Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 6 vs Sharks

Life's Good

The thing is LG that teams we beat will always appear to have an excuse

If we got beat 40/20 Mary would be hung dried and quartered.

We didn’t get lucky, we forced it upon them.
Widdop goes down in the Anzac Day game last year & we lose. We call it tough, unlucky. That happens tonight it’s unlucky for them. It’s not a one way excuse. Irrespective of that we did what we had to do and put points on them. There’s no shame in winning that way because it happens. I’d prefer us look at it like that and continue to work hard instead of looking at a 40-20 score line thinking ‘jobs done’ because that’s what premiership winning sides do, they never rest on their laurels.

BennyV

I didn’t mean we injured them, but when you are playing against a physical team and it’s hard yakka, and your body is tired, the chances of getting an injury triples vs a team who is not giving it to you in spades

It’s just a physical fact, a tough hard game leads to more injuries

True
Which explains how every other team we’ve monstered lost 4 of their starting 5 forwards, right?

They got injured because they got injured. All 4 of those guys have experienced (and dominated) far more physical matches than what was played tonight - grand finals, test matches, origins, and so on. Sharks were unlucky to lose them all in one hit.

It doesn’t add, nor take away, anything from our performance, other than the fact that it may have been closer at the back end of the game. We didn’t truly take control until after Fifita went off.

ouryears

Widdop goes down in the Anzac Day game last year & we lose. We call it tough, unlucky. That happens tonight it’s unlucky for them. It’s not a one way excuse. Irrespective of that we did what we had to do and put points on them. There’s no shame in winning that way because it happens. I’d prefer us look at it like that and continue to work hard instead of looking at a 40-20 score line thinking ‘jobs done’ because that’s what premiership winning sides do, they never rest on their laurels.
Geese I really don’t want to read your post when we lose our first game

Dissecting and analysing a game that we won by 20, I can’t do

Happy to analyse a game we lose by under 7 points, but I ain’t gonna dissect winning the lottery

The coach can

ouryears

Which explains how every other team we’ve monstered lost 4 of their starting 5 forwards, right?

They got injured because they got injured. All 4 of those guys have experienced (and dominated) far more physical matches than what was played tonight - grand finals, test matches, origins, and so on. Sharks were unlucky to lose them all in one hit.

It doesn’t add, nor take away, anything from our performance, other than the fact that it may have been closer at the back end of the game. We didn’t truly take control until after Fifita went off.

The difference was the sharks pack went hard at us and we returned fire

Geese I don’t want to create a debate about the sharks forwards being eaten alive tonight, enough to say I am looking forward to dishing them up for dinner tomorrow or what’s left of them

I am happy we won and half the sharks pack was left licking their many wounds

dragonssamy61

Dufty is a St George junior. I think he has always dreamed of playing for Saints. He is playing in a winning team and a winning team is a happy team. As long as we make him a reasonable offer I am confident we will keep him. We also have the luxury of resigning him this year, upgrading his contract and giving him a pay rise next year. We could probably forward end his contract and give him some extra cash this year as we are apparently still very much under the cap for this year.

I am very confident that we will keep him.

Just been talking to dufty.
You are right he is a saints junior.
He Penshurst rsl boy.
He is loving it good mates with sele and luc.
We will have to give him a upgrade as you stated but unless things change , he will stay.
Hopefully long term.

His attitude has improved and so has his play.
Long may it continue

Life's Good

Geese I really don’t want to read your post when we lose our first game

Dissecting and analysing a game that we won by 20, I can’t do

Happy to analyse a game we lose by under 7 points, but I ain’t gonna dissect winning the lottery

The coach can

Not really sure what you mean there mate. Let me be clearer, Our job was made easier by their misfortune & we made the most of it. We still have room to improve and I don’t want a 40-20 scoreline masking that.

Nothing more, nothing less.

dragonssamy61

Our completion rate was excellent in the first half tonight, just as it was last week and we are still playing a very attractive brand of footy.

Cronulla weren't doing much in the first half until McInnes got sin binned.

