Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How old is too old?

soc123_au

26 is not too old. Life is littered with people making it later on in life. Didn't one of the astronaughts that went to the moon start late in life, like mid 30's?
I have a friend who started playing piano at 40 and ended up playing at the opera house last week. And what about all those homeless people in that choir. Weren't some of them over 60? Now they are world famous.....choir of hard knocks i think they were called.

As for wanting a photo of me. I have already supplied a video of myself. More than enough to help you through a box of Kleenex. Why dont you put your own photo up? Probably one of your pimples poped under the stress of thinking up something intelligent to write, squirted all over your bedroom and ruined your scanner.

I may look thin in my video, yes. But that was years ago and I have bulked up now and my arms are more manly. I eat alot of KFC and hit the gym these days. I dont want to play in the forwards anyway. Seems a bit brainless and boring to me. I see myself as a fullback probably. Chiming in when I see a gap....but see what the coach says.

I hear your dad made it big in gay porn at 50, so anythings possible. Good luck.

BunniesMan

LOL @ people encouraging the delusional one.

You're as bad as the families of the sh*t singers that go on singing shows because they think they're good because they've been lied to for years by friends and family.

Mate, I'm only 20. I started playing footy formally for the first time in high school when I was begged to represent my school (not because people thought I was any good, we were just really short of players). I went alright, enjoyed it and played weekend footy for the first time when I was 16. So I got years headstart on you, I'm pretty good, I'm fit and fairly big. I make the occasional rep team. But even I'm sane enough to think I'm nowhere near good enough to make it into the NRL, so I'm trying to get a real job instead of following a silly pipe dream.

I recommend you do the same.

AlwaysGreen

Mate, I'm only 20. I started playing footy formally for the first time in high school when I was begged to represent my school (not because people thought I was any good, we were just really short of players). I went alright, enjoyed it and played weekend footy for the first time when I was 16. So I got years headstart on you, I'm pretty good, I'm fit and fairly big. I make the occasional rep team. But even I'm sane enough to think I'm nowhere near good enough to make it into the NRL, so I'm trying to get a real job instead of following a silly pipe dream.

Druid, I recommend that you don't follow bunniesbandwagon's advice. Renting out your body to other men is not what normal people call a real job.
Stick to your dream son, with your talent you'll be on the street drinking metho out of your shoe in no time.

Hutty1986

LOL @ people encouraging the delusional one.

You're as bad as the families of the sh*t singers that go on singing shows because they think they're good because they've been lied to for years by friends and family.

Bloke poker.

boxhead

26 is not too old. Life is littered with people making it later on in life. Didn't one of the astronaughts that went to the moon start late in life, like mid 30's?
I have a friend who started playing piano at 40 and ended up playing at the opera house last week. And what about all those homeless people in that choir. Weren't some of them over 60? Now they are world famous.....choir of hard knocks i think they were called.

As for wanting a photo of me. I have already supplied a video of myself. More than enough to help you through a box of Kleenex. Why dont you put your own photo up? Probably one of your pimples poped under the stress of thinking up something intelligent to write, squirted all over your bedroom and ruined your scanner.

I may look thin in my video, yes. But that was years ago and I have bulked up now and my arms are more manly. I eat alot of KFC and hit the gym these days. I dont want to play in the forwards anyway. Seems a bit brainless and boring to me. I see myself as a fullback probably. Chiming in when I see a gap....but see what the coach says.

:lol: Hey Mr Inglis, what's doing?

This has got to be the funniest thread I have seen in ages.....hilarious troll.

boxhead

They would probably make you captain/coach at parra. Just tell them you can make 40 flops a game, you'll be a club hero.

No, I think he should sign with Souths, the perennial arm-grabbers. Hey Chrissy, how many tackles did you miss on the weekend? Oh sorry, how many tackles do Souths players miss over their careers?

And you guys topped up his pension. Congrats.

At least he didn't walk out of our club, at least not yet. Shows the "loyalty" of the red and green jersey.

