Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured and Confirmed signings - Part 4

Whino

Blade23

Good luck to the bloke. Glad it's over.

Still don't get why people are so willing to defend a bloke who was supposed to captain our club but clearly didn't give a shit about the club at all... each to their own.

He was a lousy captain and it was a big mistake to make him captain. He never grew into the role or grew up as people hoped he would.
Plenty of people are blaming Gus for his departure. But the people I have spoken to at the club insist they wanted Moylan to stay, but Moylan was the one who wanted to out. He was the one that lied to his mates that he was staying.
Gould was trying to salvage the situation by placing a transfer fee on him to scare away the vultures and hopefully work through his mental problems and have a working relationship with Griffin.
End of the day he still wanted out and probably would have gone sometime next year.
Best to move him on now and get someone in like Maloney while we can.
Its a shame to lose a talent junior but I would rather have people here that want to be here.

mxlegend99

Good luck to the bloke. Glad it's over.

Still don't get why people are so willing to defend a bloke who was supposed to captain our club but clearly didn't give a shit about the club at all... each to their own.
Why are people so happy to defend Gould when he doesnt give a shit about the club or its fans?

At the end of the day he's the one making players not want to be here. They all seem pretty happy once they leave. Yet apparently the players are all the ones with attitude problems.

Not saying the players are perfect. But clearly Gus has issues at dealing with these players too. If he were half as good as he thought he was, maybe we could resolve the issues. Not just punt them to another club where the issues seem to vanish.

lsta5838

That jersey looks so wrong, but good to see a smile on his face.

So many 'what if's' from me. What if we didn't appoint him as captain when he was so young? What if we stood him down as captain after the Melbourne issue?

Would have loved to see him firing for us in 2018, but it is done now.

martielang

Why are people so happy to defend Gould when he doesnt give a shit about the club or its fans?

At the end of the day he's the one making players not want to be here. They all seem pretty happy once they leave. Yet apparently the players are all the ones with attitude problems.

Not saying the players are perfect. But clearly Gus has issues at dealing with these players too. If he were half as good as he thought he was, maybe we could resolve the issues. Not just punt them to another club where the issues seem to vanish.

If Gus' ego is as big as you make it out to be, why the hell wouldn't he want this club to succeed? Essentially his whole legacy is on the line. It makes ZERO sense for him not to give a shit about the club or it's fans, so of course he does.

It was Moylans decision to go. Plain & simple. We tried to keep him, he wanted out. Gus was good enough to get a representative half out of it not sure how this is his fault at all.

BxTom

He was a lousy captain and it was a big mistake to make him captain. He never grew into the role or grew up as people hoped he would.
Plenty of people are blaming Gus for his departure. But the people I have spoken to at the club insist they wanted Moylan to stay, but Moylan was the one who wanted to out. He was the one that lied to his mates that he was staying.
Gould was trying to salvage the situation by placing a transfer fee on him to scare away the vultures and hopefully work through his mental problems and have a working relationship with Griffin.
End of the day he still wanted out and probably would have gone sometime next year.
Best to move him on now and get someone in like Maloney while we can.
Its a shame to lose a talent junior but I would rather have people here that want to be here.

Of course the club wanted him to stay. They bent over backwards allowing him to sit out the finals just so he could have a hizzy fit. They were using him as the face of our marketing and placed a transfer fee on him trying to make him stay. Moylan may have been skillful and talented, but he's not what most would call a good player. Lied to his team mates about staying, let the fans down by sitting out the finals just because he thought he is above being disciplined for going out on the grog. He's going to be in for shock at other NRL clubs (except for Easts where being a drunk seems to be the main way in). Won't surprise me to see him at East sooner rather than later.

With discipline, he may have been a great player, but I don't think he will ever have the discipline to attain greatness. I agree with Michael Slater (http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/cr...e/news-story/115e64f3d762c04ada252a881225cda1)

Discipline and team harmony wise, I think we will be way ahead with Maloney.

