Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 7 vs Roosters

True_Believer

I often wonder if you actually think there is a chance of your selections being adopted, can't see positional switches happening at all.

It's sort of like the scattergun approach. Spray a heap of bullets out there and you're bound to get 1 or 2 to hit. Then you can claim you got the kills when you finally hit the target.

Maddragon99

Not as confident this week as I was against The Warriors unfortunately....hopefully Im wrong but jeez we looked flat at times last week not just in energy but in organisation....I know we scored 3 tries apiece and were unlucky in a couple of others but the intensity just wasnt there, which tbh surprised me
Give all our losing season it’s going to take time for the team to believe we are a winning footy side, it a confidence issue. I think as the season progresses it’ll be harder for teams to ambush us like the Warriors did.

getsmarty

tl_web.jpg

TEAM LISTS

Presented By

NRL team announcement: Anzac Cup v Roosters
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Tue 20 Apr 2021, 03:57 PM
Share on social media
St George Illawarra coach Anthony Griffin has named his mandatory 21-man squad ahead of the Dragons' traditional Anzac Cup clash against the Sydney Roosters at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Sunday, April 25.

Blake Lawrie (cork) returns in the front row for Trent Merrin, who hasn't been named in the Dragons' 21.

Ben Hunt (leg) has also been named in the reserves and is a chance of featuring for the first time since Round 3.

The game will kick-off at 4:05pm, with the official Anzac Day ceremony to commence at 3:45pm. It is encouraged that tickets be pre-purchased ahead of the anticipated sell out.

The Australia Defence Force team will once again act as a curtain raiser, although this year they will play against the Turkish Residents (1:50pm).

The traditional Anzac Cup clash fell victim to Covid-19 last year, with the Roosters currently holding the trophy following their 20-10 win in 2019.

Since 2002, the two teams have met on Anzac Day 18 times. The Dragons have won 11 Anzac Cup games to the Roosters' seven.

The Ashton-Collier Spirit of Anzac Medal will again be awarded to the Man of the Match.

St George Illawarra fans will again be given the opportunity to bid on player-worn commemorative jerseys leading into the NRL's Anzac Round. The auction will commence on Friday, April 23 with a proportion of the funds again to be donated to the Australian War Memorial.

NRL squad for Round 7 v Sydney Roosters –
1. Matt Dufty – sponsored by EFEX
2. Cody Ramsey – sponsored by Aspec Masonry
3. Jack Bird – sponsored by Kingsgrove Sports Centre
4. Zac Lomax – sponsored by Floormania
5. Mikaele Ravalawa – sponsored by Wollongong Jetski
6. Corey Norman – sponsored by TripADeal
7. Adam Clune – sponsored by Narellan Pools Illawarra
8. Blake Lawrie – sponsored by Gym Solutions
9. Andrew McCullough (c) – sponsored by Dincel Construction System
10. Paul Vaughan – sponsored by Fox and Jones
11. Josh Kerr – sponsored by Sneaky Burger
12. Tariq Sims – sponsored by Modus Projects
13. Tyrell Fuimaono – sponsored by TLE Alexandria

Interchange:
14. Kaide Ellis – sponsored by CMG Audio Visual
15. Josh McGuire – sponsored by Manna from Heaven
16. Daniel Alvaro – sponsored by Professionals Padstow
17. Brayden Wiliame – sponsored by Deicorp
18. Billy Burns
19. Poasa Faamausili
20. Jordan Pereira
21. Ben Hunt