FIVE-STAR THREAD!!!! :lol::lol:

redvscotty

hahahahahaha what a twig.

bazza

Had a discussion with a friend of mine yesterday. Hadn't seen him in a long time, and both of us are keen NRL fans. We were both saying that we are feeling quite old these days (we were at the races and there were alot of young girls around - talking about getting their licences etc).
Any I have always said that I will play rugby league at some stage in my life, because when playing touch I have shown a fair amount of natural talent - In mixed touch last year I scored three tries in the second half of one of the games, that sort of thing. But yeah, I was saying that it feels strange that alot of the players are younger than me now. Like Dugan is so much younger. So this makes me think that it is getting to the stage where it will be hard if not impossible to make it into the NRL.

I am 27 years old now and looking to start playing in few weeks (have a calf injury atm). My friend told me that the warriors hooker heramya? started playing in the NRL at 27. Hearing that gave me a bit of hope.
What I ask you is how old is too old? When are you too old to start playing rugby leage if you hope to become professional?

I have a friend like you
He tells us how he is a great rugby league player and could have been a great. He was a very good touch football player.
His history of actually playing rugby league was about 10 games at school one year and a few training sessions when he was about 20

druid25

was feeling really down the other day after you lot wrote all that stuff trying to demotivate me and all. But then I saw that great game on Sunday. Did any of you catch Matt Cooper....hmmmm still pretty good for a man over 30.

Also, do any of you know the email address of a talent scout for the nrl. or whatever they call them in this comp? There is that Akman? who discovered Sonny Bill Williams. Anyone got contacts for him. I think it could be a way of cutting out time spent playing lower grade stuff if i simply contact one of these guys. something like this....
Hi my name is ####, I was wondering if you have any open trial days this year? Or whether there is an opportunity for me to trial for your club. i would love to play in a club with your culture. I am a 27 year old who has spent most of his life following other pursuits. Now I want to play league. Some critics have said I cant make it, im too old. I disagree and know I have the talent. I have noticed that your club is short of (insert position eg full back for rabbitohs) and I feel my bombtaking skills will be of benefit to your club. Initially I will be cheap and I am free of off feild dramas.....then put my contact details or something....its not great a little informal maybe.

But do any of you have a contact for me? I think this could help me prove the critics wrong. Not interested in playing for storm, cowboys or warriors. Actually quite comfortable in NSW.

I am feeling alot better tonight. Ran around the bloke five seconds faster than my best time! I will do this f#ckers!

Wato

was feeling really down the other day after you lot wrote all that stuff trying to demotivate me and all. But then I saw that great game on Sunday. Did any of you catch Matt Cooper....hmmmm still pretty good for a man over 30.

Also, do any of you know the email address of a talent scout for the nrl. or whatever they call them in this comp? There is that Akman? who discovered Sonny Bill Williams. Anyone got contacts for him. I think it could be a way of cutting out time spent playing lower grade stuff if i simply contact one of these guys. something like this....
Hi my name is ####, I was wondering if you have any open trial days this year? Or whether there is an opportunity for me to trial for your club. i would love to play in a club with your culture. I am a 27 year old who has spent most of his life following other pursuits. Now I want to play league. Some critics have said I cant make it, im too old. I disagree and know I have the talent. I have noticed that your club is short of (insert position eg full back for rabbitohs) and I feel my bombtaking skills will be of benefit to your club. Initially I will be cheap and I am free of off feild dramas.....then put my contact details or something....its not great a little informal maybe.

But do any of you have a contact for me? I think this could help me prove the critics wrong. Not interested in playing for storm, cowboys or warriors. Actually quite comfortable in NSW.

I am feeling alot better tonight. Ran around the bloke five seconds faster than my best time! I will do this f#ckers!

Talent scouts don't give out there numbers for you to ring. Think about how many pushie parents would ring them saying my son is the next big thing etc. If you were serious you would find out what local club is the feeder club to your NRL team and play for them. If you ring a club to tell them to sign you I am betting they will laugh and hang up. There is no short cuts in life don't waste your time trying to find them.

druid25

Talent scouts don't give out there numbers for you to ring. Think about how many pushie parents would ring them saying my son is the next big thing etc. If you were serious you would find out what local club is the feeder club to your NRL team and play for them. If you ring a club to tell them to sign you I am betting they will laugh and hang up. There is no short cuts in life don't waste your time trying to find them.