The only weakness I see in defence is Aitken and Nightingale. But Aitken continues to impress in other areas. I was wrapped with the try he scored tonight. I am having trouble remembering him his a hole like that and score before.

Aitken also put a great around the ankles tackle on lee . And bundled him into touch.
Some of the defence problems.
Is because hunt rushes up and misses and then aitken has to rush up as well.
It will get better.
Aitken is one of the hardest trainers in the club.
So if hard work counts for anything he will continue to improve.

getsmarty

Dragons remain undefeated following Sharks win
Author
Margie McDonald Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Fri 13 Apr 2018, 08:26 PM

St George Illawarra fullback Matt Dufty gave his opposite Matt Moylan a horror night, scoring a double with speed and a neat step, as the Dragons made it six from six with a 40-20 win over an injury-ravaged Sharks outfit at WIN Stadium on Friday night.

The joint venture club had beaten the Sharks 20-16 four weeks ago but Black Friday’s scoreline was worse. The news continued to deteriorate for Shane Flanagan’s men with both Paul Gallen (knee) and Andrew Fifita (knee) unable to return for the second half after being injured in the 13th and 34th minutes respectively. Then Wade Graham (hamstring) went off in the 48th to deny Cronulla the power of three starting forwards.

Being reduced to 14 men didn’t kill off the Sharks completely. Down 28-10, Valentine Holmes scored off fine lead-up work by former Dragon Josh Dugan, then Ricky Leutele darted through a gap after a Trent Hodkinson cut-out pass to haul the 2016 premiers back to 28-20 with 22 minutes to play.

Repeated replays showed a finger-tip knock-on by Holmes to deny the Sharks third try in the space of eight minutes. It would have made matters extremely interesting but then Jack de Belin scored in the 64th minute to push the Dragons back out beyond reach.

Luke Lewis left the field with seven minutes left after a heavy collision with former Shark Jeremy Latimore.

Regardless of the trail of Cronulla injuries, Paul McGregor’s kept their focus and did not let their standards drop. It was a six tries to four show at WIN Stadium and now every player in the Dragons' starting 13 – with the exception of James Graham – has scored at least one try after just six rounds.

Widdop’s eight goals on Friday brought up his 800th career point in the NRL.

The Dragons took a 16-10 lead to the dressing rooms after a highly entertaining first half, despite the 16 penalties blown.

Referee Ashley Klein sent Dragons hooker Cameron McInnes to the sin bin in the 14th minute, but it didn’t stop players from standing off-side, or not releasing the tackled player. Sharks prop Matt Prior was also placed on report for a high tackle on Graham.

Both sides scored two tries in the opening 40 minutes - Jayden Brailey and Edrick Lee for the Sharks and Matt Dufty and McInnes for the Dragons. McInnes’ was a sensational 40-metre effort when he just accelerated past limp defence to score in the corner.

The Sharks had shaken up their backline keeping Moylan at fullback, even though Dugan was returning from two weeks out with a groin strain.

Dufty steps past Moylan

Dugan returned to right centre and received a few boos early from the Wollongong faithful but he was instrumental in the Sharks mounting a comeback.

WIN Stadium has become a lucky charm for the Dragon when it comes to the local derby. The Sharks have now lost 12 of their past 13 games there.

The Dragons now head to Mt Smart Stadium next Friday night to face the Warriors, another team riding a wave of success.

Back-to-back losses has seen the Sharks slip to 2-4 for the season ahead of a round seven clash with Penrith at Southern Cross Stadium.

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/04/13/dragons-remain-undefeated-following-sharks-win/

getsmarty

Dufty double sinks Sharks in Wollongong
Dragons Den News
r0_0_3000_2093_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

DOUBLE: Matt Dufty crosses for the first of his two tries in the Dragons 40-20 win over Cronulla on Friday. Picture: AAP

CRONULLA went in with a boxed trifecta of fullbacks, but it was the Dragons who found a winner in their No. 1 Matt Dufty at WIN Stadium on Friday night.

