Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

"It’s very realistic to say that we’ll have a second team in Brisbane in 2023": V'landys

Jim Rockford

Why are you separating memberships from attendance when the only memberships that really matter are ticketed ones? Non-ticketed memberships are glorified marketing gimmicks in the NRL.

I also think that you'd be utterly surprised by how little clubs actually make from merchandise once everybody else takes their share. Not that I'm saying that merch isn't important, because it's very important, but the goal should be to get more financial commitment from the average customer than just the odd merch sale. Especially when I'd bet you anything that the average fan very rarely buys big ticket items like a jersey.
Seems you need to read up a bit more on memberships. Non-ticketed memberships can provide a lot of revenue to the club. Also, you obviously don't watch many games or you wouldn't make the completely ridiculous statement that "the average fan rarely buys big ticket items like a jersey". I guess the massive amounts of fans I see attending games in their jerseys must have found them or made their own. It's clear you're just talking out your arse so unless you have something constructive to say I'm done going around in circles with you.

Game day experience is a massive one that often gets overlooked. Most clubs put as little money and effort into it as possible then wonder why nobody is paying $30 to watch school assembly level entertainment.

The Raiders have gotten better over the years, and now have one of the better experiences in the NRL, but even they are trash compared to most of their competition.
what, you mean fans arent flocking to see a catch the bomb HT competition? Apart from the Bradford Bulls when SL started, Les Catalans was one of best game days Ive been to. Great atmosphere and Hog roast, local brewery tent, great picnic area and band playing all set up after the game in the adjacent park. The NRL Double Header at Optus was pretty good as well with bands playing between games and at each HT and who doesnt enjoy watching the kids play on the pitch at HT?

The Great Dane

what, you mean fans arent flocking to see a catch the bomb HT competition? Apart from the Bradford Bulls when SL started, Les Catalans was one of best game days Ive been to. Great atmosphere and Hog roast, local brewery tent, great picnic area and band playing all set up after the game in the adjacent park. The NRL Double Header at Optus was pretty good as well with bands playing between games and at each HT and who doesnt enjoy watching the kids play on the pitch at HT?
Obviously most of them are playing on another level when it comes to the money and resources they have to invest into it, but go and look at what the big leagues around the world are doing and it blows almost anything that is happening in Australia out of the water.

Obviously the WWE isn't a real sport, so it's easier for them to manipulate reactions from the crowd, but it'd be a good place for the NRL learn how to control the atmosphere in the arena.

The Great Dane

Seems you need to read up a bit more on memberships. Non-ticketed memberships can provide a lot of revenue to the club.
I know plenty about memberships; non-ticketed memberships only exist so clubs can pad their member numbers and make it look like they've sold significantly more tickets then they actually have to sponsors.

Now for a very hot take- The only reason they are popular at some clubs is because of posers from country towns wanting to pretend they are part of something that they really aren't, while their local RL clubs slowly go broke and die. But I digress.
Also, you obviously don't watch many games or you wouldn't make the completely ridiculous statement that "the average fan rarely buys big ticket items like a jersey". I guess the massive amounts of fans I see attending games in their jerseys must have found them or made their own. It's clear you're just talking out your arse so unless you have something constructive to say I'm done going around in circles with you.
All research worth a damn shows that the vast majority of people that claim to be NRL fans don't attend games regularly if at all. In other words the crowd at an NRL game isn't representative of the average fan, and probably hasn't been since 60s or 70s (take a guess what happened in the 60s and 70s).

And though I doubt anybody other than maybe the NRL and clubs have data on this, I still stand by the statement that the average fan isn't regularly buying big ticket items, as it's my overwhelming experience that that isn't the case.

titoelcolombiano

I've laid out why I take that position dozens of times, so I'm sorry but I'm not having that discussion with you again.

'Explore options', 'play some games', 'potentially', maybe do this maybe do that talk is anything but clear.

You're right about them being consistent on the subject though; consistently vague and non-committal.

LOL, f**k off.

May as well change all the teams names to the Australian Xs, because that way they'd appeal to all of Australia right?!

That's not how it works, you know that's not how it works, and you still haven't looked into the history of other clubs that have attempted what the Dolphins are attempting to do have you.

Look talking to you about this subject is an utter waste of time because you are simply too emotionally attached to it, and frankly completely ignorant about it, to have a meaningful discussion.
In other words, don't ask difficult questions or point out where I'm wrong.... got it ;)

The Great Dane

In other words, I'm right, you're wrong, don't ask difficult questions.... got it ;)
No in other words I've answered your first question dozens of times, the second you are simply objectively wrong as your own source shows, and the third isn't worth my time as you have proved yourself incapable of having a rational discussion about it multiple times.

I mean the fact that you pretend the criticism I made in that post doesn't exist is just further evidence that you're not worth the time.

MugaB

I've laid out why I take that position dozens of times, so I'm sorry but I'm not having that discussion with you again.

'Explore options', 'play some games', 'potentially', maybe do this maybe do that talk is anything but clear.

You're right about them being consistent on the subject though; consistently vague and non-committal.

LOL, f**k off.