Traditional Anzac Day fixture results (since 2002) –
2002: Sydney Roosters 24-20 St George Illawarra (Crowd: 20,578)
2003: St George Illawarra 24-20 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 26,014)
2004: Sydney Roosters 11-8 St George Illawarra (Crowd: 26,246)
2005: St George Illawarra 26-24 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 32,270)
2006: St George Illawarra 22-12 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 31,105)
2007: Sydney Roosters 18-4 St George Illawarra (Crowd: 18,240)
2008: St George Illawarra 26-6 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 21,596)
2009: St George Illawarra 29-0 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 28,926)
2010: St George Illawarra 28-6 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 36,212)
2011: St George Illawarra 24-10 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 34,976)
2012: St George Illawarra 28-24 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 40,164)
2013: Sydney Roosters 34-10 St George Illawarra (Crowd: 40,752)
2014: Sydney Roosters 34-14 St George Illawarra (Crowd: 38,784)
2015: St George Illawarra 14-12 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 35,110)
2016: St George Illawarra 20-18 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 34,483)
2017: Sydney Roosters 13-12 St George Illawarra in golden point (Crowd: 40,864)
2018: St George Illawarra 24-8 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 41,142)
2019: Sydney Roosters 20-10 St George Illawarra (Crowd: 38,414)

Ashton-Collier Spirit of Anzac Man of the Match medallists –
2010: Darius Boyd (St George Illawarra)
2011: Darius Boyd (St George Illawarra)
2012: Ben Hornby (St George Illawarra)
2013: Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters)
2014: Jake Friend (Sydney Roosters)
2015: Benji Marshall (St George Illawarra)
2016: Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra)
2017: Mitchell Pearce (Sydney Roosters)
2018: Tyson Frizell (St George Illawarra)
2019: Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters)

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2021/04/20/nrl-team-announcement-anzac-cup-v-roosters/

getsmarty

Behind enemy lines: Anzac Cup
Author
Timestamp
Tue 20 Apr 2021, 04:04 PM
Share on social media
The Sydney Roosters have named their mandatory 21-man squad ahead of the traditional Anzac Cup clash at the Sydney Cricket Ground against the St George Illawarra Dragons on Sunday, April 25.

Sam Verrills (ACL) has been named to make his long-awaited return while former Dragon Brett Morris has also been named after missing last week.

Victor Radley will have to beat his charge at the NRL judiciary on Tuesday night to take his place, while Siosiua Taukeiaho and Jared Waerea-Hargreaves have been cleared of serious injury.

Sydney Roosters NRL squad for Round 7 v St George Illawarra Dragons –
1. James Tedesco (c)
2. Daniel Tupou
3. Josh Morris
4. Joey Manu
5. Brett Morris
6. Drew Hutchison
7. Sam Walker
8. Isaac Liu
9. Sam Verrills
10. Siosiua Taukeiaho
11. Angus Crichton
12. Sitili Tupouniua
13. Victor Radley

Interchange:
14. Ben Marschke
15. Jared Waerea-Hargreaves
16. Nat Butcher
17. Lindsay Collins
18. Fletcher Baker
19. Matt Ikuvalu
20. Egan Butcher
21. Tuku Hau Tapuha

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2021/04/20/behind-enemy-lines-anzac-cup/

Maddragon99

tl_web.jpg

TEAM LISTS

Presented By

NRL team announcement: Anzac Cup v Roosters
Author
Timestamp
Tue 20 Apr 2021, 03:57 PM
Share on social media
St George Illawarra coach Anthony Griffin has named his mandatory 21-man squad ahead of the Dragons' traditional Anzac Cup clash against the Sydney Roosters at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Sunday, April 25.

Blake Lawrie (cork) returns in the front row for Trent Merrin, who hasn't been named in the Dragons' 21.

Ben Hunt (leg) has also been named in the reserves and is a chance of featuring for the first time since Round 3.

The game will kick-off at 4:05pm, with the official Anzac Day ceremony to commence at 3:45pm. It is encouraged that tickets be pre-purchased ahead of the anticipated sell out.

The Australia Defence Force team will once again act as a curtain raiser, although this year they will play against the Turkish Residents (1:50pm).

The traditional Anzac Cup clash fell victim to Covid-19 last year, with the Roosters currently holding the trophy following their 20-10 win in 2019.

Since 2002, the two teams have met on Anzac Day 18 times. The Dragons have won 11 Anzac Cup games to the Roosters' seven.

The Ashton-Collier Spirit of Anzac Medal will again be awarded to the Man of the Match.