It’s still unclear whether or not he’s on “fullback money” but the Dragons continue to get bang for their buck out of the 22-year-old, whose scintillating double either side of halftime spurred a 40-20 win.

They proved telling moments in what, a mini second-half revival aside, was a forgettable night for Sharks coach Shane Flanagan, who still can’t find a fullback despite having three on the books.

He could now also be looking for half a forward pack next week after Paul Gallen, Andrew Fifita and Wade Graham failed to finish the match.

Gallen injured medial ligament in his right knee in the 13th minute and left the field without returning while Fifita joined him with a knee injury of his own six minutes before the break.

Graham also twinged a hamstring eight minutes into the second half and finished the game in civvies on he bench.

Despite the injury toll, the Sharks did manage a brief fight back midway through the second half with tries to Valentine Holmes and Ricky Leutele pegging back an 18-point deficit back to just eight with 23 minutes left.

They went close to scoring again moment later, only for replays to show Holmes grazed a loose ball with a fingernail in the lead-up to Josh Dugan claiming a try.

Jack de Belin barged across minutes later, with Euan Aitken crossing to seal the match, and a 6-0 start, for the Dragons 10 minutes from time.

The penalties flew thick and fast in he first half, with the visitors being pinged four times in the opening six minutes alone.

The first-half count ultimately evened out at eight apiece, but Widdop made the Sharks pay on the scoreboard with four penalty goals in the opening stanza.

Widdop’s four penalty goals were complemented by two scintillating solo efforts from Matt Dufty and Cam McInnes, the latter providing a timely reminder of his running abilities seven minutes before halftime.

Dufty crossed for the opening try in the eighth minute, starting 15 metres in from the western touchline before crabbing across the the eastern side and blowing past Hodkinson and Leutele for the opening four-pointer.

McInnes strode through the same channel for his try, brushing off Wade Graham and Kurt Dillon before darting 40 metres to score in the corner.

Ill-discipline also cost the Dragons, with a run of four straight penalties – one resulting in the sin-binning of McInnes in the 14th minute – opening the door for Jaiden Brailey and Edrick Lee to cross in the ensuing 10 minutes.

Lee had got across earlier in the match for what looked like the opening try only for replays to show a fumble from Fifita in the lead-up.

Fifita made up for the error, laying on Brailey’s try with a one-handed off-load before leaving the field.

Dufty had his second two minutes after the resumption, again creating something from nothing on a weaving 30-metre run to the line, with Paul Vaughan crossing five minutes later to extend the lead to 28-10.

The cue looked very much in the rack when the Sharks scored twice in five minutes, through Holmes and Leutele, but the resistance proved brief.

De Belin carried four defenders across to re-take momentum in the 63rd minute before Aitken’s 70th minute effort sealed the victory.

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/5342130/dufty-double-sinks-sharks-in-wollongong/?cs=3713

getsmarty

St George Illawarra Dragons win pulsating derby 40-20 as Cronulla Sharks left to lick wounds
  • Local Sport
    r0_113_3000_1797_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Happy Dragons: St George Illawarra players celebrate Matt Dufty's try against Cronulla at WIN Stadium on Friday night. Picture: Craig Golding/AAP Image

• St George Illawarra have maintained their unbeaten start to the season, winning a pulsating derby 40-20 over Cronulla on Friday night.

The Dragons now have six wins from their opening six matches to stay top of the NRL table with electric young fullback Matt Dufty providing the spark in the 20-point victory.

Cronulla were brave in defeat. They lost captain Paul Gallen inside the opening 15 minutes to a suspected medial ligament strain in his knee. Andrew Fifita was forced off just before half-time with a knee problem having been at his explosive best, a one-man wrecking ball.

Wade Graham came off just after half-time with a quadriceps injury before Luke Lewis left the field in the final 10 minutes after a clash of knees.

Cronulla’s lack of discipline came back to haunt them again, giving away a number of penalties within kicking distance. Dragons captain Gareth Widdop took full advantage kicking four penalty goals, including one in the second minute to open the scoring.

