Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parra v Manly LIVE game day thread, March 18, 2018

Has anybody ever played a game in 38 degrees and then won a premiership? I'm not a stats guy but I'm going to say no...

Mate, every cricket team ever has played a game in 38 degrees and won a premiership...

Be more careful with your made up stats FFS

Manly didn't score a try more than 5 metres out. Outmuscled and out enthused .
Size matters in the heat and we dont have players that generate metres from the collision.
Starting your best 2 defenders on the bench didn't work. Alvaro, Tepai and Will Smith were our best performers. Moses at least was enthusiastic which is a whole lot more than some of them.
Auv'a drop on the first at 12-0 was crucial
Think we will be better when there is more movement as the temp cools, but today was a major step back, if BA doesn't acknowledge that in the presser then we are in for a long season.
If Brown’s not going to play 80 he might be better off starting on the bench for impact. He offers more off the bench than Moeroa.

Noise

We had 33% of ball. And it was 38 degrees. Explains 54-0

We had 33% of the ball because we are Illdisciplined and are still a very dumb football team.

We gave away a penalty (Kane Evans I believe)!after our 6th tackle kick on the first set of the game. It wasn’t even an attacking kick. The idiot was just in front of the kicker and didn’t give the fullback 10m That is just dumb. Then after they had the ball for a few sets the very first tackle we drop the ball from the scrum win.

Eelogical

We had 33% of ball. And it was 38 degrees. Explains 54-0
Massive 40-20 by Manly, punted over the sideline with the ball on several occasions, astute in-goal kicks by Manly to earn extra sets, bland attack in the Manly 20, ill discipline by Moses, inability to come back from adversity. They were dead set shot after 20. The only respite was half time where we didn't leak points. I'm not being a death rider, I love Parra like any other fan. Just calling it as I saw it.

You flip and flop so much that of course you will admit to being right about a bunch of previous coaches. What you won't admit is that you also wanted to intermittently boof them and/or marry them as well.

I remember all of the pantomime with Kearney, Hagan and Stuart. I also remember some people expressing reservations before the likes of Stuart had even started but they aren't bragging about it now.

I don't think your opinion is particularly radical. I'm just highlighting that you aren't very measured in your assessment of the ability of coaches. I get it though mate. You are frustrated and want to see us f**ken win something!

That's why we need measured heads like Max and Bernie in charge of the club so that we avoid going back to the days of a revolving door of coaches.

Who is this ? What have you done f**ktrard Gary? I want his shit jokes back ASAP

I almost pass out carrying a ladder around when its that hot.

Its simple we had 31% of ball. Dce had a blinder and the trib brother are 2 of best in game.
Only one of their forwards made more then 15 tackles. Matagi was pur lowest with 15. Alvaro 45, Brown 39,Evans 35. The rest mid to high 20s.
Forwards win matches, our where gassed but the halves didnt help. They didnt control the game like Dce did.

Im not sold on Norman. When going gets tough he isnt composed and lacks leadership. Moses atleast puts in but also seems to go for the flahsy plays.
Pearce would of been a great signing to partner Moses, they would compliment each other better. Unsure if Norman and Moses are game managers.

This reminds me of last year's round 10 loss to the Rooster... only worse.

Was thinking the same thing we got smashed against the roosters but it wasn’t this embarrassing.

I really don’t know how BA will repair this. You can lose a game and have things that you can work on and rectify for next week. But then you get a loss like today and it exposes everything that’s wrong and we have serious issues with our game that can’t be fixed over night.

I reckon people are forgetting the main ingredient to this shallacking. A 3rd party.
We went toe to toe with Penrith last week. There rampaging forwards took it out of us. Atleast today we didnt use heaps of energy.

Eelogical

I reckon people are forgetting the main ingredient to this shallacking. A 3rd party.
We went toe to toe with Penrith last week. There rampaging forwards took it out of us. Atleast today we didnt use heaps of energy.
Moses should be fresh for the Sharks game.

Anyhows I am 2 from 2 predicting eels games. Ive tipped them to beat sharks but gee im not mr 100% So the chances of me being wrong are now higher.

Tiger beat the 2 faves from comp. And did it without there starting 5/8. They also where tipped my many to be wooden spooners
Credit to their effort. I think it was an amazing effort.

Can someone explain to me how tigers had 64% of ball but tackle count was simmilar. Its confusing me