I don't think there's anything wrong with our right side defence that will be fixed by a tactical change. It all comes down to personnel.
Also, think about this: Corey Norman comes back and gets used to Moses' style of play (and vice versa); Bevan French (hopefully) becomes fully fit and gets back to his best attacking form. Moses combines with Gutherson on the right. Bevan gets combinations going with Norman and/or Moses. suddenly we're scoring more points, getting more possession and dominating teams more. Our defence is less of a concern. Besides, Gutherson (at right centre) is a very good defender and has a good footy brain. In short, I don't think our right-side defence is a problem that requires drastic action. As Pou said - it's a matter of personnel at the moment.
I don't just think it's our team. I reckon most teams would leak more points on their right side seeing as though most players prefer to pass right to left therefor attacking to their left (the defence's right) more often.
Now before you all say players, Id like to add something.
Is it the style of defence that BA is getting the boys to play ie pushing in. or is it the players who are struggling in defence?
The left is solid but even Jennings and Semi get caught out occasionally. On the right we have struggled for years and I think the only solid D was when Guth and Taka were on that side.
On friday, all it took was a quick winger and a good kick to find us out twice. I cant see this going unnoticed by other coaches.
So does BA need to look at the style of D he's playing or is it something the players are doing wrong?
Id be interested in your thoughts.
This. I know he didn't want us to say 'personnel' but that's the reality.I don't think there's anything wrong with our right side defence that will be fixed by a tactical change. It all comes down to personnel.
Good point Noise.I don't just think it's our team. I reckon most teams would leak more points on their right side seeing as though most players prefer to pass right to left therefor attacking to their left (the defence's right) more often.
Sorry mate. I'll be sure to respond to any of your future questions more seriously. I hope I didn't make you too angry.I didnt mean i was interested in which way you swung and who you batted for.
I did mean that I was interested in thoughts on the question asked.
Im guessing Gary that you are here more as the court jester, thats cool.
I'd rather talk about the wrestling.
Wish we had a thread for that.
Is that a serious apology Gary or are you just being a jester again?Sorry mate. I'll be sure to respond to any of your future questions more seriously. I hope I didn't make you too angry.
I am taking his concerns very seriously.Is that a serious apology Gary or are you just being a jester again?
Who knows? Sarcasm has destroyed this forum.Is that a serious apology Gary or are you just being a jester again?
In all seriousness, I reckon the defensive problem can be summed up with two words:
Kirisome Auva'a.
Who knows? Sarcasm has destroyed this forum.
Go ahead...I disagree, I think it can only be summed up with an interpretive dance.