But it was Cronulla who looked to have scored the first try completely against the run. A Fifita offload ended up with Edrick Lee touching down in the corner, only for the video referee to chalk off the try for a Fifita knock on.

The Dragons would make them pay, going straight down the other end for Dufty to produce his first moment of magic. The diminutive No.1 received the ball 40 metres from Cronulla’s try line and probed the defensive line to the left, before wheeling around and sprinting across to the right side where he isolated Trent Hodkinson before slicing through to score in the corner.

East, west and everywhere else but Dufty finds a way through!#TelstraPremiership#NRLDragonsSharks#NRLpic.twitter.com/xalKkFO9nH

— NRL (@NRL) April 13, 2018
    The Sharks then lost Gallen as he went to put in a grubber kick into the in-goal area, only for Paul Vaughan to tackle him in the process, awkwardly catching his right leg.

Gallen wouldn’t return but the Sharks got a leg up when Cameron McInnes was sent to the sin bin after 15 minutes. Josh Dugan earned a penalty after making a half break, forcing McInnes to tackle Dugan when he attempted a quick tap.

The Sharks took full advantage moments later when Fifita produced an offload for young hooker Jayden Brailey to score under the posts.

The offload from @andrewfifita and Brailey backs-up to score!#TelstraPremiership#NRLDragonsSharks#NRLpic.twitter.com/KLFDyLweGL

A Widdop penalty goal reestablished St George Illawarra’s lead midway through the half before the Sharks hit the front two minutes later when Lee touched down in the corner.

A pair of Widdop penalties put the Dragons back in front before McInnes scored the hosts’ second try, producing a similar effort to Dufty’s as he broke through down the right and raced 35 metres to score to give the Dragons a 16-10 half-time lead.

McInnes turning it on!#TelstraPremiership#NRLDragonsSharks#NRLpic.twitter.com/FNE2FhkLvJ

Dufty broke the game wide open four minutes after the break. He punched through a hole in the Sharks’ line, accelerating from a standing start before putting a lovely move on Moylan to touch down.

Vaughan crashed over three minutes later to give the Dragons a 28-10 lead before the Sharks hit back after 53 minutes with Dugan providing a superb flick pass for Valentine Holmes.

:scream:#TelstraPremiership#NRLDragonsSharks 22-10 after 44 minutes.#NRLpic.twitter.com/wf6c5rDNBM

Cronulla were in again five minutes later with Hodkinson’s pin point cut out pass finding Ricky Leutele. The Sharks could have been even closer shortly after when Holmes appeared to touch down in the corner, only for the video referee to find a knock on from the winger.

Cronulla continued to hang tough until Jack de Belin sealed the result with a solo effort 15 minutes from full-time. Euan Aitken added some gloss to the final score with a try inside the final 10 minutes.

Leader Scoreboard

St George illawarra Dragons 40 (Matt Dufty two, Cameron McInnes, Paul Vaughan, Jack de Belin, Euan Aitken tries. Gareth Widdop eight goals)

defeated

Cronulla Sharks 20 (Jayden Brailey, Edrick Lee, Valentine Holmes, Ricky Leutele tries. Chad Townsend two goals)

at WIN Stadium, Wollongong

Crowd: 17,882

Leader man of the match: Gareth Widdop (Dragons)

Dragons’ next three: Warriors (away), Roosters (home – Allianz Stadium), Storm (home – Jubilee Oval)

https://www.theleader.com.au/story/...ulsating-derby-as-sharks-lick-wounds/?cs=1633

Dragon Blood

Three things from the game tonight.
We Won.
Gallen injured
Fifita injured
That will do me
My three things:
1: Mann in Laughfai to reggies

2: love Flo , but he's reached his 250th, time to take on a mentor role in reggies for the young'uns

3: Aitken needs to decide if he wants to play NRL or not

Was only just reading the the Dragons Red V site where they mentioned that all the players with the exception of James Graham have scored tries . I realise that the man is more interested in doing his job on the field, but wouldn't it be lovely if the opportunity came his way in the not too distant future .

