Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd4: 615pm Eels v Dragons GAME DAY THREAD @ Commbank Stadium 3/4/22

TheRam

Comparing him to Elvis is like @hineyrulz comparing BA to Bellamy.

I'm not comparing him the the great man mate, but that what some nicknamed him back in the day.

BTW just so you know if you don't already, the Diamond and Elvis were friends and neighbours for a time and admired each others music and even recorded each others songs ffs. I think Elvis knows talent when he sees it, don't you?

You may not like Diamonds songs or music, but they are hardly sh*t. The man is a legend in the music world for a reason. Not your cup of tea, sure I get that, but for many millions he is their Champagne.

I also don’t get the Gutherson hate. He is only second to Hayne as the best fullback I’ve seen at our club.
We have had some pretty good fullbacks ... whether he is 2nd or whatever is a bit irrelevant in my eyes - but for people to say he is shit is mind boggling to me - all players make some mistakes, he makes one or two and suddenly he is shit

I think this game established Mitchell Moses as an elite halfback. He is definitely now on the podium with Cleary and DCE.

Without doubt he has the best long range kicking game I’ve seen and his defence has improved out of sight. Getting rid of that peanut, Norman was a master stroke and allowed him to flourish.
Everything he did in this game he has done before .... its just a matter of consistently producing it and in big games

TheRam

Maybe some of us realise it’s just a movie and don’t get so emotionally invested.

Many billions of people laugh, scream and cry during movies mate. I call that being emotionally invested.

Sorry I didn't realize you were a cyborg or feelingless sociopath. Why do you even bother then?

84 Baby

Mate your responses and statements on this issue are so dumb. For example, Burton is a half. Penrith have two rep halves already playing for them and one of them is currently the best player in the world that has a brilliant relationship with his 5/8th partner. So Burton played centre, because he is like Fitler used to be or Kenny before him and can play both positions, but half is where his future lies.

Therefore need I spell out the rest dumb, dumb? OK I will. What does Burton have to do to get the opportunity to play in his preferred position, which will also give him double the salary if he proves to be a standout player playing there?

Answer for the dummies = Another club.

The Panthers as Hindy has pointed out have only by enlarge lost the lesser players in their squad with the exception of only a couple that are being replaced by new and virtually equal quality players. The sign of a very, very good development club that keeps its best developed players and brings in new ones when needed. And guess what, they won a premiership and are on their way to a Dynasty by holding on to all the best ones that they can fit in.
Hey dumber because the other dumby already took the convo off track it’s gotten off the question of whether he and now you were banging on about us resigning Drown well before his price tag exploded or do you want to admit you’ve got no idea, particularly about managing a salary cap?
Anyway not resigning Burton still has risk attached to it for Penrith. He was a part of their winning team. It doesn’t matter what position he plays. Could they afford to keep him? Probably not (although given they’re the greatest, surely they’d have the best negotiators to just get him signed?) but price tag is just another component of the decision.

King-Gutho94

We have had some pretty good fullbacks ... whether he is 2nd or whatever is a bit irrelevant in my eyes - but for people to say he is shit is mind boggling to me - all players make some mistakes, he makes one or two and suddenly he is shit
If you could combine Hayne's natural ability and Guthos effort and commitment to everything he does you would have the best player in the game.

Many billions of people laugh, scream and cry during movies mate. I call that being emotionally invested.

Sorry I didn't realize you were a cyborg or feelingless sociopath. Why do you even bother then?
It’s a sliding scale. I like to see them win but I’m not going to shit my pants over it.

I stopped being heavily invested after the shit show that was the 2005 preliminary final match against the Cowboys.

we've been no lower than 5th since 2019, can someone explain to me how that is mediocre ?

mediocre
/ˌmiːdɪˈəʊkə/

of only average quality; not very good.

I would have thought mediocre is middle of the pack ie; average

TheRam

Hey dumber because the other dumby already took the convo off track it’s gotten off the question of whether he and now you were banging on about us resigning Drown well before his price tag exploded or do you want to admit you’ve got no idea, particularly about managing a salary cap?
Anyway not resigning Burton still has risk attached to it for Penrith. He was a part of their winning team. It doesn’t matter what position he plays. Could they afford to keep him? Probably not (although given they’re the greatest, surely they’d have the best negotiators to just get him signed?) but price tag is just another component of the decision.

Hardly a real major risk when you have the best halves combo in the game and are making GF's. Centre is hardly one of the hardest positions to fill, especially when you have currently the best junior development system setup in the country to go find another one from. Oh and guess what dummy, They did just that.

They seem to be managing their salary cap just fine. We are the ones you should be worried about. We haven't even made it past week 2 in the finals and still can't keep players. That is all we are saying here. We need to make sure we don't lose what we grow, otherwise why bother farming and lets just buy off the shelf. If we lose a player like Dylan Brown, when it is obvious that he will be a genuine star, then we haven't go the best and clueyest people in charge. High quality halves in particular should never be lost in their prime by a well run club, no matter what unless you have an equal or better replacement. Lose anyone else, but not halves, top shelf Frontrowers, Hookers or Fullbacks. When I say top shelf I mean top 3 in their position, because they are basically irreplaceable.

