Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

From my reading you use about 14Kw of battery per 100kms.

So most cars have about 40Kw batteries so approx 300kms.

To charge gets tricks. At home a standard plug giving 10Amps at 240V will give you 2.4Kw per hour of charge. So it would take 18hrs to charge a 40Kw. Battery.

But you can get fast chargers rated 7.2Kw. That's 3 x faster.
But still looking at 6hrs. Problem is its pulling 30Amps. That's a lot of strain on the power grid and on peoples homes who have 63Amps you've lost half. Hot water kicks in and another 20A is gone. Most unit blocks couldn't dream of 30A chargers. Most town houses and units have 40Amps.

The next charger you need 415 V which rules out most peoples homes. I assume charging stations will have these style.

Anyhows if ther exists already pressure on our electricity grid they'll need to sort it out before every home is putting these in. Id imagine everyone will atleast need the 7.2Kw which draws 30Amps for 6hrs. Id say it is very rare anyone is pulling 30Amps at their homes for more then maybe a total of 2hrs a day.

I think my average is about 11Kw a day. So a 40Kw battery is 4 days worth of power. For 300kms? That seems ridiculous
I have these two LED bulbs in the ceiling of my stairway. I put them in less than two years ago. However recently when I switch the stairway light on it's been quite dim initially, suddenly brightening to full brightness after a few minutes. Anyway in the last few days they usually stay dim. Is it likely a problem with the bulbs or something else? I don't want to hear about amps and shit, or jokes about my eyesight ffs

Well if both globes worked fine and then started doing this at the sametime you'd imagine its unlikely the globes. But if it wasn't simultaneous then most likely globes. Are they 240V globes or 12v globes? What type of fittings? If downlights did you change the whole fitting or just the globe?
If both started doing at exact sametime but it could be a street issue and fluctuating voltages. And if cheap fittings/globes they are more sensitive.

Bandwagon

From my reading you use about 14Kw of battery per 100kms.

So most cars have about 40Kw batteries so approx 300kms.

To charge gets tricks. At home a standard plug giving 10Amps at 240V will give you 2.4Kw per hour of charge. So it would take 18hrs to charge a 40Kw. Battery.

But you can get fast chargers rated 7.2Kw. That's 3 x faster.
But still looking at 6hrs. Problem is its pulling 30Amps. That's a lot of strain on the power grid and on peoples homes who have 63Amps you've lost half. Hot water kicks in and another 20A is gone. Most unit blocks couldn't dream of 30A chargers. Most town houses and units have 40Amps.

The next charger you need 415 V which rules out most peoples homes. I assume charging stations will have these style.

Anyhows if ther exists already pressure on our electricity grid they'll need to sort it out before every home is putting these in. Id imagine everyone will atleast need the 7.2Kw which draws 30Amps for 6hrs. Id say it is very rare anyone is pulling 30Amps at their homes for more then maybe a total of 2hrs a day.

I think my average is about 11Kw a day. So a 40Kw battery is 4 days worth of power. For 300kms? That seems ridiculous

For most folk though they won't need to charge the battery from empty to full all that much as they're not driving 300k's in a day all that often, so drive maybe 100k's daily and you replenish that overnight on a standard plug in six or seven hours. That's better for the battery life as well not running a full cycle.

But your point is well taken, there's gotta be some serious thinking about how this kind of thing gets integrated into our infrastructure and how shit works. For example we don't want a heap of merkins getting home from work at 6pm in summer, and plugging in their cars right on peak load times, we need to be smarter and ensure that we use these things in a manner that smooths load.

Like say for the above example when old mate gets home and plugs his car in, the grid demand determines whether it gets charged, or it discharges to supply power to the home or grid, and then as load drops it begins to charge. That way every ev acts as a storage battery for general consumption and if done well baseload requirements would be lessened because we'd smooth out the current peaks and troughs in demand.

More likely though we'll get a half arsed effort that's every man for himself and get to a point where the grid just keeps collapsing 'cause it can't handle the peaks.

For most folk though they won't need to charge the battery from empty to full all that much as they're not driving 300k's in a day all that often, so drive maybe 100k's daily and you replenish that overnight on a standard plug in six or seven hours. That's better for the battery life as well not running a full cycle.

