Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Andrew Fifita battles depression

how about we let the medical professionals diagnose that rather than assuming..

I wouldn?t rely on medical professionals diagnosing anything mental illness related, they are far to quick to diagnose mental conditions these days but that is another debate.

I don?t know the bloke personally so I have no idea if it is legit. If it is, good luck to him in his recovery.

I wouldn?t rely on medical professionals diagnosing anything mental illness related, they are far to quick to diagnose mental conditions these days but that is another debate.

I don?t know the bloke personally so I have no idea if it is legit. If it is, good luck to him in his recovery.

I reckon this about covers it.

There is no quicker way to lose your faith in humanity than a 'Player X diagnosed with depression/mental illness' thread.

fitting choice of words....

williams.jpeg

hester_wideweb__430x287.jpg

God-King Dean

So not only are you good at diagnosing depression in people you know nothing about apart from what you read, you're also good at diagnosing fake outrage?

You're wasting your talents on moderating a league forum.

What I find outrageous is you, and others, believing they know what goes on inside other people's heads based on the knowledge you have on what goes on inside yours.

I couldn't give a f**k if I'm found to be ignorant. I don't know Andrew Fifita, nor do you. I don't know Darius Boyd, nor do you. Therefore, it's far from you and I to judge what conditions are leading to the behaviours he's exhibiting.

1. I never said I was. I suggested the opposite, actually.
2. If you believe every person who claims a mental illness/drug addiction, after they have been in trouble with the law/their club, you are a moron.

exactly... paul was full of energy, hillarious and everything seemed okay on the surface...

people react to depression in all kinds of ways.. some go quiet and withdraw from everything..

some carry on as normal, saving the dark times for behind closed doors..

some people self medicate with drugs and alcohol..

and some people get angry and lash out..

and of course, after all of this baron sits back chuckling at trolling the forum again..

Yeah Boyd was so depressed he was sending happy snaps from Greece to his team mates, and Williams/Carey have both been well reported cases that sort treatment on numerous cases.

Not just when they were caught being wicked naughty boys.

grouch

2. If you believe every person who claims a mental illness/drug addiction, after they have been in trouble with the law/their club, you are a moron.
3. if you accuse every person who claims to have a mental illness it of faking it, you are a piece of shit

and of course, after all of this baron sits back chuckling at trolling the forum again..

Not trolling at all just sick of footballers, using this an excuse for playing up.

Completely disrespectfull to the people that legitimately do suffer from it.

Fifita's only problem is he can't handle his piss and he goes off his trolley after 1 too many.

exactly... paul was full of energy, hillarious and everything seemed okay on the surface...

people react to depression in all kinds of ways.. some go quiet and withdraw from everything..

some carry on as normal, saving the dark times for behind closed doors..

some people self medicate with drugs and alcohol..

and some people get angry and lash out..

I had a good mate who had tried it when he was about 20...before I knew him.
A chick helped him through it.
For the next 29 years he was the life of the party...first bloke to get on the dance floor ...he never seemed to age...not a grey hair on his head.
Chicks loved him.
His girl was by his side the entire time. They were perfect together.

About a week before his 50th he hung himself.

At his funeral his girl told how behind closed doors he was write off and that he'd tried to kill himself many times.
None of us had a clue.

Well then we're well off-base in communication, because I don't believe everyone. I don't claim to know either way. But I'm sure as shit not going to say 'ah I saw him laughing on the Footy Show with his brother, he's just a pisshead etc he hasn't got depression' because that's ignorant crap.

Oh and apparently according to someone else, Darius was smiling in Greece so he is faking it too.

For the next 29 years he was the life of the party...first bloke to get on the dance floor ...he never seemed to age...not a grey hair on his head.
Chicks loved him.

At his funeral his girl told how behind closed doors he was write off and that he'd tried to kill himself many times.
None of us had a clue.

that's awful mate... sorry to hear it..

and by that stage it's too late to intervene..

bottle

BVM has always been a low life scum bag. Only ever posts shit. Don't know why anyone would be the least bit surprised.
Exactly the sort of clown who would call into question a medical diagnosis and start a shit thread on it.
Filth.
Or should I say, his filth?

Regardless of it being a footballer or any of us (including BVM who is the classic example of depression) it is a terrible thing to live with. I hope those who do live with it find the coping skills to live a happy life.

Oh and BVM. See a doctor

TheViking

Chicks loved him.

None of us had a clue.

Horrible story mate. Sorry to hear. Hope he found peace.

God-King Dean

3. if you accuse every person who claims to have a mental illness it of faking it, you are a piece of shit

I agree.

It's not something to be mocked. It'd be truly awful, & it wasn't my intention to belittle it.

My only point was, people exploit it, so I don't think people should be lambasted for being skeptical.

Mr Spock!

My niece's kids - boy aged 17, girl aged 13 have been diagnosed with anxiety.

She now gets a carers pension for both and all sorts of free shit.

I've got 5 kids and I'm asking them if they feel anxious.