Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured and Confirmed signings - Part 4

Flashstep

I'm still unsure why people are so convinced Burton is the next Andrew John's.
He looked good to me but so do many other rookies. Kyle Flannagan was meant to be a star also. Same goes for Dylan Brown. All may become that but I think some will fail for sure. D.Brown I haven't seen do anything to make me go wow.
The thing is Panthers must of rated Luai higher. They could of locked Burton up otherwise and let Luai free.

I believe when Luai and Nathan Cleary were coming through the juniors Luai at one point was rated the higher prospect. Obviously that’s changed though. Halves are very hard to rate especially when they come into first grade. Nathan started first grade on fire and we all hopped on the bandwagon, then he stalled hard as a half, many of us (myself included) didn’t rate much of him at all before this season started. Fast forward 12 months and he’s the best halfback in the comp at the age of 22 with plenty of improvement still left in him.

Burton could be something special for all I know, but will he thrive at the Bulldogs? he’s going to have a lot of pressure on him to turn that club around with very little first grade experience, he might have the backline required around him but their forward pack pales in comparison to ours and that will hurt him a lot I think, and if he’s on around 500k or over he could easily end up like another Ash Taylor, remember how much hype that kid had...

Obviously Ivan think Jerome has more talent and Nathan. They would of known Burton was coming through the ranks.They blocked his path.
Gould did say once Burton will be the best of the lot. Andrew Johns also said D.Brown will be the next super star of the game.

Time will tell.

No. This is what you don’t get, just because Luai got the position doesn’t necessarily mean they think he’s more talented. What’s crucial in that role is how well he gels with Nathan, and Luai had experience playing with Nathan and his game is better suited to compliment Cleary.

If Burton came through at the same time as Nathan Cleary, I reckon he would’ve beat him for the no.7 spot.

Aliceinwonderland

I believe when Luai and Nathan Cleary were coming through the juniors Luai at one point was rated the higher prospect. Obviously that’s changed though. Halves are very hard to rate especially when they come into first grade. Nathan started first grade on fire and we all hopped on the bandwagon, then he stalled hard as a half, many of us (myself included) didn’t rate much of him at all before this season started. Fast forward 12 months and he’s the best halfback in the comp at the age of 22 with plenty of improvement still left in him.

Burton could be something special for all I know, but will he thrive at the Bulldogs? he’s going to have a lot of pressure on him to turn that club around with very little first grade experience, he might have the backline required around him but their forward pack pales in comparison to ours and that will hurt him a lot I think, and if he’s on around 500k or over he could easily end up like another Ash Taylor, remember how much hype that kid had...

Bulldog Ritchie said about $620,000 that one lot of cabbage to be paired with another rookie half. Lots of pressure.

Kilkenny

Obviously Ivan think Jerome has more talent and Nathan. They would of known Burton was coming through the ranks.They blocked his path.
Gould did say once Burton will be the best of the lot. Andrew Johns also said D.Brown will be the next super star of the game.

Time will tell.

Gould was prone to say a lot of things. He also said RCG would be the games best front rower and while he was great in the 1st half of 2020 his form fell away despite his selection in the origin squad.

I think Gould will be proven right with his Burton prediction he is a special talent and much more talented than your own Dylan Brown.

It is a shame his talents will be of the benefit to the Bulldogs but it is what it is.

I'm still unsure why people are so convinced Burton is the next Andrew John's.
He looked good to me but so do many other rookies. Kyle Flannagan was meant to be a star also. Same goes for Dylan Brown. All may become that but I think some will fail for sure. D.Brown I haven't seen do anything to make me go wow.
The thing is Panthers must of rated Luai higher. They could of locked Burton up otherwise and let Luai free.

Literally no one has called him the next Andrew Johns. Not even close to the same style of footy player. This is what I meant by you talking nonsense.

Flashstep

I agree. It's a huge risk. What's the rest of the spine look like ? Do they have a decent hooker, a big powerful forward pack. Cause without those it will be dead money.