getsmarty

NRL 2018: Matt Dufty stars as Dragons down injury-hit Sharks
NRL Premiership
MTM0MjAxODE0fGN4by5jfGh0dHBzOi8vbWVkaWEuZm94c3BvcnRzLmNvbS5hdS9hcnRpY2xlL2hlYWRzaG90cy9qb2huX2RlYW4uanBnfDEzNDIwMTgxNA==

MTM0MjAxODE0fGN4by5jfGh0dHBzOi8vY2RuLm5ld3NhcGkuY29tLmF1L2ltYWdlL3YxL2I4YTE2MDhiMDQ4ZTM4YTJhMDFmODhlMGE4MDM1NTQ2fDEzNDIwMTgxNA==

Matthew Dufty starred for the Dragns against the Sharks.Source: AAP
ST GEORGE Illawarra fullback Matt Dufty has added two stunning tries to his burgeoning highlights reel as the Dragons kept their unbeaten record intact against an injury-ravaged Cronulla.

The 22-year-old was at his fleet-footed best, breaking the line three times and running for 123 metres the Red V ran out 40-20 winners in front of 17,882 fans at WIN Stadium.

MATCH CENTRE: Dragons v Sharks

MTM0MjAxODE0fGN4by5jfGh0dHBzOi8vd3d3LmZveHNwb3J0cy5jb20uYXUvcG1kL2ltYWdlcy8yMDE4LzA0LzEzLzY3NDcyOV82NDB4MzYwX2xhcmdlXzIwMTgwNDEzMjE1NDU4LmpwZ3wxMzQyMDE4MTQ=

Dufty ties Moylan in knots

The result now keeps the Dragons unbeaten after six games, while Shane Flanagan’s men will be licking their wounds after losing four key forwards in the game.

Co-captain Paul Gallen and Andrew Fifita — who started the game in blistering fashion — both succumbed to knee injuries in the first half, while Wade Graham (hamstring) and Luke Lewis (corked knee) went off in the second.

“We’ll know a lot more (Saturday) with scans,” Flanagan said post-game.

“They’re not looking real good at the moment, but I don’t want to speculate too much on how long they’ll be out for.”

LIVE stream every 2018 NRL Telstra Premiership game on FOX SPORTS. Get your free 2-week Foxtel Now trial & start watching in minutes. SIGN UP NOW >

MTM0MjAxODE0fGN4by5jfGh0dHBzOi8vY2RuLm5ld3NhcGkuY29tLmF1L2ltYWdlL3YxLzU3MzFjMzk1YjYzYTg5NGFmM2E0OGY0OTI2MGQ3MjUzfDEzNDIwMTgxNA==

Paul Gallen suffered a knee injury. Picture: Brett CostelloSource: News Corp Australia
The Sharks were gallant despite their setbacks and just as the Dragons looked to be running away with the game at 28-10, clawed their way back into the match to make the scoreline 28-20 with 20 minutes remaining.

But late tries to NSW Origin hopefuls Jack de Belin and Euan Aitken blew the visitors away and ensured six-straight wins for the Red V.

Back-to-back penalties in the opening minute saw the Dragons take a 2-0 lead via the boot of Gareth Widdop.

The Sharks looked to have scored their first try of the game in the eighth minute through Edrick Lee but bunker replays showed a Fifita knock-on in the lead-up.

The error proved costly because the Dragons had their first moments later when Dufty ran across field and put on the afterburners to score a stunning try.

When Dragons hooker Cameron McInnes was sin binned in the 15th minute the Sharks took full advantage when Fifita offloaded to Jayden Brailey who scored under the posts.

Fifita was in everything and when he snatched a short kick-off midway through the first half, the Sharks made it back-to-back tries when Lee went over in the corner.

Fifita continued to take the battle to the Dragobns sparked a scuffle with Frizell and cost a penalty with the Dragons kicking ahead 12-10.