May as well change all the teams names to the Australian Xs, because that way they'd appeal to all of Australia right?!

That's not how it works, you know that's not how it works, and you still haven't looked into the history of other clubs that have attempted what the Dolphins are attempting to do have you.

Look talking to you about this subject is an utter waste of time because you are simply too emotionally attached to it, and frankly completely ignorant about it, to have a meaningful discussion.
Talk about getting pissy, tito had pretty well worded rebuttles, and you just flipped the gameboard as youre sick of being challenged, this whole year its the same conversations getting brought up, by different posters, yet the one constant is yourself not being able to grasp that the dolphins are playing at suncorp 10 times a year, where the firehawks have no other choice but to play there only, but that doesn't mean that they themselves aren't looking to move away from there later down the line if an alternative would present itself.

Jim Rockford

Now for a very hot take- The only reason they are popular at some clubs is because of posers from country towns wanting to pretend they are part of something that they really aren't, while their local RL clubs slowly go broke and die. But I digress.
So someone from the country that can't physically attend the game but wants to support their club is a poser? What a sad, miserable lowlife you truly are. These "posers" as you call them are true fans while you are a know-it-all loser. Again, you claim that fans don't buy big ticket items like jerseys. How then do you account for the plethora of fans wearing jerseys at every single game? Like I said before you are just talking out your arse and are arguing for the sake of arguing. Is your miserable life that devoid of meaning that this is what you feel the need to do?

The Great Dane

Talk about getting pissy, tito had pretty well worded rebuttles, and you just flipped the gameboard as youre sick of being challenged, this whole year its the same conversations getting brought up, by different posters, yet the one constant is yourself not being able to grasp that the dolphins are playing at suncorp 10 times a year, where the firehawks have no other choice but to play there only, but that doesn't mean that they themselves aren't looking to move away from there later down the line if an alternative would present itself.
Mate I already showed you that the Dolphins haven't committed to playing at Suncorp 10 times a year, and titoelcolombiano source showed the exact same thing... Besides any game not played at Suncorp by the second Brisbane team is a game too many.

I also completely grasp the fact that in theory they plan to play most of their games at Suncorp, at least for the time being, but the fact that they plan to play most of their games at Suncorp is totally redundant to my argument against them. Honestly it's utterly meaningless.

The problem with Redcliffe is that no matter where they play they are incapable of appealing to a broader audience in Brisbane as they have made monumental marketing and branding mistakes which will alienate large portions of the broader market in Brisbane, and that will inevitably stunt the club's potential growth.

Just like you, a Penrith man, will never, ever, support the Roosters despite the fact that they are called 'Sydney', there're tens of thousands of people in Brisbane that will never, ever, support the Dolphins despite the fact that they plan to call themselves 'Brisbane'.
Why that is so hard for some people, namely you, to understand I have no f**king idea.

MugaB

Just like you, a Penrith man, will never, ever, support the Roosters despite the fact that they are called 'Sydney', there're tens of thousands of people in Brisbane that will never, ever, support the Dolphins despite the fact that they plan to call themselves 'Brisbane'.
Why that is so hard for some people, namely you, to understand I have no f**king idea.
You got that right you do have no idea

I was like you a norths supporter, but i live in parramatta and follow penrith which is half an hour east, im what you are referring to as the broader audience for panthers, but i don't live in the area, and attend maybe 4 home games a year, with the family.
And rightly so i wouldnt follow the roosters, not because of them being a rival sydney club, but because their name change suggest they are the be all end all of Sydney,
Theres 8 other clubs here, them pretending to be "sydney" is their inflatted ego

The Great Dane

So someone from the country that can't physically attend the game but wants to support their club is a poser?
Yep, because no matter how hard they try it'll never be their club, that club will never care about them or their region past the amount of money they can make out of them.

Their clubs are the Goulburn Workers Bulldogs, the Junee diesels, the Wagga Kangaroos, etc, etc, etc, ad nauseam, all of whom are struggling and dying in face of pressure from the AFL and the lack of resources to fight back, while those same posers cry about the death of the game in the bush, the death of their RL history and legacy, whilst doing absolutely nothing to try and prevent it from happening.

Every dime a bush footy fan spends on an NRL club is a dime that could have gone to a local club, and could be the difference between their kids and grandkids growing up RL fans or Aussie Rules fans.

The Murray region is already gone, it's been hard AFL territory for a while now, the Riverina, Eden Monaro, and Canberra it's self, will be next useless the RL 'fans' in those regions do something about it because the NRL has proven over the last 30 years that it doesn't give two shits about the bush unless there's something they can get out of it.

The Great Dane

You got that right you do have no idea

I was like you a norths supporter, but i live in parramatta and follow penrith which is half an hour east, im what you are referring to as the broader audience for panthers, but i don't live in the area, and attend maybe 4 home games a year, with the family.
And rightly so i wouldnt follow the roosters, not because of them being a rival sydney club, but because their name change suggest they are the be all end all of Sydney,
Theres 8 other clubs here, them pretending to be "sydney" is their inflatted ego
So in the Roosters case it's 'inflated ego', but in the Dolphins case it's good marketing practice. Right...

