Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd4: 615pm Eels v Dragons GAME DAY THREAD @ Commbank Stadium 3/4/22

Actually, I reckon all decent sized TPA's come from larger, national companies who want brand exposure from the player because of the recognisable profile of the player - Slater had a large TPA with the Australian Banana industry and there were billboards all over Melbourne at the time with just Slater's head and a bunch of bananas. Mennings had a TPA with Nike.

()

You have to remember that the player cannot be associated with their NRL club when promoting the TPA partner, can't wear their footy gear, or anything with a logo, etc. so they have to be recognisable in their own right.

Smaller TPA's come from companies who have an owner or key executives with a passion for the team but these are effectively cash giveaways for the TPA provider.

It costs about $25k to be an official player sponsor which get your company logo on the screen when the team is announced and when a player scores, as well as on social media. https://www.parraeels.com.au/corporate/individual-player-sponsorship/
It's important to distinguish between the TPAs that don't benefit a given club (e.g. Slater and Jennings, at least ostensibly) and those that are tied directly to the club, such as the one Maloney almost got the Panthers in trouble over: https://dailytelegraph.com.au/sport...t/news-story/f989d13f5015a8e3f19073b762923163

Maybe some of us realise it’s just a movie and don’t get so emotionally invested.
Or we want to see the underdog get up. Honestly, I was bored as f**k as an Eels supporter in the eighties because Parramatta dominance was all I knew until I was almost a teenager.

We all know mate.

No one loves mediocrity like Pou does. It's kind of ironic really, how you win gold medals in it all the time. The true all time undefeated super heavy weight mediocre champion of the sports fan world...Poupou Escobar! All Hail King Pou Pou! May he live a long and mediocre life just the way he likes it forever. A true champion of the empty trophy cabinets brigade for all the ages. So lets all hear it the for the fruitless one...Hip hip hooray, Hip hip hooray, Hip hip hooray!
Where's the fun in seeing heavyweights finishing top four every year? How could you cheer for that with the same fervour?

Hardly a real major risk when you have the best halves combo in the game and are making GF's. Centre is hardly one of the hardest positions to fill, especially when you have currently the best junior development system setup in the country to go find another one from. Oh and guess what dummy, They did just that.

They seem to be managing their salary cap just fine. We are the ones you should be worried about. We haven't even made it past week 2 in the finals and still can't keep players. That is all we are saying here. We need to make sure we don't lose what we grow, otherwise why bother farming and lets just buy off the shelf. If we lose a player like Dylan Brown, when it is obvious that he will be a genuine star, then we haven't go the best and clueyest people in charge. High quality halves in particular should never be lost in their prime by a well run club, no matter what unless you have an equal or better replacement. Lose anyone else, but not halves, top shelf Frontrowers, Hookers or Fullbacks. When I say top shelf I mean top 3 in their position, because they are basically irreplaceable.

Now is Gutho in the top 3 fullbacks in the game? Even the most zealous fan would have to say no if they were being fair dinkum. He would be lucky to be in the top six. In other words he is very replaceable. I love the guy for all the efforts and even leadership he provides, but I would rather lose him any day of the week then lose a top 3 half. They are irreplaceable and you win Premierships with them. Gutho is an effort player, but as an example Dylan Edwards from the Panthers would give us a better strike option then Gutho does and I betcha he isn't on $800-900K like Gutho is. To further illustrate Hindy's and my point we have already unearthed a ready replacement for Gutho, in Russell. He could have easily moved into Gutho's Fullback position and done a more then adequate job and slowly with more maturity and experience might actually be a better attacking weapon overall. Now do we have anyone in the lower grades that can replace D. Brown that anyone can say with any certainty would equal or better him?

The answer of course is no, so he is the priority and we are all hoping big time that our management have allowed for that and will be up to the task skill negotiating wise to keep him. Money wise, just like all the other well run clubs tend to keep their stars on a little less when they have come through their junior system, we should expect the same.
You're missing the fact that leadership is so important to a playing group, and it is leaders that must be retained first and foremost (with some leadership tax, unfortunately), especially in a club that doesn't appear to have a lot of leadership in its playing group. You probably don't understand this as you wouldn't have much experience with strong leadership.

But your feelings and ours are exactly the same, despair and sadness at our inability to win when it really counts.
The difference is that 2005 side actually was the best team in the comp that year. It was a massive failure that we didn't win it. Since then we haven't had a team that even came close to being that good, so not winning "when it really counts" is a false equivalence. We have been outclassed since 2005. We haven't ever choked. The biggest failure was 2018, and the strength of our recovery showed where we went wrong that year. The club learned the lesson of the frog and the scorpion.

Angry_eel

The difference is that 2005 side actually was the best team in the comp that year. It was a massive failure that we didn't win it. Since then we haven't had a team that even came close to being that good, so not winning "when it really counts" is a false equivalence. We have been outclassed since 2005. We haven't ever choked. The biggest failure was 2018, and the strength of our recovery showed where we went wrong that year. The club learned the lesson of the frog and the scorpion.
God knows what happened that year in 2005. It was the weirdest thing ever.

Of course, I blamed Daniel Wagon but not sure what was the reason really.

For those not in the know of the Frog and Scorpion lesson

Best explained here

84 Baby

God knows what happened that year in 2005. It was the weirdest thing ever.

Of course, I blamed Daniel Wagon but not sure what was the reason really.
I blame Ken McIntyre. Pantsing a shit Manly side in week 1 and then getting a week off wasn’t good preparation.

I was being sarcastic and The wrong people liked it. Very funny

But in truth the point is.... GET A 2ND TEAM FFS
I knew you weren’t being serious but I thought a like might encourage you to talk sense more often.