Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured and Confirmed signings - Part 4

I was more talking about just 2021 in respect of Staines. I haven’t really looked to hard beyond next season.

I guess if he is going to move onto greener pastures we may as well do so now and use his money elsewhere on who we can keep.

I still think he will stay for less with us but that’s just my gut feeling nothing more.

I’m sure they could work something out if they have space beyond 2021, they’d probably just move on another player.

If we retain Burton and Staines along with Crichton then the club really has done some amazing work over the last twelve months considering where we were at last season. Players wanted out last year now it seems like they really want in.

It’s funny, Luai never comes up in this conversation. Not having a go at you, just an interesting observation as he’s off contract at the same time.

kinghippo

There’s actually quite a few clubs with significant cap space in 2022. Lots of big names off contract or likely to retire. It’ll be more about who needs a fullback.
I can’t think of any club he could land a starting fullback role.
I honestly think he has a lot more chance at getting Edwards spot than getting a start at another club.
Tigers are reportedly after Ado Carr as a fullback, dogs, titans and sharks maybe ... but they all have other options.

If Charlie gets this wrong there is a decent chance he ends up being a good pub trivia question and not much else.
“ which player scored 6 tries in the his first 2 games.....”

betcats

It’s funny, Luai never comes up in this conversation. Not having a go at you, just an interesting observation as he’s off contract at the same time.

Its not intentional on my part it’s just not being discussed by anyone, media or fans.

I guess with Jerome we’d be pretty confident he’s gonna stay given he’s starting, playing with a bunch of guys he came through the system with and he is a local boy...young guys like Staines and Burton are currently outside the top 17 so the chance they could leave naturally seems higher, convincing them to stay when there is likely more money on offer and definitely an easier path to a starting being offered by other clubs would say a lot about where the club is at.

Panfa

Beware what you wish for staines and burton just ask dallin watene zelezniak how things are going at the bulldogs.Staines wont score 4 tries in a season at the dogs let alone 1 game no quality spine there.

Kilkenny

This is a interesting reply seems like it’s his mum. Was on the NRL gossip post about the 2m asking price.View attachment 41360

It’s just the media they have to write about something.

Brent Read who wrote the article as I understand was obviously side line eye for some network on the weekend at the Sharks game.

When I first found my seats which were down on the fence I had to walk past him to get to my seats with my other season ticket holder colleagues.

Honestly his arrogance at having to let me pass was unbelievable. Having to take his feet down from the row of seats in front, move his lap top and other equipment.

I tried to apologise but his arrogance wanted nothing to do with it. Seriously when you talk about a sense of entitlement perhaps look no further than our RL journos because on the evidence of what I experienced this guy is seriously up himself.

Hope so. Although if not Charlie I guess it is just someone else who we can’t keep. Punishment for going well I guess.

Sorry, I meant another club. For instance the tigers have heaps of space in 2022, and if they really want Staines they could move a player for 2021.

betcats

I know money is important and careers are short but sometimes people get to caught up on how much a young guy could make on the open market. A kid with Charlie’s talent could spend two years out injured and all 16 clubs would at a minimum throw him a contract as low risk high reward type signing. All he has to do is have a good attitude and avoid career ending injuries and the minimum he will earn per year is 100k for the next 5-10 years and realistically he might already be getting offers 3 or 4 times that size for his next contract. If his first few years go really well he could be on 800k plus by time he’s 25. Take your time Charlie, stay where you are comfortable and not being thrown in the deep end with the pressure of trying to turn around a struggling club hanging over you. That’s what I’d be telling the kid right now.

Its not intentional on my part it’s just not being discussed by anyone, media or fans.

I guess with Jerome we’d be pretty confident he’s gonna stay given he’s starting, playing with a bunch of guys he came through the system with and he is a local boy...young guys like Staines and Burton are currently outside the top 17 so the chance they could leave naturally seems higher, convincing them to stay when there is likely more money on offer and definitely an easier path to a starting being offered by other clubs would say a lot about where the club is at.

Fair points. Only concern is money I guess, ie. them leaving enough space.

I can’t think of any club he could land a starting fullback role.
I honestly think he has a lot more chance at getting Edwards spot than getting a start at another club.
Tigers are reportedly after Ado Carr as a fullback, dogs, titans and sharks maybe ... but they all have other options.

If Charlie gets this wrong there is a decent chance he ends up being a good pub trivia question and not much else.
“ which player scored 6 tries in the his first 2 games.....”

Maybe not right now, but I think there’s easier paths to a fullback role than through Edwards. Dylan I reckon probably ranks around 6th-8th best fullback.

Kilkenny

Sorry, I meant another club. For instance the tigers have heaps of space in 2022, and if they really want Staines they could move a player for 2021.
I understand what you meant mate. All good.

I think there is going to be disappointment one way or another whether it is Staines or Lenui or whoever we just can’t retain everybody sadly.

MTNPanther

It’s just the media they have to write about something.

Brent Read who wrote the article as I understand was obviously side line eye for some network on the weekend at the Sharks game.

When I first found my seats which were down on the fence I had to walk past him to get to my seats with my other season ticket holder colleagues.

Honestly his arrogance at having to let me pass was unbelievable. Having to take his feet down from the row of seats in front, move his lap top and other equipment.

I tried to apologise but his arrogance wanted nothing to do with it. Seriously when you talk about a sense of entitlement perhaps look no further than our RL journos because on the evidence of what I experienced this guy is seriously up himself.
It definitely sounds like the dribble he is known for, your not the first person who I have heard say this about him. He’s about as reliable as a soggy sandwich!!!

Hooked

Is @Blade23 the masked panther?

I have noticed things he has said recently have been repeated soon after by MP. Or MP has said something and Blade has said the similar thing but revealed a little more info.
Especially on Crichton, Staines and Burton this week. Both had a go at media driven agenda on Burton.
Blade has been saying for awhile Crichton is a done deal and there is a minor hold up. Today MP reveals a administration hold up.
Hmmm.