But your point is well taken, there's gotta be some serious thinking about how this kind of thing gets integrated into our infrastructure and how shit works. For example we don't want a heap of merkins getting home from work at 6pm in summer, and plugging in their cars right on peak load times, we need to be smarter and ensure that we use these things in a manner that smooths load.

Like say for the above example when old mate gets home and plugs his car in, the grid demand determines whether it gets charged, or it discharges to supply power to the home or grid, and then as load drops it begins to charge. That way every ev acts as a storage battery for general consumption and if done well baseload requirements would be lessened because we'd smooth out the current peaks and troughs in demand.

More likely though we'll get a half arsed effort that's every man for himself and get to a point where the grid just keeps collapsing 'cause it can't handle the peaks.

What about house and units with no parking?
I reckon most likely charge stations will have charges that will charge in 10mins.

And what happens with petrol cars if bought a new one?

Bandwagon

I read somewhere that the batteries account for roughly 50% of the car cost.

A lot needs to happen for Electric cars to be a viable solution. Especially for large trade companies and delivery services.

If you look at lifetime cost of owning and running a vehicle and understand that although upfront costs of owning an ev are larger, but running costs are lower, then consider that running costs aren't time based, they're km based, up to the point where range becomes an issue, fleets that do a fair bit of k's ( especially those that spend a lot of time in traffic ) will recover those upfront costs through savings far more quickly than would the average pleb.

So to the contrary, for many fleet operators there'll be a greater financial incentive to switch over than for a private user. For some admittedly it won't work, and for others to take advantage of the potential cost reductions it might involve a rethink around how it operates, but in the end the dollars will dictate the outcome.

Bandwagon

What about house and units with no parking?
I reckon most likely charge stations will have charges that will charge in 10mins.

And what happens with petrol cars if bought a new one?

What about, what about. There's gonna be a need for different solutions to different problems, because any given solution doesn't address all given problems doesn't make that solution unviable, what it means is that there is no one solution, nor one single answer to all problems.

What I offered up there is a solution to several problems, not a solution to every problem. So yeah, charge stations will likely be a thing for a lot of folk, how we power them also needs to be addressed. Like I said, we really need to think about how we integrate EV's into our infrastructure, and how we can benefit from doing so. I'd say though that probably the dumbest thing we could do is to try and make the systems we use for ICE vehicles work for EV's, because the needs are so very different.

Everyone "filling up" at a charging station as you would a petrol station will simply not work once a critical mass of vehicles become electric, and folks who concern themselves with how that makes shit unviable rather than look for opportunities and advantages are doing themselves no favours.

Just think about how we changed from horse and cart to motor vehicles, there was probably merkins back then saying how you gonna fuel them, there's simply not enough hay.

Bandwagon

I am wondering if I should sell the VL and my Holden ute while worth money

Hard to pick a market, but these things aren't driven by practicality, they're driven by desire, so if you figure there's gonna be merkins out there that will still desire to own them, the practicalities of owning them won't really be a thing.

The biggest hand break apart from infrastructure is how the gov will claw back the 15 billion a year in fuel excise.

I can say from first hand that most strata managers are on notice to start advising their Owners Corporations on EV charging upgrades should be incorporated in their 10 year Capital Works Fund plans. Local council are installing fast charge stations in the streets of Randwick, Bondi Junction, Paddington etc and the coles or Westfields carparks are all being retrofitted with a huge number of EV charging stations.

I read in the local paper that local service stations will have a bank of fast charge docs installed in their Coles Express etc service stations within 12 months. Service station owners don't see the transition as impacting profitability.

It will be interesting cause what would a charge station charge vs home electricity?
Would be great if had solar but at the sametime with current prices and based on 15k a year you'd be looking at about $1,000 to run it.
My Corrola would cost $1,800 on fuel.

I know factories will pay less then half what we would do. Big charge stations would have overheads but would it be as much as a fuel station? They could almost be designed to be self service and pay at the meter.

I could imagine in large drives they could set up huge solar field and charge stations running off that. Huge initial outlay but long term great

Probably the best thing factories could do is set up solar on roofs that directly feed the charges. Good incentive for your workers also.