Tom.

mxlegend99

If Gus' ego is as big as you make it out to be, why the hell wouldn't he want this club to succeed? Essentially his whole legacy is on the line. It makes ZERO sense for him not to give a shit about the club or it's fans, so of course he does.

It was Moylans decision to go. Plain & simple. We tried to keep him, he wanted out. Gus was good enough to get a representative half out of it not sure how this is his fault at all.
Gus can't make our best players happy, you still give him a f**king wrap for it.

Why not give Sharks a wrap for making Lewis, Graham and now Moylan happy? They all had attitude issues while here, yet the Sharks have somehow magically made them all happy.

There's no doubting Gus has a huge ego. He sacks Cleary stating he looks tired. Appoints his replacement without interviewing anyone or considering the coaches we already had here. He then goes and extends Hooks contract in the middle of it despite there being no interest from other clubs. He refuses to even consider there is any chance he is ever wrong.

Just look at the quality of players that have left contracts early since Gus has been here. Yet every single time the player is blamed and Gus is talked up as some sort of f**king genius for it. Those players tend to go on to enjoy more success than we do. Obviously not every single one of them. But a great deal of them do.

Kilkenny

Gus can't make our best players happy, you still give him a f**king wrap for it.

Why not give Sharks a wrap for making Lewis, Graham and now Moylan happy? They all had attitude issues while here, yet the Sharks have somehow magically made them all happy.

There's no doubting Gus has a huge ego. He sacks Cleary stating he looks tired. Appoints his replacement without interviewing anyone or considering the coaches we already had here. He then goes and extends Hooks contract in the middle of it despite there being no interest from other clubs. He refuses to even consider there is any chance he is ever wrong.

Just look at the quality of players that have left contracts early since Gus has been here. Yet every single time the player is blamed and Gus is talked up as some sort of f**king genius for it. Those players tend to go on to enjoy more success than we do. Obviously not every single one of them. But a great deal of them do.

Other than Matt Moylan who are these quality players released early from there contracts you refer to;

Luke Lewis by his own admissions needed a fresh change and no one begruded him that;
Elijah Taylor no longer guaranteed a first team spot so pursued better opportunity elsewhere;
Api Korisau had a two year deal, played one and received an offer too good to refuse from Manly;
James Segeyaro had one great season otherwise his release has been proven to be good decision;
Chris Grevsmuhl/James Roberts both attitude and personal issues
Jamal Idris sought a release from his contract to deal with personal issues
Jamie Soward no issues there he was struggling and his release was mutual
Mitch Rein sought a release to pursue opportunities elsewhere
TMM was the victim of malicious gossip and clearly our coach didn't rate him as a must keep
Peta Hiku was not automatic selection and pursued more money in the UK.

You may have a valid point in respect of the dismissal of Ivan Cleary and appointment of Anthony Griffin but when it comes to allowing players to leave, moving them on or just plain getting rid of them you are just plain wrong.

OldPanther

Other than Matt Moylan who are these quality players released early from there contracts you refer to;

Luke Lewis by his own admissions needed a fresh change and no one begruded him that;
Elijah Taylor no longer guaranteed a first team spot so pursued better opportunity elsewhere;
Api Korisau had a two year deal, played one and received an offer too good to refuse from Manly;
James Segeyaro had one great season otherwise his release has been proven to be good decision;
TMM was the victim of malicious gossip and clearly our coach didn't rate him as a must keep

You may have a valid point in respect of the dismissal of Ivan Cleary and appointment of Anthony Griffin but when it comes to allowing players to leave, moving them on or just plain getting rid of them you are just plain wrong.

I think you are correct about that list so why is it happening here. Seems insane compared to other clubs.

Kilkenny

I think you are correct about that list so why is it happening here. Seems insane compared to other clubs.

It's cap management, it's player's knowing they are unlikely to be offered new deals so there manager's line up alternatives; it's about regular first team footy, it's lot's of factor's and while I don't follow closely what other team's do players being released early is commonplace at all clubs. It's the way business is done. Gould is well known and highly respected for those knowledgeable people in the game
for doing what is best for the person/player.