Now is Gutho in the top 3 fullbacks in the game? Even the most zealous fan would have to say no if they were being fair dinkum. He would be lucky to be in the top six. In other words he is very replaceable. I love the guy for all the efforts and even leadership he provides, but I would rather lose him any day of the week then lose a top 3 half. They are irreplaceable and you win Premierships with them. Gutho is an effort player, but as an example Dylan Edwards from the Panthers would give us a better strike option then Gutho does and I betcha he isn't on $800-900K like Gutho is. To further illustrate Hindy's and my point we have already unearthed a ready replacement for Gutho, in Russell. He could have easily moved into Gutho's Fullback position and done a more then adequate job and slowly with more maturity and experience might actually be a better attacking weapon overall. Now do we have anyone in the lower grades that can replace D. Brown that anyone can say with any certainty would equal or better him?

The answer of course is no, so he is the priority and we are all hoping big time that our management have allowed for that and will be up to the task skill negotiating wise to keep him. Money wise, just like all the other well run clubs tend to keep their stars on a little less when they have come through their junior system, we should expect the same.

Obscene Assassin

we've been no lower than 5th since 1919, can someone explain to me how that is mediocre ?

mediocre
/ˌmiːdɪˈəʊkə/

of only average quality; not very good.

I would have thought mediocre is middle of the pack ie; average

1919? We've been above average since before we even entered the comp.

When it's inevitably changed to 2019, we have the longest current streak of finishing the round in the top 8. We're putting ourselves in the position to go that next step.

Gazzamatta

I’m pretty sure when Manly were putting 50 on us it wasn’t a coaching issue the squad was not good enough. Now we are a chance?? I think we’ve always been a chance, luck and coaching smarts are what have held us back in most. I think the Mary and Ennis signings are a step in the right direction.
Was Mary allowed back in the coaches box for the Drags game?

TheRam

It’s a sliding scale. I like to see them win but I’m not going to shit my pants over it.

I stopped being heavily invested after the shit show that was the 2005 preliminary final match against the Cowboys.

That just sounds like someone that has been defeated by our pathetic capitulating performances over a very long time.

Guess what? With that post you have only backed up and reinforced our feelings. We just choose to vent about it, you are just numb to it all. People react differently to negative and repeated bad outcomes. But your feelings and ours are exactly the same, despair and sadness at our inability to win when it really counts. Just because you choose to look at the bright side or ignore the negatives, doesn't really make you positive or those negatives don't exist.

They are real and you have all but confirmed them in your cool indifference and fear of getting you heart hurt/broken again. I get that, but others like @hineyrulz and myself like to vent and complain. We can't just play it cool and indifferent.

Each to their own of course. But we are right about our clubs shortcomings and you know it. You have just taken the stance that you nor any other fan on here can do anything about it. But the problem with that is, it doesn't matter. We are fans of a footy club and passion is a footy clubs life blood. If most of our supporters were like you or pou, I don't think it would be to long before the club started to die.

Passion, joy, praise, sadness, criticism and anger is the life blood of all great footy clubs. Without it they just aren't much of a footy club really, are they? I dare say that is a real big part of why you and all of us keep coming back here. We love the freakouts and the multitudes of different points of view. But the angry and over the top meltdowns are the best on many levels. It's the way we let it out and express ourselves.

We are the biggest club in our State and having the longest drought in the code, we therefore are also the angriest and saddest club supporters as well. Of course we are going to BLOWUP FFS!!!

84 Baby

That is all we are saying here.
Why would I give a flying f**k what you are saying if you haven’t read what I said?
At least now you’ve given a tangible position on Gutho/Russell but I’d really be interested (like my question in the first place FFS) about when in your opinion Drown moved into the top 3 halves in the game?

That just sounds like someone that has been defeated by our pathetic capitulating performances over a very long time.

Guess what? With that post you have only backed up and reinforced our feelings. We just choose to vent about it, you are just numb to it all. People react differently to negative and repeated bad outcomes. But your feelings and ours are exactly the same, despair and sadness at our inability to win when it really counts. Just because you choose to look at the bright side or ignore the negatives, doesn't really make you positive or those negatives don't exist.

They are real and you have all but confirmed them in your cool indifference and fear of getting you heart hurt/broken again. I get that, but others like @hineyrulz and myself like to vent and complain. We can't just play it cool and indifferent.

Each to their own of course. But we are right about our clubs shortcomings and you know it. You have just taken the stance that you nor any other fan on here can do anything about it. But the problem with that is, it doesn't matter. We are fans of a footy club and passion is a footy clubs life blood. If most of our supporters were like you or pou, I don't think it would be to long before the club started to die.

Passion, joy, praise, sadness, criticism and anger is the life blood of all great footy clubs. Without it they just aren't much of a footy club really, are they? I dare say that is a real big part of why you and all of us keep coming back here. We love the freakouts and the multitudes of different points of view. But the angry and over the top meltdowns are the best on many levels. It's the way we let it out and express ourselves.

We are the biggest club in our State and having the longest drought in the code, we therefore are also the angriest and saddest club supporters as well. Of course we are going to BLOWUP FFS!!!
I don’t really have a problem with the blow ups.

It’s the dogshit analysis, refusual to understand that most problems are multi-variate and willingness to simplistically scapegoat merkins that causes me to comment and offer an alternative view.