Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Gazzamatta

Lanes loss of form coincided with his continual move to the middle. A poor decision in my opinion. He was fantastic early in the season. As Bernie said on the TCT Podcast, Lane should be considered as an edge only given his skill and the shortage of quality edges. Niukore filled in on an edge when Matterson was concussed. Like the Lane move it was a mistake. He performed much better in the middle. I think BA recognised his mistake there and finally gave Davey a run when Matto was again out. Hopefully BA recognises not every edge player should spend time in the middle particularly when not covering for injury or suspension. Recruit specialists and let players settle into their strongest position. Thats the best way of developing combinations.

Are you saying Lane lost form cos of playing some middle? If so I dont agree ... Lane only played spot minutes in the middle when we copped injuries (like the manly game) ... when he eventually played in the middle off the bench he was already well and truely in a slump - infact i think the middle move was a bit of a rocket up him that he needed

Agree, Niukore was never particularly effective on an edge. I think he went to a new level in the middle. But i get the reluctance to play Davey who had zero top level experience. Then when he did and he played well he stuck with it. I dont see an issue with what transpired.

Gazzamatta

Are you saying Lane lost form cos of playing some middle? If so I dont agree ... Lane only played spot minutes in the middle when we copped injuries (like the manly game) ... when he eventually played in the middle off the bench he was already well and truely in a slump - infact i think the middle move was a bit of a rocket up him that he needed

Agree, Niukore was never particularly effective on an edge. I think he went to a new level in the middle. But i get the reluctance to play Davey who had zero top level experience. Then when he did and he played well he stuck with it. I dont see an issue with what transpired.
Agree to disagree mate. Lane is a terrific edge forward. Dont wear him out in the middle. BA started doing the exact same thing with Mau. I 100% agree with The Bern. Next season will settle much debate. BA needs to also get the 1 percenters right. Matto will be the next move to the middle if all goes to form.

Incorrect

Upgraded to top 30, not upgraded to 300k. He would have gone to probs 29 or 30 position, approx $105, 000. So a pay rise, but that's not the point of the argument.
I thought the numbers were the other way around and that he was upgraded to top 300 and was on $30 this season...

84 Baby

Agree to disagree mate. Lane is a terrific edge forward. Dont wear him out in the middle. BA started doing the exact same thing with Mau. I 100% agree with The Bern. Next season will settle much debate. BA needs to also get the 1 percenters right. Matto will be the next move to the middle if all goes to form.
Lane is a good edge forward but if you don’t think he was out of form pre more game time in middle then I disagree. I also don’t see how one equates to the other anyway. It’s not like he spent the preseason or a massive chunk of game time in middle, got used to that and then was expected to be an out and out edge player. He played time in middle last year and didn’t lose form.
He seemed to doing less work in my eyes. Quality was still there but he was running as much. Not necessarily his fault. And then came the second Manly game where his lateral defence was non-existent.
And you know where there’s more opportunity to get involved and where lateral defence isn’t as important?

84 Baby

But not almost 300k as Gleneel said. He was claiming we have big money to spend because of the almost 300k that stefano was on
Exactly! Why are you denying it?
I heard Stefano left for even more money, so Wigers must be paying him $500k. Now they can’t afford anyone else

lingard

A transfer like this, he will end up at a shit club, not a good one. If he comes to Parra it won't be a good sign.

If he ends up at fullback and plays well he will prove the experts wrong, and vindicate the dopes who think all you need at fullback is speed. If he goes somewhere and plays on the wing we'll know he's costing his new club a lot more than he was costing the Storm. Which will mean the Storm got better value out of him. Which is why they perform better on the field.

A few tenuous links in your logic there. But, anyway. Ado-Car doesn't just have speed: he also has strength, power, good passing ability, and good game-awareness. He will probably make a very good fullback.

lingard

We’ve lost Davey and Lane is moving to the middle (he has been playing there mid game in the later rounds). So starting edge will be Nikore and Matto. Nikore also provides great punch when he plays in the middle, so I reckon there is a bench spot for him easy.

Lane's apparent loss of form this year is due to Arthur turning him into a robot. He should be a purely edge forward. He has enormous creativity. He and Matterson on the edges are very dangerous to opposition defences.

Eelogical

He is surely a better proposition than Waqa Blake.
Just on Waqa for a bit. We signed him thinking that he would be a decent asset to our backline. What happened? Did we check with the previous owner, kick the tyres, check his service history? After the signing we find out there's oil leak issues, engine dramas and a flat battery.

Lane's apparent loss of form this year is due to Arthur turning him into a robot. He should be a purely edge forward. He has enormous creativity. He and Matterson on the edges are very dangerous to opposition defences.
The barrier for whether a forward can play on the edges is his defence. In attack you can stick any middle forward out wide. Everyone looks better running at halfbacks.

Soren Lorenson

Just on Waqa for a bit. We signed him thinking that he would be a decent asset to our backline. What happened? Did we check with the previous owner, kick the tyres, check his service history? After the signing we find out there's oil leak issues, engine dramas and a flat battery.
When Waqa came, I lurked in the Panthers forum, and they were all saying no worries, we are better off, Naden is a better player anyway. I laughed out the side of my mouth. I still think there is hope for the merkin.