Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What is wrong with our Right Side defence?

Imo, we are being targeted because Auva'a is slow to turn, as is Hoffman.

It's something that can definitely be improved with practice.

lingard

Also, think about this: Corey Norman comes back and gets used to Moses' style of play (and vice versa); Bevan French (hopefully) becomes fully fit and gets back to his best attacking form. Moses combines with Gutherson on the right. Bevan gets combinations going with Norman and/or Moses. suddenly we're scoring more points, getting more possession and dominating teams more. Our defence is less of a concern. Besides, Gutherson (at right centre) is a very good defender and has a good footy brain. In short, I don't think our right-side defence is a problem that requires drastic action. As Pou said - it's a matter of personnel at the moment.

Noise

I don't just think it's our team. I reckon most teams would leak more points on their right side seeing as though most players prefer to pass right to left therefor attacking to their left (the defence's right) more often.

Meinoz

Also, think about this: Corey Norman comes back and gets used to Moses' style of play (and vice versa); Bevan French (hopefully) becomes fully fit and gets back to his best attacking form. Moses combines with Gutherson on the right. Bevan gets combinations going with Norman and/or Moses. suddenly we're scoring more points, getting more possession and dominating teams more. Our defence is less of a concern. Besides, Gutherson (at right centre) is a very good defender and has a good footy brain. In short, I don't think our right-side defence is a problem that requires drastic action. As Pou said - it's a matter of personnel at the moment.

Agree, I believe Guth will tighten up defence on the right but I disagree with your belief that with more attack our defence is of less concern. I think all of the best teams have been built on defence first and attack second.

Meinoz

I don't just think it's our team. I reckon most teams would leak more points on their right side seeing as though most players prefer to pass right to left therefor attacking to their left (the defence's right) more often.

With Canberra the comps best combo is down the right side ie left defence, but you are probably right that most teams pass better right to left.

The issue on Friday was more about the overlap out wide that was exploited by an ultra quick winger in AJ.

emjaycee

Now before you all say players, Id like to add something.

Is it the style of defence that BA is getting the boys to play ie pushing in. or is it the players who are struggling in defence?

The left is solid but even Jennings and Semi get caught out occasionally. On the right we have struggled for years and I think the only solid D was when Guth and Taka were on that side.

On friday, all it took was a quick winger and a good kick to find us out twice. I cant see this going unnoticed by other coaches.

So does BA need to look at the style of D he's playing or is it something the players are doing wrong?

Id be interested in your thoughts.

Personally, I don't think Friday night showed up any specific weakness in our RHS defence, at least nothing that would have BA overly worried about structure etc.
Johnston scored from a break he made back near the halfway line and while any break made is a concern, he is a class player who should be expected to make 1 or 2 tackle/line breaks per game. This was in the 73rd minute of a game we had a 16 point lead in at the time. Not ideal, but not time to panic.
The no-try try in the 80th minute was from a kick on the second tackle with seconds left on the clock. Our outside backs were still in the line (and should have been) and it was just Johnston's pace (and the bunker's lack of spine) that got them points.

I don't think either try was the result of a bad BA tactic or the player(s) doing something wrong - I think you are looking for problems that didn't exist on Friday night.

Good point Noise.

I didnt mean i was interested in which way you swung and who you batted for.

I did mean that I was interested in thoughts on the question asked.

Im guessing Gary that you are here more as the court jester, thats cool.
Sorry mate. I'll be sure to respond to any of your future questions more seriously. I hope I didn't make you too angry.

T.S Quint

In all seriousness, I reckon the defensive problem can be summed up with two words:

Kirisome Auva'a.