Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gus Gould

txta2

poor crowds, poor memberships, small fanbase, unwillingness to travel, average sponsorships.

yeah, they're a real blueprint for the tigers, titans and warriors to follow. :roll:

yeah but f**k knows how they are always on or near the top.
Could you imagine how strong the game would be if the Tigers, Sharks, Dragons, Sea Eagles, Eels, Raiders, Titans, Knights etc were doing what Penrith are now.
What are Penrith doing now? Sure they made the finals and had some youngsters burst onto the scene. Like a lot of other clubs in the past few years. ..Still, they have average crowds, an average stadium, average membership, and a tool as a five eight.

Gus has to many personal agendas and is to self opinionated to be a sports admin for the whole game.

AJB1102

I think Gus has said his goal at Penrith (among other things) is to make his job redundant.

He has done a fantastic job with Penrith and within an important Western Sydney market.

Nice Beaver

How did you lump manly in with that lot? Unless on field achievement means absolutely nothing?

Exactly!! :lol::lol:

Thanks all the same, but I'll take our club's administration and methods.

The most successful team of the past decade and one that's won a premiership every decade since the 70's needs help because we are drowning???

:lol: Has to be a troll.

Gus is doing a good job with Penrith but let's be honest here, if your club was going to use another's club's management as a blue print you'd probably go to Souths, the Dogs or Brisbane before you'd go to Penrith or Gus.

There's some clubs I don't think he'd go to anyway. Conflict of interest with his alliances to Penrith and the Chooks and all that.

It seems that Jamie Packer threw millions at Penrith after Gus went cap in hand to save the club. The Panthers brand was out and about buying up dysfunctional clubs all over NSW and now are paying the cost for these loss making establishments.

Gus used the big Packer bucks to get Cleary and the NZ followers to come to Penrith.

Jamie wants his money back, Gus is heading for the hills before the excrement hits the rotating blades. Not long left for the poor old Chocolate soldiers.

Penrith, Balmain and probably St George are, or will be, broke very soon now.

I can see some further merges or re locations taking place later this year:
Penrith, Wests and Parramatta to merge. Balmain to fold completely.
Canterbury and StGeorge to Merge or StGeorge possibly taken over by Cronulla, which is financially in the best position in the NRL and owns it's own ground.
Souths and Easts SHOULD merge, but Politis' money and influence will stop that.
Manly will go to Central Coast.
We'll see another team in Brisbane, Central Queensland and New Zealand.
The NRL will chuck a heap of money at junior development particularly to GPS schools and to NZ schools.

You heard it here first.
PS. I hope I get better than 3/10.

magpie4ever

So the head coach of the Panthers got belted by some bogan in a car park?

Sounds legit.

What Gould needs to do is use his unique position to promote the game, and not constantly call it boring, bag refs non stop and push stupid agendas like SBW for NSW.

I don't think he realizes how influential he is, especially with those less inclined to use there brain.

So Gould needs to promote a game of 5 hit ups, kick to the corners and wait for a mistake, big athletic non-footballers running at 7s and 6s for 15-20 minutes to be replaced by same, wrestling in almost every tackle, non-competitive scrums taking up to 40 seconds to pack.

Whilst I'm no Gussie fan at least he doesn't look at the game with rose-coloured glasses and does see some of the real issues.

AJB1102

It seems that Jamie Packer threw millions at Penrith after Gus went cap in hand to save the club. The Panthers brand was out and about buying up dysfunctional clubs all over NSW and now are paying the cost for these loss making establishments.

Gus used the big Packer bucks to get Cleary and the NZ followers to come to Penrith.

Jamie wants his money back, Gus is heading for the hills before the excrement hits the rotating blades. Not long left for the poor old Chocolate soldiers.

Canterbury and StGeorge to Merge or StGeorge possibly taken over by Cronulla, which is financially in the best position in the NRL and owns it's own ground.
The NRL will chuck a heap of money at junior development particularly to GPS schools and to NZ schools.

You heard it here first.

Who the fake let oikee have to faking accounts!?1?

Big Pete

The organisation has to want to change. That would have been the same Cowboys board who rejected Wayne Bennett coming to coach them.

Cowboys were more than willing to change. In fact if memory serves, they had gone through some administrative changes which is why they were looking to bring Gould in a as a consultant.

Gould helped them perform a season review, saw what they were dealing with and washed his hands of them. Told them he couldn't help them from Sydney.

A wise move from Gussy but also shows me that like all of us, he has his limitations.

As for Bennett, the only reason he didn't sign with the Cowboys is because of Tallis. Big Gordie had it out for Bennett because he wanted to retire after his neck injury but Bennett convinced him to play on until 2004. After that, Bennett distanced himself from Gordie to concentrate on footy and the Raging Bull felt used.

