Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Will we make the top 4?

Kilkenny

I’m not making any excuses, in advance of our game with you guys.

I hope it is a cracking game and May the best team win.

I recall heaps predicting South's were going to expose our edges. Nek minute.
I assumed they would even if we hadn't lost heavily the week before. Souths' attack is perfectly suited to defeat our defence. They will also expose our edges (specifically our right edge) next time we face them. We need to control the ball and put our own pressure on them.

There’s nothing happening on the Panthers forum so thought I’d weigh in here.

The Eels will finish in the top four, don’t know what position they will finish in, but I think you will finish somewhere in the four.

Injuries are the big unknown in the remaining rounds, who knows what long term injuries could be sustained to key players amongst the top six sides. Suspensions and form also come into play I guess once we get closer to the end of the regular season but having a fit and healthy spine is probably the single most important factor in my opinion.

Your welcome to post here anytime. Panthers fans are always welcome. Except MugaB. That one should be kept in a cage.

Looks like no crowds for the next few weeks id say

We play our best footy in that environment I reckon (see last year)

Kilkenny

Your welcome to post here anytime. Panthers fans are always welcome. Except MugaB. That one should be kept in a cage.
Thank you, your very kind.

All the talk around the competition being a two horse race is frankly ridiculous.

I know you guys enjoy a narrative of being under dogs, shit coach and all, but seriously we won’t really know who the real contenders are until the regular season is over.

Injuries, suspensions, form, finishing positions all yet to be determined. A lot of footy to be played.

Could be a Bunnies v Sea Eagles GF who really knows.

Your mainstays on here enjoy a narrative around writing off your chances, that’s all good, it’s banter, but you are in the mix and are a contender. Once the semi finals roll around, it really is another seperate competition, perform on the day, get the rub of the green and anybody can beat anybody. The whole notion, shit they beat us by 40 in the regular season in round 6 or whatever means f**k all.

All the talk around the competition being a two horse race is frankly ridiculous.

I know you guys enjoy a narrative of being under dogs, shit coach and all, but seriously we won’t really know who the real contenders are until the regular season is over.

Injuries, suspensions, form, finishing positions all yet to be determined. A lot of footy to be played.

Your mainstays on here enjoy a narrative around writing off your chances, that’s all good, it’s banter, but you are in the mix and are a contender. Once the semi finals roll around, it really is another seperate competition, perform on the day, get the rub of the green and anybody can beat anybody. The whole notion, shit they beat us by 40 in the regular season in round 6 or whatever means f**k all.

I think our forward pack may go up a level in finals tbh. RCG and Papali are killing it. Jnr and Matterson are not at best but I am sure come finals they will hit straps. Browns just warming up also.
Kafusi,Bryce,Niakuore,Lane form a real powerfull and skillful bench. If our kicking game is on and back can hold own we can steam roll sides.
BA is not a super coach but not an idiot. He knows now isn't the time to fire all our shots. I reckon we are using a few of Bennets tricks. You watch Souths start to make a mess of sides after origin is complete.

You're just trying to get our hopes up!!

Kilkenny

You're just trying to get our hopes up!!
No far from it. I actually think you have a really competitive side, provided come semi final time your spine is intact and playing well. No different to any of the other six realistic contenders, you just need a healthy roster, your best spine available and in form going into the playoffs. If we fall over for whatever reason, I would much rather your side in the GF than the Storm, who you play thereafter would be inconsequential to me.