Do you not see that a lot of RL fans in Brisbane, probably the majority of them, will have the exact same/similar reaction to the Redcliffe Dolphins changing their name to Brisbane as you have to Easts changing theirs to Sydney, or the people of Canberra had to Tuggeranong changing theirs to Canberra multiple times.

It will fail, just like the Sydney Tigers, Sydney Bulldogs, Canberra Vikings, and many more failed, and the NRL simply can't afford another expansion team that fails to live up to expectations.

MugaB

Yep, because no matter how hard they try it'll never be their club, that club will never care about them or their region past the amount of money they can make out of them.

Their clubs are the Goulburn Workers Bulldogs, the Junee diesels, the Wagga Kangaroos, etc, etc, etc, ad nauseam, all of whom are struggling and dying in face of pressure from the AFL and the lack of resources to fight back, while those same posers cry about the death of the game in the bush, the death of their RL history and legacy, whilst doing absolutely nothing to try and prevent it from happening.

Every dime a bush footy fan spends on an NRL club is a dime that could have gone to a local club, and could be the difference between their kids and grandkids growing up RL fans or Aussie Rules fans.

The Murray region is already gone, it's been hard AFL territory for a while now, the Riverina, Eden Monaro, and Canberra it's self, will be next useless the RL 'fans' in those regions do something about it because the NRL has proven over the last 30 years that it doesn't give two shits about the bush unless there's something they can get out of it.
Correct the clubs have been greedy litte pigs for far too long, i hope the current ARLC are really looking into help fund bush footy, im pretty sure they mentioned the effects of penrith being in bathurst every year, being a similar path for other clubs, but each club runs differently and you just know the pilfering they would do

MugaB

So in the Roosters case it's 'inflated ego', but in the Dolphins case it's good marketing practice. Right...

Do you not see that a lot of RL fans in Brisbane, probably the majority of them, will have the exact same/similar reaction to the Redcliffe Dolphins changing their name to Brisbane as you have to Easts changing theirs to Sydney, or the people of Canberra had to Tuggeranong changing theirs to Canberra multiple times.

It will fail, just like the Sydney Tigers, Sydney Bulldogs, Canberra Vikings, and many more failed, and the NRL simply can't afford another expansion team that fails to live up to expectations.
Not really as they the dolphins are a new entity, like the brissie firehawks are with easts, no one counts the qrl or brl, its always ever been about nswrl/arl/nrl, and eastern suburbs roosters being easts are those greedy little pigs i was talking about
I'd agree with you if their was 3 or 4 other clubs in brisbane, but their isn't, and there was never a " SYDNEY" , broncos are the opposite, they started as brisbane.
Anyways its a moot point, but it pisses me off regardless, the easts tigers club just recently renamed themselves as the brisbane tigers, thats gotta piss off the other qrl supporters a bit

The Great Dane

Correct the clubs have been greedy litte pigs for far too long, i hope the current ARLC are really looking into help fund bush footy, im pretty sure they mentioned the effects of penrith being in bathurst every year, being a similar path for other clubs, but each club runs differently and you just know the pilfering they would do
How can they possibly do that when they've given almost every cent they had to invest back into the game to the NRL clubs through inflated grants?

Jim Rockford

My cousin lives in Tamworth and has a non-ticketed membership. I don't need a worthless piece of shit like you telling me that Souths will never be his club. Like I already said, you are a miserable,pathetic lowlife and I wouldn't piss on you if you were on fire.

The Great Dane

Not really as they are a new entity, like the brissie firehawks are with easts, no one counts the qrl or brl, its always ever been about nswrl/arl/nrl, and easts being easts are those greedy little pigs i was talking about
Only a person from Sydney would say something like that with a straight face.

You are off your head if you think that the BRL and QRL aren't/weren't very important in Queensland, and don't hold sway with fans in the region.

MugaB

Only a person from Sydney would say something like that with a straight face.

You are off your head if you think that the BRL and QRL aren't/weren't very important in Queensland, and don't hold sway with fans in the region.
I dont disagree, i have a different view point, but when the broncos came in 1988, BRL was almost forgotten, you can't blame me for thinking they didn't care as much

The Great Dane

My cousin lives in Tamworth and has a non-ticketed membership. I don't need a worthless piece of shit like you telling me that Souths will never be his club. Like I already said, you are a miserable,pathetic lowlife and I wouldn't piss on you if you were on fire.
Somebody has allowed their elephant to take control of the rider, ha ha.

Seriously though, spare me the faux outrage.

I previously volunteered in and around bush footy for years and years, and everything I said is reflective of the reality facing bush footy, especially in southern NSW. But what starts in Southern NSW will reach further and further north if it's not stopped.

The Great Dane

I dont disagree, i have a different view point, but when the broncos came in 1988, BRL was almost forgotten, you can't blame me for thinking they didn't care as much
Not by the sort of people whom will be inclined to support a second Brisbane club. You know the sort of people whom hate the Broncos.

I wonder what is one of the main reasons why many people in Brisbane hate Broncos. Care to explain to him @Get Rid of The Donkeys?