St George Illawarra fans will again be given the opportunity to bid on player-worn commemorative jerseys leading into the NRL's Anzac Round. The auction will commence on Friday, April 23 with a proportion of the funds again to be donated to the Australian War Memorial.

NRL squad for Round 7 v Sydney Roosters –
1. Matt Dufty – sponsored by EFEX
2. Cody Ramsey – sponsored by Aspec Masonry
3. Jack Bird – sponsored by Kingsgrove Sports Centre
4. Zac Lomax – sponsored by Floormania
5. Mikaele Ravalawa – sponsored by Wollongong Jetski
6. Corey Norman – sponsored by TripADeal
7. Adam Clune – sponsored by Narellan Pools Illawarra
8. Blake Lawrie – sponsored by Gym Solutions
9. Andrew McCullough (c) – sponsored by Dincel Construction System
10. Paul Vaughan – sponsored by Fox and Jones
11. Josh Kerr – sponsored by Sneaky Burger
12. Tariq Sims – sponsored by Modus Projects
13. Tyrell Fuimaono – sponsored by TLE Alexandria

Interchange:
14. Kaide Ellis – sponsored by CMG Audio Visual
15. Josh McGuire – sponsored by Manna from Heaven
16. Daniel Alvaro – sponsored by Professionals Padstow
17. Brayden Wiliame – sponsored by Deicorp
18. Billy Burns
19. Poasa Faamausili
20. Jordan Pereira
21. Ben Hunt

Traditional Anzac Day fixture results (since 2002) –
2002: Sydney Roosters 24-20 St George Illawarra (Crowd: 20,578)
2003: St George Illawarra 24-20 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 26,014)
2004: Sydney Roosters 11-8 St George Illawarra (Crowd: 26,246)
2005: St George Illawarra 26-24 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 32,270)
2006: St George Illawarra 22-12 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 31,105)
2007: Sydney Roosters 18-4 St George Illawarra (Crowd: 18,240)
2008: St George Illawarra 26-6 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 21,596)
2009: St George Illawarra 29-0 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 28,926)
2010: St George Illawarra 28-6 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 36,212)
2011: St George Illawarra 24-10 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 34,976)
2012: St George Illawarra 28-24 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 40,164)
2013: Sydney Roosters 34-10 St George Illawarra (Crowd: 40,752)
2014: Sydney Roosters 34-14 St George Illawarra (Crowd: 38,784)
2015: St George Illawarra 14-12 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 35,110)
2016: St George Illawarra 20-18 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 34,483)
2017: Sydney Roosters 13-12 St George Illawarra in golden point (Crowd: 40,864)
2018: St George Illawarra 24-8 Sydney Roosters (Crowd: 41,142)
2019: Sydney Roosters 20-10 St George Illawarra (Crowd: 38,414)

Ashton-Collier Spirit of Anzac Man of the Match medallists –
2010: Darius Boyd (St George Illawarra)
2011: Darius Boyd (St George Illawarra)
2012: Ben Hornby (St George Illawarra)
2013: Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters)
2014: Jake Friend (Sydney Roosters)
2015: Benji Marshall (St George Illawarra)
2016: Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra)
2017: Mitchell Pearce (Sydney Roosters)
2018: Tyson Frizell (St George Illawarra)
2019: Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters)

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2021/04/20/nrl-team-announcement-anzac-cup-v-roosters/
I doubt Hunt will play I’d rather we don’t rush him back if he’s not 100%. I think we’ll be 1-16 (17 jersey a total waste)

Expect Moose & Alvaro to really lift for their first ANZAC Day games.

I’m predicting a Dragons victory with Sims man of the match. He’ll terrorise the Roosters halves.

getsmarty

huntb-210320_sd_06_202131917177.jpg

NRL NEWS

D-day looms for Hunt and Verrills in Anzac bid
Author
Alicia Newton NRL.com Reporter
Timestamp
Tue 20 Apr 2021, 04:35 PM
newtonalicia-head.png

Share on social media
Dragons captain Ben Hunt could make a return from a broken leg in Sunday's Anzac Day clash against the Roosters after being included in their 21-man squad on Tuesday.

