Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2018 R3 Sat - Raiders 19-20 Warriors @ GIO

Round 3: Raiders v Warriors

Iafeta

Geez the Raiders are stuck. Ricky’s halves rotation is a clear fail. The Raiders for the most part defended well but Austin and Sezer clear defensive errors cost them

It’s weird. It’s like they all get a go at being a speed hump defensively at hooker. Then after they’ve been bashed up they’re asked to direct the team around.

Iafeta

Hes spent the past few years building this squad, if you sack him now, a new coach will come in and take another few years to build their own squad. Not sure if that's the best approach, I reckon it's almost better to give him time to fix it, he's not far off, they're close to a win

He just needs more Origin players. This is not Ricky’s fault.

Let’s all pitch in and send him an overhead projector.

typicalfan

Sezer was looking good at 6. Isn’t trialling players in positions what the preseason is for? If it isn’t then clearly having one less trial isn’t a genius.

Warriors showed a lot of character and wins like that are worth more than the big ones like against the Rabbits

KeepingTheFaith

I think there's a few fans from other teams who think we're close to being a decent team.

We are horrid in so many areas - fitness, mental toughness, halves, game plan, composure and most importantly defence both as a unit and individuals.

And its all down to the coach who has spent more money via the football department than any other. We've actually gone backwards since Dave Furner ffs, with better players at our disposal.

Dark days until the fraud that is Ricky Stuart is f**ked off.

The talent is there, but for whatever reason it's not translating to the field.

Hodgson would have made a big difference, not just because of his talent but to avoid these musical cheers with the spine all game long.

The way the Raiders are clocking off in patches would be the biggest concern though (something Warriors fans know all too well). Even after going up 12-0 they just seemed to clock off and give up an easy try. The next 50 minutes was probably some of the better defensive passages they've had defending their line just to give up that Luke try.

The last 3 minutes in general was bad. It's like they were convinced they were safe so clocked off. Then they were convinced they could hold out for the 1 point win. Then they were thinking GP before the game had finished.

Hard not to feel sorry for you guys because you played really well for 90% of the match, and it was a loss that felt so Warrior like.

Delboy

It's true that fans at other clubs look at the Raiders roster and see real talent, then those that have had Sticky at their club, look at the coach and shudder.

Been very unlucky so far this season, we are all struck with the Sticky disease,like to see the Raiders win but RS lose. That's honesty for you.

TheDMC

As an aside, the commentators are so dumb.

They couldn't comprehend that the sin bin was not because of the late charge, but because it was a deliberate infringement soon after the official warning.

Then continued to try to analyse whether Paulo was catching the ball on the outside or inside shoulder of the dummy runner whilst the first replay immediately showed it was the defender being impeded and no try.

But my favourite by far was suggesting the warriors should go for the kick and 2pts when giving a penalty a few meters out when trailing by 7 with 3 minutes to go. I nearly fell off my couch hearing that. On what planet would you go for a penalty in that situation?

FMD.

Anyway, back to basking in Warrior's temporary top of the table status.

skeepe

And Ricky.
Ricky just mentioned that the obstruction isn’t being ruled consistently. Which is absolutely correct.

He also specifically said that he doesn’t blame the referees, because they haven’t been given a black and white ruling to go on.

This is something that a lot of fans have been saying. Not sure how that constitutes complaining about the refs, but you read into it whatever you want.

to_ddeath

Tipped the Warriors, knew the home side would find another way.
That Harris/Hiku edge is dangerous & NZ are not to be underestimated.
Don't even remotely feel sorry for the Faders...these same flogs watched videos of their wins against us & fapped to them before playing us.
Since 94, all they had was that 14 year hoodoo...& now all they have is Pricky.
EAFD.

TheDMC

Ricky just mentioned that the obstruction isn’t being ruled consistently. Which is absolutely correct.
This is something that a lot of fans have been saying. Not sure how that constitutes complaining about the refs, but you read into it whatever you want.

I read into it Ricky is absolutely a wingeing sook. He even admitted he is, three times.

Love his saltiness in the presser, a true joy to watch.

With the obstruction, Ricky banged about refs ruling on passes inside/outside the shoulder of the dummy runner. But that wasn't even considered by the video ref, he immediately, and correctly, disallowed the try was because your dummy runner ran into the warriors defender on the try line.

He also specifically said that he doesn’t blame the referees, because they haven’t been given a black and white ruling to go on.

Well they got this one 100% correct

KeepingTheFaith

Yup. Inside and outside shoulder means nothing when the decoy collides chest on with the defender and the runner goes through that gap.