You’re right, they haven’t got a hooker, I guess hoppa or DWZ would be a decent fullback but they won’t help burton much at all. I think Flanagan can be a good halfback but he’ll be under just as much pressure. Forwards like I said are nothing compared to ours.

I think they’ve spent to much money on their backline.

Kilkenny

At the end of the day we as fans no matter how disappointed at the current situation have no choice but to suck it up.

I so hope we can somehow get out of this situation by re-signing Crichton and Lenui albeit my confidence is not what it was.

Aliceinwonderland

You’re right, they haven’t got a hooker, I guess hoppa or DWZ would be a decent fullback but they won’t help burton much at all. I think Flanagan can be a good halfback but he’ll be under just as much pressure. Forwards like I said are nothing compared to ours.

I think they’ve spent to much money on their backline.

I'm quite comfortable with what Penrith have chosen to do.

If the money was anything like $620,000 for a bloke who has played 12 games.........Bye mate, have fun.

Halves are only as good as the spine and pigs they have in the team.

Flashstep

I'm quite comfortable with what Penrith have chosen to do.

If the money was anything like $620,000 for a bloke who has played 12 games.........Bye mate, have fun.

Yea I feel the same, Luai and Cleary could be our halves for many years to come and if they can keep up the same form as they showed this season were sweet. Can’t blame the club at all for letting Burton go if he’s getting offered that much money at this stage of his career.

Gould was prone to say a lot of things. He also said RCG would be the games best front rower and while he was great in the 1st half of 2020 his form fell away despite his selection in the origin squad.

I think Gould will be proven right with his Burton prediction he is a special talent and much more talented than your own Dylan Brown.

It is a shame his talents will be of the benefit to the Bulldogs but it is what it is.

What makes you think he is better then Dylan? Fact is Dylan's younger and already had 2yrs in the NRL. I don't rate him highly yet but the kids just turned 20 and had injuries. He seems like the type of kid who could explode in one season and become a star.
Of course Burton may be the next imortal. I've only seen a handful of times. Looks fine.

Thats exactly why you let him go. Rumour has it he wants $800.000 Let the dogs have him. He has screwed himself here Let him screw the dogs cap .

800k?!

I’ll personally drive him to Belmore if he’s demanding that.

I’d be surprised, though. I reckon 600-650k will keep him, even that’s overs.

Literally no one has called him the next Andrew Johns. Not even close to the same style of footy player. This is what I meant by you talking nonsense.

I used him as an example. Of course Burton could mould into a special player.
You guys would have a better idea. 600k sounds about right also. He will be 22 and wanting to be paid.

The_Frog

Thats exactly why you let him go. Rumour has it he wants $800.000 Let the dogs have him. He has screwed himself here Let him screw the dogs cap .
If the Dogs have signed Burton, as is being reported, it seems doubtful they can sign Crichton. But someone else probably would,

betcats

I look at a footy team like race car and driver. The spine is the driver, obviously hugely important. The forwards are the engine and the brakes, again obviously very important. The outside backs are like the tyres, they can definitely make a difference but if the driver is a moron and the engine is f**ked then the tyres ain’t changing anything but a great driver with a great engine can probably be very good on any tyres. And that’ll do me for the day.

soc123_au

Burton at 600k is worth the risk for the Dogs. But it is more than we could pay. It's a horses for courses thing. If he kills it then it's great value, if he flops then they havent over invested by much & it's not like they had to let anyone good go to get him.

franklin2323

Not sure where you form that view from I’ve tried to put out a positive spin post Gould and as it transpired we had a great season in 2020.

I acknowledge I never for one minute imagined such a great season we all enjoyed but that is ancient history and as it stands even not knowing the make up of our roster for next season our brains trust has failed us.

You were delighted to see Gould gone and here we are but two seasons on and we are in a world a pain with a roster in 2021 which will bear no resemblance to the overall roster that got us to the GF and that is very sad.

There is nothing that can be said to justify what has happened in this past month.

Serious mistakes have been made and there is no defending it.

1st year of the new guys in charge. Minor Premiership and GF... That is a mistake?

15 of the 17 that played in the GF will run around next year...A mistake?

24 out of 30 players still in the squad...Again is a mistake?