Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured and Confirmed signings - Part 4

MugaB

On Parramatta, they do stay active in the market. They've got a terrible history making an inordinate amount of poor signings but at least they give it a go.

It is one thing we need to focus on again as Hindy said.
Hindy is a fat loser, and a flopper, that eats mint slices all day, and wastes all his money on the queen of the nile.
We don't need advice from pawwadontmatta geniuss, ask them how many wooden spoons they have, the highest in the current teams =14.
3 of them in the past 7 seasons.
Here's a fact, these specials got the wooden spoon the first they started 1947, a number they wear on back of their jersey. another fact, 1908 Cumberland was the team in the area parramatta is now, also wooden spooners the 1st year ever in ARL.
They might be all finals happy now, but after they choke, they'll be collecting more spoons, hopefully if the tigers can finally get their sh!t together in the near future, they can own western sydney, enough that we won't need another team at bankwest

martielang

Well Franklin must be right, we must have some cash to spend.

Twal has a big motor but our whole forward pack has a big motor*, not sure he brings much more than what we have.

Whare to Morris seems a very sideways move. I still think Whare has a lot to offer for us, especially mentoring the kids coming through with their defensive positioning etc.

*when trained adequately.

MugaB

Its not just Penrith
Plenty of players need a change or get stale. Your club issue is too many juniors. Makes the guys feel like they are just competing with guys they know and are better then so positions are safe.
Clubs like Parra for example are always looking and active. It would keep current player in squad on toes.
You also need a cult hero. When was the last one? Eels had Hindmarsh Hayne ,Moi Moi then Semi and now its Gutho and more so of late SIVO.
Someone the young fans wants to cheer for. Not the best player in team but a cult hero. I reckon Penrith fail in this department and have so since Rhys Wesser or Boom Boom Becket.
Need marketable and fan favourites guys that make crowd cheer and fire team up.
Mate good luck with RCG, he'll be your new favourite

franklin2323

Well Franklin must be right, we must have some cash to spend.

Twal has a big motor but our whole forward pack has a big motor*, not sure he brings much more than what we have.

Whare to Morris seems a very sideways move. I still think Whare has a lot to offer for us, especially mentoring the kids coming through with their defensive positioning etc.

*when trained adequately.

I heard $2m to spend. Not sure if that was before or after Api.

Luke Bowden

With Gillett and JWH on it yep. 5 players to recruit ( 1 down with Api)

None on it are great players individually but all would do a job as a squad for us

Any of the players mentioned improve our squad, in my opinion.

I’m happy with any of them. Good Times.

franklin2323

Still find it odd we’d be considering Matterson, we have so many back rowers.

Kikau is the only one that is established though.

JFH and Yeo are middles now
Martin was a lock or prop. Maybe is a backrower but needs time to read plays in defence
Burns 2 games in.
Blore yet to make his debut
Jed 1 game off the bench.

Kikau is the only one that is established though.

JFH and Yeo are middles now
Martin was a lock or prop. Maybe is a backrower but needs time to read plays in defence
Burns 2 games in.
Blore yet to make his debut
Jed 1 game off the bench.

It’s about priorities

What’s more needed, another back rower or a prop, centre & winger? He’ll cost a significant amount of money which means we can’t address more important issues.

But this is Ivan Cleary we’re talking about, he’d probably play 17 back rowers if he could.

MugaB

It’s about needs.

What’s more needed, another back rower or a prop, centre & winger? He’ll cost a significant amount of money which means we can’t address more important issues.

