Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 5 tips and crowd

Southernsaint

melon.... said:
EdBurton said:
Neither team are very popular in Sydney so it won't get TOO many everyday fans if you know what I mean
Where are you going fool. Easts V Brisbane hold the SFS Record for a Night Game, close to full house. Thats nearly 40,000.

That's right, Monday Night Football - Andrew Gee incorrectly re-starts play on his 20 metre line, resulting in a match winning penalty for Easts.

I was there that night, got my ticket from Bondi Junction Maccas :lol:

Cheers,
Ben S.

EdBurton

That's right Melon. Easts. Before they were the whole Sydney City image etc. and much more hated, and back when the Broncos were an absolute powerhouse.

Are you really trying to tell me that the Roosters are a popular team amongst opposition supporters? All I said was that this game wouldn't get too many 'casual' supporters, and maybe that's why some people are predicting lower crowds.
Tool.

Alba

Roosters vs Broncos - Broncos. 11,000
Warriors vs Knights - Warriors. 13,000
Sharks vs Cowboys - Cowboys. 8,000
Double Header - Bulldogs/Tigers- 29,000
Penrith vs Storm - Panthers. 15,000
Eels vs Souths - Souths. 11,000

bazza

Paullyboy said:
Thats some pretty dire predictions for the rooster v broncos match - I would have thought that was going to be a big seller

Last year the crowd was around 26,000 - I would expect something similar this year.

It's a good day to go because everything is closed. But there is still beer and meat pies at the footy.

Bad thing though is that all pubc close early on Good Friday so there is nowhere to go afterwards

In-goal

I have never been a big fan of the Double Header concept and am standing up now for it's exclusion from future seasons alright on with the important stuff.

Rooster v Broncos 25,000
Warriors v Knights 14,500
Sharks v Cowboys 10,500
Double Header Should be axed
Panthers v Storm 17,500
Eels v Rabbitohs 18,500 (due to souths being a little competitive.

Winners
Roosters, Warriors, Cowboys, Storm and Bunnies.

ibeme

In-goal said:
I have never been a big fan of the Double Header concept and am standing up now for it's exclusion from future seasons...

Why don't you like the double-headers? I'm a fan. You get to see two games of first grade football.

Crowds at Roosters matches to date.
Easts v Souths 16,500
Manly v Easts 18,500 (really 22,000 +)
Easts v Canterbury 26,500
Penrith v Easts 22,500.

What was that bullsh1t about Easts not attracting crowds in Sydney. :lol:

thuganomics

Roosters vs Broncos - Broncos. 11, 687
Warriors vs Knights - Warriors. 13 228
Sharks vs Cowboys - Cowboys. 8,686
Double Header - Bulldogs/Tigers- 29,328
Penrith vs Storm - Panthers. 15,475
Eels vs Souths - Souths. 11,482

Roosters v Broncos 20,000
Warriors v Newcastle 15,000
Sharks v Cowboys 10,000
Tigers v Dragons 24,000 (Double Header)
Bulldogs v Manly 24,000 (Double Header)
Panthers v Melbourne 15,000
Eels v Souths 16,500

JTR

Roosters vs Broncos - not enough
Warriors vs Knights - respectable crowd
Sharks vs Cowboys - not enough
Bulldogs vs Manly/Tigers vs Dragons - respectable crowd (just)
Penrith vs Storm - respectable crowd
Eels vs Souths - not enough

JTR

Roosters vs Broncos - not enough
Warriors vs Knights - respectable crowd
Sharks vs Cowboys - not enough
Bulldogs vs Manly/Tigers vs Dragons - good crowd :D
Penrith vs Storm - respectable crowd
Eels vs Souths - not enough

DIEHARD

----
Double headers are ok as long as they attract a decent crowd. If they don't they turn into an embarrassment. :cry:

miccle

Rooster Cogburn. said:
Crowds at Roosters matches to date.
Easts v Souths 16,500
Manly v Easts 18,500 (really 22,000 +)
Easts v Canterbury 26,500
Penrith v Easts 22,500.

What was that bullsh1t about Easts not attracting crowds in Sydney. :lol:

Sorry RC but you won't get over 19000 tonight. The penrith game got 22K because of the GF rematch - there were plenty of panther fans there and heaps of casual fans going along to check it out. The Dogs game got 26,500 most likely because there were 10,000 doggies fans... at least. IF brisbane had a bigger supporter base in Sydney then tonight would be a big one, but I'm predicting 15,000.

ibeme

I've just gotten off the phone with Ticketek. They said that they were unable to give me numbers, but said that ticket sales were going quite well for the double-header.

The only category 1 tickets available are on the fringes.

They're not opening up the top level though, according to the web-site

Munky

I think the Panthers - Storm game will get atleast 20,000. When I bought my tickets on Tuesday they only had seats left on the ends of the stands.

Ron Jeremy

Roosters vs Broncos - Broncos. 12,000
Warriors vs Knights - Warriors. 16,000
Sharks vs Cowboys - Cowboys. 10,000
Double Header - Bulldogs/Tigers. 30,000
Penrith vs Storm - Panthers. 15,000
Eels vs Souths - Souths. 16,000

The Parra vs Souths game has the potential to have a crowd of between 15,000 to 20,000 due to public holiday & all