The news looks just as promising for Roosters premiership-winner Sam Verrills, who has been named to start at hooker for the Tricolours after recent knee surgery.

Hunt and Verills are among a host of stars who have been included in extended squads this week with Sharks halfback Shaun Johnson and Panthers duo Api Koroisau and Dylan Edwards also nearing returns.

Hunt has missed the past three weeks of the Telstra Premiership after scans revealed he played with a leg fracture until the 71st minute in the side's round three win over the Sea Eagles.

The 31-year-old avoided surgery last month and is on track to make a remarkable recovery in time for the annual blockbuster at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

remote.axd

What Hastings' signing means for the Wests Tigers

"I've run a couple of times this week and it's pulled up a bit sore but I'll have another hit-out on Wednesday and if that all goes good I'll be right to go," Hunt told NRL.com.

"I can't wait to get back out there. The Anzac game is a huge occasion and special day for Australia and New Zealand. You don't play in much bigger for a normal round game than on Anzac Day.

"Hook (Griffin) has got the boys playing well and the biggest thing is their willingness to work hard for their mates and do all the little things. Everyone lifts to another level."

remote.axd

Every try from Round 6

Hunt's potential return could leave Griffin with a decision to make around the make-up of his halves and bench after last week's 20-14 loss to the Warriors.

Verrills' return is a huge boost for the injury-hit Roosters with the classy No.9 named to play his first game since suffering an ACL injury in round seven last year.

Verrills has been rushed straight into the starting side despite initial fears he would be sidelined for a further month after complications around his troublesome knee.

Meanwhile, Cleary has included Koroisau and Edwards in his 21-man squad to play the Knights on Thursday night in a move that could bring late changes.

Cleary has also named Paul Momirovski, who will plead his case at the NRL judiciary on Tuesday night in a bid to seek a downgrade for a dangerous contact charge.

For the Knights, coach Adam O'Brien has recalled Starford To'a to the backline with Hymel Hunt out of the side's clash due to a hamstring injury.

In other team news, the Raiders will be without inspirational leader Josh Hodgson for at least a fortnight after he picked up a calf injury against the Eels.

Hodgson will be joined on the sidelines by winger Bailey Simonsson as a precaution after suffering a concussion last week.

Raiders coach Ricky Stuart has also reacted to last week's loss with Josh Papalii benched and Joseph Tapine dropping out of the 17 altogether.

Stuart has finally recalled Corey Harawira-Naera and Corey Horsburgh to the line-up after the pair were punished for their off-season incidents last month.

Last week's opponents, Parramatta, have named Ryan Matterson to make a return from concussion via reserve grade this weekend.

NRL Magic Round Brisbane 1-Day & 3-Day Passes are now on sale with eight massive games across round 10 at Suncorp Stadium this May. With the league's best players all heading to Brisbane, you'd hate to miss it! Tickets at NRL.com/Tickets.

https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/04/20/d-day-looms-for-hunt-and-verrills-in-anzac-bid/

Wittenberg

I think we lost against the Warriors because of our game against the Eels and to a lesser extent, the Knights. We were flat and looked tired and our forwards lacked punch and consistency, Kerr was mistake ridden, Alvaro was solid but not aggressive and Vaughan was no where near as dominate as he had been the week before. As a result Norman fell back into his old ways and Clune seemed worried about his defence, although he did some good things towards the end of the game. Put simply, against Parra we played above ourselves and used line speed and physicality to do it. We missed Lawrie, lacked real aggression and the ref seemed determined to take away our line speed. We need to remember that we are, in many ways, an average team with a good coach. In the past we had a good team with an average coach. Griffin has our team playing above themselves, Mary for a few years had our team playing below their ability. We don’t have depth in our pack and injuries and any rep duties will be felt badly by us, but so far so good. If, after the Charity Shield game I was told that we would be 4:2 I would have said ‘ “tell him he’s dreaming....” we just need to remember that we do not have the depth of the Storm, Souths , Easts, Canberra or Parramatta. Yet we are doing well. Yes last week was disappointing and was a game we would have seen as a probable win, but we will always battle against the style we play. Against the Knights and the Eels we bashed to win, to nullify the opposing pack. We can’t expect to do that week in and week out without having games where we struggle to be able to follow it up.

