I didn't have to make the decision.