The Gus hater's will continue to complain long and loud regardless of what he does and nothing is going to change those individuals view. So be it.

Pomoz

Gus doesn't give a shit? That is a ridiculous thing to say about a man who has captained our team, coached it to a premiership and returned to help rebuild the club. He has made mistakes and he isn't the messiah, but it is obvious he cares greatly about the club.

EDIT: I won't dispute he has an ego. You need that and a thick skin to be in the public eye.

mxlegend99

Thats a load of half truths and/or poor decisions. When you have 2x NRL quality players in a position and lose both with 6 to 12 months you're doing something wrong.

Letting Segeyaro go would have been fine... had we not let Korisau go mid contract.

Likewise TMM and Moylan. We released our backup half despite the player we were backing being a gamble (both in a new position and apparently unhappy)

Theres a lot more players than the ones you named. Not all are losses. But between the likes of Coote, Jennings, Grant, Civoniceva, Burns, Walsh, K Naiqama etc. We have had a high turnover from the second Gus arrived.

Some were guys he was stuck with. Then you have rushed decisions to sign players like Burns and Walsh to new contracts, bringing players like Kev Naiqama, Api Korisau etc. In and then changing his mind on these players well and truly before their contracts end.

Getting rid of some players was a good move... but when we have pushed out this many players theres deadset something wrong.

Im not saying the players had no fault in this. But deadset look at all the players released early since Gus arrived and tell me he hasn't got some sort of issue with managing players aswell. Again.. the players arent all innovent here. But so many people here are refusing to accept Gus holds asny responsibility at all for it.

They defend everything he does including lying to us.

betcats

Successful organisations don’t leak talent like we do, they retain talent, like wtf I’d going on at Penrith? Not only do we lose talent they all go on to better things, watch the titans carve us up next season and sharks always do. f**k Moylan and f**k Gould, if you think Gus’ management has been good these last couple years your kidding yourself imo, he’s making it up as he goes along, he seems to spend more time bagging premiership winning teams than he does planning for the panthers, f**k him off we don’t need Gould anymore, he’s big fat ego driven distraction who’d rather do his mate a favour(at the clubs expense) than do due diligence like a real manager should. Seriously get rid of him and the dud coach he saddled is with, sooner the better.

Royce is King

MX.... Who the F##k are you to come out and say that Gould doesnt give a shit about the club? . That is the most ignorant thing i reckon ive seen on here. Honestly makes you look dumb.

franklin2323

Thats a load of half truths and/or poor decisions. When you have 2x NRL quality players in a position and lose both with 6 to 12 months you're doing something wrong.

Letting Segeyaro go would have been fine... had we not let Korisau go mid contract.

Likewise TMM and Moylan. We released our backup half despite the player we were backing being a gamble (both in a new position and apparently unhappy)

Theres a lot more players than the ones you named. Not all are losses. But between the likes of Coote, Jennings, Grant, Civoniceva, Burns, Walsh, K Naiqama etc. We have had a high turnover from the second Gus arrived.

Some were guys he was stuck with. Then you have rushed decisions to sign players like Burns and Walsh to new contracts, bringing players like Kev Naiqama, Api Korisau etc. In and then changing his mind on these players well and truly before their contracts end.

Getting rid of some players was a good move... but when we have pushed out this many players theres deadset something wrong.

Im not saying the players had no fault in this. But deadset look at all the players released early since Gus arrived and tell me he hasn't got some sort of issue with managing players aswell. Again.. the players arent all innovent here. But so many people here are refusing to accept Gus holds asny responsibility at all for it.

They defend everything he does including lying to us.

Do you think the club wanted to have to go change the marketing promo? Why would they put Moylan on there if they didn't want him to stay?
On top of that how many coaches come to have lunch with Gus to get a player?

Not everything is black and white. Gus shouldn't of said he was staying until he actually was. What sort of a captain goes on leave during the finals? So clearly he wanted out