2010Dragons

Against the Knights and the Eels we bashed to win, to nullify the opposing pack. We can’t expect to do that week in and week out without having games where we struggle to be able to follow it up.
The Chooks do it every week. And have been doing it for a few years now. Our boys just need to mentally toughen up and the physical bash will follow every week.
if robbo can get the rorters to do it then I expect hook to do the same.
Harden up boys. Footy is a man’s game.

redVinme

The Chooks do it every week. And have been doing it for a few years now. Our boys just need to mentally toughen up and the physical bash will follow every week.
if robbo can get the rorters to do it then I expect hook to do the same.
Harden up boys. Footy is a man’s game.

I agree but there is a few really big differences between the two.

Firstly there is a massive gap in overall quality at full strength. A team full of rep players should be doing that every week.

Systems are of an insane standard and there is also a much stronger next man up mentality with higher quality reserves being able easily slot into a defined and tested structure.

Repetition. It's going to take a while for our team to be able to maintain a truly high standard as it is so fresh for many players who have cruised through the last few years. It'll come but it's going to take time and more astute purchases imo.

Heaps to work on but hopefully the players are buying in and the difference between our best and worst game is nearly non existent by end of year.

Lovemedragons

It wouldn't surprise me for the judiciary to reduce the charge to grade 1 and only fine Radley for his high tackle on Munster. The Roosters certainly do not want Radley to miss any games because of their current injury toll, particularly the Anzac Day match against us. They will try everything under the sun to get the charge reduced. They have lots of paper bags in head office and they are good at sweet talking to get whatever they want. Most other clubs don't stand a chance and cop the charges on the chin (pun not intentional).
to be fair here was that Radley incident so bad? Munster was playing games and if it were one of our boys I'd be wanting us to fight it, he got 10 in the bin, Munster continued unaffected and the Storm won whatever way they can - as usual. We can take them - Radley or no Radley.

BLM01

Behind enemy lines: Anzac Cup
Author
Timestamp
Tue 20 Apr 2021, 04:04 PM
Share on social media
The Sydney Roosters have named their mandatory 21-man squad ahead of the traditional Anzac Cup clash at the Sydney Cricket Ground against the St George Illawarra Dragons on Sunday, April 25.

Sam Verrills (ACL) has been named to make his long-awaited return while former Dragon Brett Morris has also been named after missing last week.

Victor Radley will have to beat his charge at the NRL judiciary on Tuesday night to take his place, while Siosiua Taukeiaho and Jared Waerea-Hargreaves have been cleared of serious injury.

Sydney Roosters NRL squad for Round 7 v St George Illawarra Dragons –
1. James Tedesco (c)
2. Daniel Tupou
3. Josh Morris
4. Joey Manu
5. Brett Morris
6. Drew Hutchison
7. Sam Walker
8. Isaac Liu
9. Sam Verrills
10. Siosiua Taukeiaho
11. Angus Crichton
12. Sitili Tupouniua
13. Victor Radley

Interchange:
14. Ben Marschke
15. Jared Waerea-Hargreaves
16. Nat Butcher
17. Lindsay Collins
18. Fletcher Baker
19. Matt Ikuvalu
20. Egan Butcher
21. Tuku Hau Tapuha

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2021/04/20/behind-enemy-lines-anzac-cup/
Well if Radley gets off. pretty good side Roosters are putting out - Keary. Looks almost full strength and I rate Verrills as good as an ageing Friend and Cordner may not play again anyway
Injury riddled Roosters is a furfiee from the media..or is Robbo's named top 17 the furfee
Roosters would have to be roaring favs with the bookies ;)