But this is Ivan Cleary we’re talking about, he’d probably play 17 back rowers if he could.
Ivans got a good eye.
Ryan matterson was signed for the tigers prior to Ivan switching clubs,
Michael Chee Kam is a unique find, a great super sub, and Mansour possibly playing 2nd row, gives us a option when injuries occur during mid game,

Personally too many cooks in the kitchen, in regards to that list from peter lang on possible signings
Only 3 are nessesary,
1.Matt Gillett, no.15 off the bench
2.JWH, no.8 at prop
3. Esan Masters, no.3 (back up goal kicker)
The rest on the list would just ruin the current squad, lattrell is off/on, walker is trouble, and we got new young talent, they'll get better as they get more game time, problem is when we go to market
We'll get too many experienced guys that will stand in their way, it happened at the sharks, with johnson, woods, moylan, dugan, and morris, had they just stuck with the team they had without johnson and morris, i'd think their young guys would have been better for it, plus now they gone over the cap, and fined, and are still trying to fit in Ramien too (why? dumb)Screenshot_20190827-135809_Samsung Internet.jpg

franklin2323

It’s about priorities

Mansour was poor no doubt as was Whare but they missed enough footy to look at others and very little changed. So how could Vunivalu change things if he gets no ball?

Yeo had no try assists. Winterstein had no try assists. Kikau had 1. Martin had 1.

Matterson had 4. Him being on the right instantly gets the outside backs more chances and he has the same tackle % as Yeo so very much changes in defence too but improve the biggest weakness.

betcats

It’s about priorities

How do you know signing him will stop us addressing other areas? You are assuming that because you want to criticize.

Correct me if i am wrong but earlier in the year when we released Waqa and Dallin didnt you complain about the club releasing established FGers because we had unproven juniors who we can bring through? Now we are possibly signing a proven, established FG player who is well rated by most and a borderline origin player in a position where our only depth players are unproven juniors and you want to complain about that too.

Id sign a prop before Matterson also if we could but to be fair we didnt have trouble getting up the field and making metres, we had trouble putting points on the board...who adresses that problem more? Matterson or JWH?

I think its funny some posters will use a media reported potential target list of players(all who would improve the team if it is true) as a reason to take pot shots at the club and coach.

franklin2323

How do you know signing him will stop us addressing other areas? You are assuming that because you want to criticize.

Correct me if i am wrong but earlier in the year when we released Waqa and Dallin didnt you complain about the club releasing established FGers because we had unproven juniors who we can bring through? Now we are possibly signing a proven, established FG player who is well rated by most and a borderline origin player in a position where our only depth players are unproven juniors and you want to complain about that too.

Id sign a prop before Matterson also if we could but we to be fair we didnt have trouble getting up the field and making metres, we had trouble putting points on, who adresses that problem more? Matterson or JWH?

I think its funny some posters will use a media reported potential target list of players(all who would improve the team if it is true) as a reason to take pot shots at the club and coach.

I agree prop is bad but I think JFH and Martin could do a job at prop.
I don't see where we find an edge backrower for the right that can create points and for me that is the 1st step before we improve the centres/wing because they need to get ball 1st

MugaB

The aggression JWH gives off is addictive, i can see JFH & JWH trying to one up each other, matterson might be a good buy, but Gillett is a far better role model and captain material than anyone else on that list, but again id be using him off the bench to tie the middles, after the first 20 mins, plus im hearing matterson is a bit of a whinger/has tickets on himself, not sure if there is truth to it, but if he does hopefully we dont overspend to get him and regret it, Personally i wanted Russell Packer for a back up prop, to show our guys how to domanate other packs, but JWH is just fine, both would be great, it might kick Tamou up the but a bit in the aggression side of things, i mean realistically you need both Packer and JWH coz one would always be suspended, but we'd win games for it, mark geyer style, and if they're switching in and out, it gives the youngins a go too

betcats

I agree prop is bad but I think JFH and Martin could do a job at prop.
I don't see where we find an edge backrower for the right that can create points and for me that is the 1st step before we improve the centres/wing because they need to get ball 1st

There are at least 3 forwards in our top 17 who could play middle or edge, 4 if you count Kiks, i'd keep an open mind about who we need to sign most because that is fair amount of pieces that can be juggled. Matterson is all class, id happily take him.