McInnes redeemed himself shortly before the break when he made light work of some lazy Sharks defence to race away for a great individual effort.

The Dragons burst out of the blocks in the second half when Dufty carved up a broken Sharks defensive line to bag his second.

MTM0MjAxODE0fGN4by5jfGh0dHBzOi8vY2RuLm5ld3NhcGkuY29tLmF1L2ltYWdlL3YxLzRiMjcxODJlOTQwYzMyNjdjN2VmOGYyNDczZmFmNTQyfDEzNDIwMTgxNA==

Matthew Dufty was electric for the Dragons.Source: AAP
Paul Vaughan also added his name to the scoreboard in the 47th minute, before tries to Valentine Holmes and Leutele gave the Sharks a fighting chance.

The home side hit back in the 64th minute through de Belin who proved too strong close to the line before Aitken put the final nail in the coffin for the Sharks.

ST GEORGE ILLAWARRA 40 (M Dufty 2 E Aitken J De Belin C McInnes P Vaughan tries G Widdop 8 goals) bt CRONULLA 20 (J Brailey V Holmes E Lee R Leutele tries C Townsend 2 goals) at WIN Stadium. Referee: Gavin Badger, Ashley Klein. Crowd: 17,882.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...g/news-story/9679facff7870aec58a9ed8f3824732e

getsmarty

St George Illawarra Dragons defeat Cronulla Sharks 40-20
THE DRAGONS have shattered an NRL record with a shock sixth win in a row to kick off a historic 2018 season.

Scott Bailey
AAPApril 13, 201811:24pm

1e3f2612165538b6762ee72ebab0e73c

ST GEORGE Illawarra have become the first team in five years to go unbeaten through the first six rounds of a NRL season, adding insult to Cronulla’s horror Friday the 13th in Wollongong.

The Sharks’ 40-20 loss to their local rivals was only one concern, with Andrew Fifita and Paul Gallen both booked in for Saturday knee scans. Wade Graham (hamstring) and Luke Lewis (knee) also left the field with minor issues in the second half at WIN Stadium, cutting through their star-studded forward pack and leaving them with an empty bench by full-time. Against the odds, though, Cronulla fought back from a 28-10 deficit before giving the Dragons an almighty scare when Josh Dugan was denied a try that could have brought them back within two.

But, when Jack de Belin and Euan Aitken crossed late for the Dragons, the Sharks were consigned to their fourth loss in six games.

Young fullback Matt Dufty and hooker Cameron McInnes were sensational for the Dragons, while Gareth Widdop also booted four penalty goals. It marks the first time since Melbourne in 2013 that a team has gone through the opening six rounds undefeated, and just the eighth time in the NRL era. The Warriors have a chance to join them on 12 points on Saturday when they take on Brisbane in Auckland.

73bea56dba0ea8fd1c120e593f7dd475

The Sharks couldn’t keep up.Source:News Corp Australia

d769cab56b55974abcd2e6177efef2a6

6-0.Source:News Corp Australia

Easily the best attacking team of the opening rounds, the fleet-footed Dufty stepped his away across for two tries — including the Dragons’ opener where he used excellent footwork across both sides of the field before finding a gap. McInnes also scored from a long-range effort when he went 50 metres from dummy half, after he’d earlier been sin-binned for a professional foul. Paul Vaughan also crossed once for the Dragons, continuing to push his cause alongside de Belin for a NSW State of Origin debut.

There was plenty to like about the Sharks in attack, after coach Shane Flanagan moved during the week to make Matt Moylan his full-time fullback and Trent Hodkinson his No.6.

Hodkinson set up two tries in the loss, while Dugan and Valentine Holmes’ combination on the right edge looked dangerous after the NSW centre set up a four-pointer for his winger with a slick offload.

Fifita was also dominant with a first-half try-assist and four tackle busts before his night ended on crutches and with his left knee in a brace.

v2
http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/st...0/news-story/912018a794d2e2219211b19af1897897
v2