Unfortunately the Cowboys felt the brunt of it.

Dr Crane

poor crowds, poor memberships, small fanbase, unwillingness to travel, average sponsorships.

yeah, they're a real blueprint for the tigers, titans and warriors to follow. :roll:

the f**k are you on about, genius?

Canard

So Gould needs to promote a game of 5 hit ups, kick to the corners and wait for a mistake, big athletic non-footballers running at 7s and 6s for 15-20 minutes to be replaced by same, wrestling in almost every tackle, non-competitive scrums taking up to 40 seconds to pack.

Whilst I'm no Gussie fan at least he doesn't look at the game with rose-coloured glasses and does see some of the real issues.

He needs to promote the game as a whole, you know actually say something positive about it.

If he doesn't like teams playing style, including his own, do stuff behind the scenes to change. He has more power to do so then anyone. Talking down the game to the world isn't the answer.

I don't find Inglis, Johnson, Thurston boring at all.

There is LITERALLY not one media person that looks at League through rose colored glasses. So to make out that Gould is some lone warrior is laughable. He is just part of the chorus who constantly talks shit about the game.

As for the OP, so Gus is the only person in history to have turned around a clubs fortunes?

Noname36

What are Penrith doing now? Sure they made the finals and had some youngsters burst onto the scene. Like a lot of other clubs in the past few years. ..Still, they have average crowds, an average stadium, average membership, and a tool as a five eight.

Gus has to many personal agendas and is to self opinionated to be a sports admin for the whole game.

While true you need to look at where they are now in comparison to where they've come from. If I recall pre Gus Penrith was a mess. They had no money and were getting in more and more strife due to a poorly managed salary cap. I can't remember really any decent juniors coming through other than Jennings which is terrible when you look at their catchment area. They've also turned it around on the field. I used to love it when my side played Penrith because they'd capitulate so easily. Now they have structures in place where they don't rely too much on one player and can still win even with a few injuries.

While I certainly agree that they're still not the envy of the league and if my side was going to use a club as a blue print it wouldn't be them...Gus (and Cleary) still needs a lot of credit for where he's got them considering where they were.

POPEYE

Think I might have to change a pad, could have broken a rib as well, falling down laughing is not good for an old fella. If Gould had of been CEO of Melbourne when Bellamy was producing the Big 5 he wouldn't have had to poach anyone, he most certainly would have known how to create legitimate records . . . the joke is Waldron and Gould threads within a prick's length of each other

pHyR3

You heard it here first.

haha jeez youre an idiot

you realise if (and probably when) balmain folds nothing would change.

the NRL or someone else, maybe the magpies would just buy that other half. The NRL will only allow the Wests Tigers to compete in the comp, theyre not gonna allow the magpies back in.

in any case balmain wont fold this year, they just took out a loan for 2 million from the NRL which expires in 2016.

why on earth would penrith merge or fold :lol::lol::lol:

must be oikee or BM's 2nd account.

haha jeez youre an idiot

you realise if (and probably when) balmain folds nothing would change.

the NRL or someone else, maybe the magpies would just buy that other half. The NRL will only allow the Wests Tigers to compete in the comp, theyre not gonna allow the magpies back in.

in any case balmain wont fold this year, they just took out a loan for 2 million from the NRL which expires in 2016.

why on earth would penrith merge or fold :lol::lol::lol:

must be oikee or BM's 2nd account.

I'm at two minds whether to reply to grammar deprived people who lack basic comprehension skills.

That means:Read what I wrote. Then if you understand it and have an intelligent response, please post it.

thorson1987

A mate of mine knocked out Mike Tyson AND Lennox Lewis in the Corowa RSL car park once.

tmpucONJP.jpg

pHyR3

I'm at two minds whether to reply to grammar deprived people who lack basic comprehension skills.

That means:Read what I wrote. Then if you understand it and have an intelligent response, please post it.

grammar and comprehension are two different things :lol:

'Penrith, Balmain and probably St George are, or will be, broke very soon now.'

'Manly will go to Central Coast.'

none of this stuff will happen this year, as usual you're talking out your ass.

grammar and comprehension are two different things :lol:

'Penrith, Balmain and probably St George are, or will be, broke very soon now.'

'Manly will go to Central Coast.'

none of this stuff will happen this year, as usual you're talking out your ass.

Thank you that was a very gracious reply.

Well I see you do not agree with the timing, do you agree with the substance? I note you do not comment on the Easts/Souths situation, nor did you offer comment on the Central Queensland or New Zealand potential teams.

I'm interested to know your thoughts.