MarkD

I think we lost against the Warriors because of our game against the Eels and to a lesser extent, the Knights. We were flat and looked tired and our forwards lacked punch and consistency, Kerr was mistake ridden, Alvaro was solid but not aggressive and Vaughan was no where near as dominate as he had been the week before. As a result Norman fell back into his old ways and Clune seemed worried about his defence, although he did some good things towards the end of the game. Put simply, against Parra we played above ourselves and used line speed and physicality to do it. We missed Lawrie, lacked real aggression and the ref seemed determined to take away our line speed. We need to remember that we are, in many ways, an average team with a good coach. In the past we had a good team with an average coach. Griffin has our team playing above themselves, Mary for a few years had our team playing below their ability. We don’t have depth in our pack and injuries and any rep duties will be felt badly by us, but so far so good. If, after the Charity Shield game I was told that we would be 4:2 I would have said ‘ “tell him he’s dreaming....” we just need to remember that we do not have the depth of the Storm, Souths , Easts, Canberra or Parramatta. Yet we are doing well. Yes last week was disappointing and was a game we would have seen as a probable win, but we will always battle against the style we play. Against the Knights and the Eels we bashed to win, to nullify the opposing pack. We can’t expect to do that week in and week out without having games where we struggle to be able to follow it up.
Agree mate... the middle 2/3s were exposed often with inside balls against NZ.. This is a sign of fatigue physical and mental... Hooks a smart operator.. he’ll have them freshened up and ready to go...

getsmarty

2021-r07_7-roosters-v-dragons.jpg

MATCH PREVIEW

NRL.com preview: Anzac Cup
Author
NRL.com
Timestamp
Tue 20 Apr 2021, 04:01 PM
Share on social media
In a match that's become a highlight of the NRL calendar, Sydney's traditional Anzac Day clash is back for another year.

Both clubs were beaten last weekend but still find themselves in the top eight.

The Roosters have been hit hard by injuries in 2021, particularly in the halves. The loss of Luke Keary to an ACL injury would be a massive blow to any side. The forced retirement of Jake Friend and the continued absence of Boyd Cordner is also being felt.

As for the Dragons, they didn't beat the Warriors last weekend but there was enough to suggest that they have the goods to return to the winner's list in this one.

Roosters v Dragons /

Match: Roosters v Dragons

Round 7 - Sunday 25th April

4:05pm

Home Team

Roosters

5th Position

Away Team

Dragons

6th Position

Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

Match broadcasters:

• Nine Network
  • Kayo
  • Foxtel
Buy Tickets
The rundown
Team news
Roosters: The NRL's leading tryscorer Brett Morris (calf tightness) was a late withdrawal from the clash with the Storm but he has been named to return this week so Matt Ikuvalu drops out.

The return of Sam Verrills (knee) at hooker is a huge boost for the Roosters and pushes Ben Marschke to the bench and Adam Keighran out of the squad. Verrills hasn't played since he and Victor Radley both suffered serious knee injuries on the same night in round seven last year against the Dragons.

Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (shoulder) and Siosiua Taukeiaho (ribs) failed to finish the Storm game but are good to go for Anzac Day.

Dragons: Blake Lawrie is back after missing the Warriors game with a cork and his return forces Trent Merrin out of the 17. Five-eighth Corey Norman has been named despite hurting his shoulder in Sunday's game.

Skipper Ben Hunt has been named among the reserves as he edges closer to a return from a leg injury.

Match: Roosters v Dragons

Round 7 - Sunday 25th April

4:05pm

Home Team

Roosters

Away Team

Dragons

Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

Team Lists
Backs
  • Fullback for Roosters is number 1 James Tedesco

Fullback for Dragons is number 1 Matthew Dufty
  • Winger for Roosters is number 2 Daniel Tupou

Winger for Dragons is number 2 Cody Ramsey
  • Centre for Roosters is number 3 Josh Morris

Centre for Dragons is number 3 Jack Bird
  • Centre for Roosters is number 4 Joseph Manu

Centre for Dragons is number 4 Zac Lomax
  • Winger for Roosters is number 5 Brett Morris

Winger for Dragons is number 5 Mikaele Ravalawa
  • Five-Eighth for Roosters is number 6 Drew Hutchison

Five-Eighth for Dragons is number 6 Corey Norman
  • Halfback for Roosters is number 7 Sam Walker

