Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Zac Lomax

Geez, you’re being a bit harsh on Aitken. He goes alright. Just needs to work on his positional play in defence. Lomax is great, I’m a huge fan and he has heaps of potential but he’s only played 170mins of first grade. We’re lucky to have both centres at the club, we should be happy about that. I think you’re being a bit over the top about both.

We have Herbert and Field who are sitting outside the 17. Macdonald, Ah Mau are on their way along with some dead wood. So we need to use our cap space carefully to ensure we can recruit top grade players for 2019 and beyond.

j0nesy

We have Herbert and Field who are sitting outside the 17. Macdonald, Ah Mau are on their way along with some dead wood. So we need to use our cap space carefully to ensure we can recruit top grade players for 2019 and beyond.
I’m hearing Herbert is all but gone. I’d be hanging onto Aitken.

LINESPEED

Yeah he needs a skills coach for sure, as there was no improvement all year.
Mary probably did the wrong thing by him by playing him continually out of form & he lost confidence as a result.

Garrick too looked to be a good centre prospect needing more confidence via better coaching and handling. I'd've given him an NRL game or 2 during the year to see how he responded. I think he played against Wigan, got palmed & that was it.

As for Zac, well as NSW U18 Player of the Year, how could anyone doubt he was a champion in the making.
I remember an interview with Lafai early in the year where he indicated his spot was under threat from Lomax etc, but VERY curiously said Lomax wouldn't play NRL until 2019!!
So it just seemed to me then that Aitken & Lafai were on a gold plated promise for the year - and that's exactly how the centre teamsheet panned out.
And I'm 100% sure Lomax wouldn't be revitalising the backline now, but for injury.

giboz71

Been saying it for a while.

Turn Aitken into a running forward. Bulk him up and play him like the Roosters play Radley. He’s quick, strong and can break tackles. Just doesn’t have the smarts of play in the backs.

And then we have someone on the bench that can fill in the backs like Beau Scott and Prior used to.

TomRedVRiver

Turn Aitken into a running forward. Bulk him up and play him like the Roosters play Radley. He’s quick, strong and can break tackles. Just doesn’t have the smarts of play in the backs.

And then we have someone on the bench that can fill in the backs like Beau Scott and Prior used to.

Understand what you're saying, but the Radley comparison is a massive stretch. Radley has a serious footy brain on him, he has far superior ball skills and is so much stronger in defence. He could play 5/8 if he wanted to, Aitken just doesn't have that skill-set on him.

I'd be looking at Chris Lawrence as a more accurate comparison. Just let him run lines and take a few tough hit-ups on the edges.

giboz71

Understand what you're saying, but the Radley comparison is a massive stretch. Radley has a serious footy brain on him, he has far superior ball skills and is so much stronger in defence. He could play 5/8 if he wanted to, Aitken just doesn't have that skill-set on him.

I'd be looking at Chris Lawrence as a more accurate comparison. Just let him run lines and take a few tough hit-ups on the edges.

Well yeh.

Radley is a hell of a player. But you get my drift.

RufusRex

Radley - LOL …

Radley has played hooker for the chooks this year and is one of the smartest players in the league… Aitken cant pass …

Aitken's only real option is a 3/4/11/12 type role - Beau Scott/Joel Thompson - Tough carries/strong defence and energy … However that means that one of Frizell/TSims/Luc would have to play in a different role otherwise there simply isn't room for Aitken in the top 17.

RufusRex

Haha yep, on the same page bud.
Watching Lomax put that step on Kahu yesterday and nearly sneak in, plus that kick through for Dufty's try solidified it for me. Aitken doesn't have those skills, in fact I barely even see him put a step on.

Lomax displayed this kind of decision making in both trials .. He should have been in the side from round 1 but Mary is Mary … Anyway I still expect Mary to brag about how he has developed Lomax into the player he is and how he has been blooded at just the right time .. I will allow mary this false heroism if it means we keep lomax in the run on.

giboz71

Radley - LOL …

Radley has played hooker for the chooks this year and is one of the smartest players in the league… Aitken cant pass …

Aitken's only real option is a 3/4/11/12 type role - Beau Scott/Joel Thompson - Tough carries/strong defence and energy … However that means that one of Frizell/TSims/Luc would have to play in a different role otherwise there simply isn't room for Aitken in the top 17.

Radley and Cameron Murray have been effective as undersized bench forwards. A bundle of energy in attack and defence that can be effective in short spurts.

Aitken whilst not having the same skills can play a similar role.

ALSGI

Radley and Cameron Murray have been effective as undersized bench forwards. A bundle of energy in attack and defence that can be effective in short spurts.

Aitken whilst not having the same skills can play a similar role.
Agree.

I still rate Aitken and the fact that Lomax is pushing him out is a great position for the team to be in, not so good for Aitken though. I think Lomax is a must start, especially with his goal kicking.

Does Aitken go to the Bench utility role or would Field be better?

giboz71

Agree.

I still rate Aitken and the fact that Lomax is pushing him out is a great position for the team to be in, not so good for Aitken though. I think Lomax is a must start, especially with his goal kicking.

Aitken still has an upside. We can’t just afford to have players that don’t have basic skills like passing to be in the backline. It’s exactly why we got rid of Duges.

He is strong and fast and can break tackles. Zac just looks like a natural centre with smarts, composure and skills so he must stay there now.

Field is still a bit undersized to be a bench utility.

j0nesy

Radley - LOL …

I actually think Aitken could make a good winger. In the Wishart/Nightingale mould.

RufusRex

Agree.

Our 4th bench spot this week will be a bloke selected solely to cover injuries to 1/6/7/9 .. it is doubtful that they will get any time at all. To that end it will be Field ..

Any injury to 1/2/3/4/5/6/7/9 then he steps into the halves.

Lawrie/Latimore/Leilua will get the bulk of the game time from the bench.

RedV Resurgence

I'd rather Sele, he is a beast and hits hard in defense and runs a similar line to Aikten.

Dragsters

His fitness would be down a little...don't forget he was out for 1/2 the season.

This.

Just the week before last he played in the ISP and in his post match interview said he struggled with his match fitness.

Since then, back to back first grade games and the pressure cooker of a packed Lang park in an elimination final.

He's improving each week.

Great signs from the lad...

Slippery Morris

Saints won the 2010 GF with BMoz, Nighty, Gaz and Coops. All Dragons juniors.

Fast forward to the future and Saints can possibly have Perreira, Lomax, Aitken Herbert, Field or Masters. That would be ideal having Dragons juniors in the backline again. Actually Pereira is from up north but made his NRL debut as a Dragon. Although I can see Mann possibly getting 1 wing spot and Lafai staying in the centres. He is my issue as Saints may lose a young gun to Lafai who only has a couple of more years left in him.

Not many are talking about him resigning but I really hope Saints hold onto him as his contract is up. He runs the ball back strongly. I have been impressed with Pereira

dungay dragon

Radley - LOL …

the beauty with this scenario , that Aitken would also cover any backline position as well...Imagine replacing Friz or Tariq and told he has 2 15 mins sessions to run hard on the edge at tiring defenses , and tackle what ever moves
If Lomax solves our centre problem we desperately need a classy speedy finishing winger , possibly Tupou
Young Lawrie stepped up in outstanding fashion in a pressure cooker atmosphere yesterday , and he along with Korbin , Luch Host all vying for starting and bench spots , to compliment our imposing forward pack..
2019 looking ok