You are drunk? he is drunk right? There are HEAPS of scouts out there looking for the right person. It is just that many people dont think to ask. I always hear of clubs saying they cant attract players. God! You have no idea.
The thing is I will have only one chance to impressive with each scout but I am willing to back my ability

Wato

If scouts are so desperate for players why are you coming on here looking for one. Clubs struggle to find players in the positions they need not players full stop. You sound like in your view your in the loop so just ask one of the many you make reference too. Also I take it your after an NRL scout and I doubt that take on some of continually claims they are the best. Also I was one of the few people of did not bag the sh*t out of you so what do you do bag the sh*t out of me.You asked for advice so I gave it to you. Who are you talking to when you say "he is drunk right" no one else has done anything but laugh at you. Mate if I was you I would stop right now as your quickly becoming this forums biggest clown after claiming you had the nrls next theme song and now you'll be it's next star.

no name

I recommend you get down to ANZ stadium next Monday, wait for Jamie Soward to put up his first bomb, avoid the security guards, piece of p!ss for someone with your phenomenal skill, run onto the field, push Rhys Wesser out of the way, take the ball and proceed up the field, if anyone should get in the way produce the old chip and chase, and score a try for the Bunnies.
Russell will more than likely be so impressed he will order John Lang to immediately remove Wesser from the field to be replaced by you.
You can then let Ricky know your available for the Blues and you can lead them to a 3 zip whitewash, it won't really matter who else they pick.
You can help Souths to their historic 21st premiership, collect the Dally M, Clive Churchill medal, Rothmans Medal, Amco Cup, Tooheys Challenge, Winfield Cup and any other award out there.
That's when you can start negotiating for the big bucks! And I mean Rooty Hill big!

smacky

just go to whatever club your interested in joinings training ground and when they are training just ask to join in and see how you go, souths would probably be your best bet i hear their training isnt too tough.

BunniesMan

Well it's good to know you'll be cheap...initially. So clubs will be able to get you AND a bunch of other great players. I love when quality players take paycuts to build a better team.

I recommend you get down to ANZ stadium next Monday, wait for Jamie Soward to put up his first bomb, avoid the security guards, piece of p!ss for someone with your phenomenal skill, run onto the field, push Rhys Wesser out of the way, take the ball and proceed up the field, if anyone should get in the way produce the old chip and chase, and score a try for the Bunnies.
Russell will more than likely be so impressed he will order John Lang to immediately remove Wesser from the field to be replaced by you.
You can then let Ricky know your available for the Blues and you can lead them to a 3 zip whitewash, it won't really matter who else they pick.
You can help Souths to their historic 21st premiership, collect the Dally M, Clive Churchill medal, Rothmans Medal, Amco Cup, Tooheys Challenge, Winfield Cup and any other award out there.
That's when you can start negotiating for the big bucks! And I mean Rooty Hill big!
Almost in tears from laughter...if there's one bloke who could make Wesser look like Billy Slater, it's this bloke.

I can't believe how many of you guys are taking this druid bloke seriously... even Bunniesman is falling for it. As dumb as Bunniesman is I didn't think he was that dumb. So that says a lot for the rest of you of who are taking this thread seriously.

BunniesMan

I can't believe how many of you guys are taking this druid bloke seriously... even Bunniesman is falling for it. As dumb as Bunniesman is I didn't think he was that dumb. So that says a lot for the rest of you of who are taking this thread seriously.
I'm not falling for it. Learn to sense some sarcasm, my last post was dripping with it (the first bit) and the last bit was an insult directed at him.

gerg

You are drunk? he is drunk right? There are HEAPS of scouts out there looking for the right person. It is just that many people dont think to ask. I always hear of clubs saying they cant attract players. God! You have no idea.
The thing is I will have only one chance to impressive with each scout but I am willing to back my ability

Drunkedness is temporary, stupidity is permanent.