Halfback for Dragons is number 7 Adam Clune
Forwards
  • Prop for Roosters is number 8 Isaac Liu

Prop for Dragons is number 8 Blake Lawrie
  • Hooker for Roosters is number 9 Sam Verrills

Hooker for Dragons is number 9 Andrew McCullough
  • Prop for Roosters is number 10 Siosiua Taukeiaho

Prop for Dragons is number 10 Paul Vaughan
  • 2nd Row for Roosters is number 11 Angus Crichton

2nd Row for Dragons is number 11 Josh Kerr
  • 2nd Row for Roosters is number 12 Sitili Tupouniua

2nd Row for Dragons is number 12 Tariq Sims
  • Lock for Roosters is number 13 Victor Radley

Lock for Dragons is number 13 Tyrell Fuimaono
Interchange
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 14 Benjamin Marschke

Interchange for Dragons is number 14 Kaide Ellis
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 15 Jared Waerea-Hargreaves

Interchange for Dragons is number 15 Josh McGuire
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 16 Nat Butcher

Interchange for Dragons is number 16 Daniel Alvaro
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 17 Lindsay Collins

Interchange for Dragons is number 17 Brayden Wiliame
Reserves
  • Reserve for Roosters is number 18 Fletcher Baker

Reserve for Dragons is number 18 Billy Burns
  • Reserve for Roosters is number 19 Matt Ikuvalu

Reserve for Dragons is number 19 Poasa Faamausili
  • Reserve for Roosters is number 20 Egan Butcher

Reserve for Dragons is number 20 Jordan Pereira
  • Reserve for Roosters is number 21 Tuku Hau Tapuha

Reserve for Dragons is number 21 Ben Hunt
Roosters Ins
  • Brett Morris
  • Egan Butcher
  • Sam Verrills
  • Tuku Hau Tapuha
Ins
Dragons Ins
  • Ben Hunt
  • Blake Lawrie
  • Jordan Pereira
  • Poasa Faamausili
Roosters Outs
  • Adam Keighran
Outs
Dragons Ins
  • Trent Merrin
Match Officials
  • Referee: Ashley Klein
  • Touch Judge: Todd Smith
  • Touch Judge: Matt Noyen
  • Senior Review Official: Henry Perenara
Last updated: 07:40 pm Tuesday 20th April 2021

Key match-up
Sam Walker v Adam Clune: Walker has already shown that despite his young age and slight frame, he is at NRL standard. Clune has had his ups and downs, but if he can steer his team around in a competent manner, the likes of Dufty and Norman can take things from there.

Stat attack
The Roosters were credited with 51 missed tackles in their loss to the Storm. With the ball, their completion rate was just 70 per cent and they only managed 10 offloads for the match.

Head to NRL Pick'Em and get pickin’ to win a share of $100,000 cash every week!

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2021/04/20/nrl.com-preview-anzac-cup/

Crush

Momirovski asks for grade 2 careless high tackle to be downgraded, not successful, 3 weeks on the sidelines.
Next up Victor Radley exactly the same scenario. Stay tuned.

Aaaand there it is.
See you Sunday Radley.

It would be great if Poasa Faamausili steps up and has the game of his life against his old club . The Dragons really need to lift for this match and to do so , the forwards must play with venom in their tackles putting the tri-colors on their rump in each and every tackle .

If Griffin can lift the side from last weeks defeat and instill the same ferocity as the boys had against the Eels then it will be a very tight game , however should the Dragons slacken off during the match then it could be a long and disappointing drive back to the ‘gong .

Dragons by 2 . :innocent:

getsmarty

Lest we forget: Roosters and Dragons legends remember Anzac Day
Since its inception in 2002, the Anzac Day match between the Sydney Roosters and St George Illawarra Dragons has become one of the most significant occasions on the NRL calendar. Some of the legends from the two clubs including Brad Fittler, Ben Hornby, Anthony Minichiello and Jamie Soward share their memories of playing in the match

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/202...sters-and-dragons-legends-remember-anzac-day/