Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Well I reckon those guys are the best attackers:

Who do you reckon are the best attacking 9s?
I said "most of" the best attackers, not all of them. And later in the post I referenced the "top all round hookers". I assumed you would have known I was talking about all the big money hookers previously listed.

Instead you assumed I think that the biggest name hookers in the game are poor defenders. You are clearly a poor judge of intelligence. Makes me wonder what else you judge poorly.

Noise

I said "most of" the best attackers, not all of them. And later in the post I referenced the best all round hookers. I assumed you would have known I was talking about all the big money hookers previously listed.

Well who are the best attacking hookers (besides those I mentioned)? And how does their defence compare to IDG?

I would be looking at Kurt Baptiste at hooker and Kato Ottio from the Raiders. I also wouldn't be too upset with Sam Williams. His defense isn't strong but he has a decent kicking game.

Still wouldn't be too upset with Norman and Gutherson in the halves either.

I would be looking at Kurt Baptiste at hooker and Kato Ottio from the Raiders. I also wouldn't be too upset with Sam Williams. His defense isn't strong but he has a decent kicking game.

Still wouldn't be too upset with Norman and Gutherson in the halves either.

Baptiste is honestly no better than what we have IMO. Williams is gash

Ottio is interesting. He could be anything, but he seems happy playing NSW cup

Noise

He has more tries and line breaks than IDG in less minutes and less games. They are also better than Pritchard's. His missed tackle rate is comparable too.

Baptiste has been a good foil for Hodgson at the Raiders and would be getting more time at other clubs. If we must play with two hookers in the 17 he at least adds attacking spark around the ruck.

As for halves I don't think there are many out there but I still expect some movement once the season ends. It's either a player that hasn't played a great deal of first grade or Benji unless someone becomes available.

Ottio should be playing first grade but unlikely to play at the Raiders with Rapana and Lee playing good football. Just needs a chance.

He has more tries and line breaks than IDG in less minutes and less games. They are also better than Pritchard's. His missed tackle rate is comparable too.

A lot of that is down to the side he's playing in, and the fact that he comes on after Hodgson has got the forwards onto the front foot. Like I said, you could swap him in that Raiders side with Clydesdale and lose nothing. He's ok, but if he was worthy of a starting spot he'd have one at the age of 25 after 5 years in grade.

Obscene Assassin

Maybe that's part of his problem. He's not big enough or strong enough to do that. Not to say anything against Kaysa, he clearly puts in, but durability is a big part of toughness IMO. And I say that as a man who had more injuries than Andrew Johns when I played footy.

Shit, I blew every ligament in my ankle playing cricket FFS.

It isn't part of the problem, it is the problem. If only Kaysa was a little bit softer he'd be on the field more often.

phantom eel

So why does IDG start and play he majority of mins then??? makes no sense if Kaysa is the chosen one going forward.
Because Kaysa's not up to it yet.

Refer to the club's IDG announcement, where it basically says he will continue to mentor Kaysa. I suspect Kaysa will start getting more minutes at dummy half when IDG is off the field next year, with a view to Kaysa becoming starting hooker for 2018 season (when IDG can be bench relief/injury back-up).

As long as he doesn't sign another guy like Watmough for 4 years, a headcase like Foran and make him captain, an outside back on huge money like Jennings, release a potential origin player from our spine and an old bloke who has no attacking spark as our hooker we should be sweet.
Foran's off field issues never hurt his footy before. Watmough ended up costing f**k all under the cap, and we don't know how much Jennings is on. He is probably on overs, but he has massively improved our left side defence.

As for De Gois, I'm sure he's cheap enough that he won't stop us picking up a better hooker if one comes available.

So you think we're planning to build a team around French, Norman and Pritchard m
We are quite obviously building around Corey Norman and our defence. Arthur likes edge players who can use the ball, so that takes pressure off the spine players to create. The main problem with our attack is lack of middle forwards who can f**k up defensive lines. But rumour has it we are addressing this.

Well who are the best attacking hookers (besides those I mentioned)?
Of the ones you mentioned I don't actually rate Ennis as one of the best dummy halves. Smith, Hodgson, Farah and Granville are all up there though, along with Segeyaro, Luke, Koroisau and Friend. After that the best dummy halves will be running around in reserve grade (e.g. Cameron King) or the ESL (Segeyaro already mentioned).

And how does their defence compare to IDG?
He works harder than Smith and Farah (but misses a lot more than both), a lot harder than Hodgson (and misses less), harder than Granville, a lot harder than Segeyaro (and misses less), a lot harder than Luke, and he works harder than Koroisau and misses heaps less tackles than him. Jake Friend is a better hooker in every way.

Because Kaysa's not up to it yet.

Refer to the club's IDG announcement, where it basically says he will continue to mentor Kaysa. I suspect Kaysa will start getting more minutes at dummy half when IDG is off the field next year, with a view to Kaysa becoming starting hooker for 2018 season (when IDG can be bench relief/injury back-up).
I seriously doubt he will ever be up to it then. You can't be much chop if IDG is preferred ahead of you.