Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What those advocating afl style expansion don't want u to know

docbrown

People don't support a club purely based on what Council name is on there rates notice.
It is strange logic. There weren't even top tier clubs in NSW outside of Sydney until 40 years ago. Even in places like Canberra, Wollongong and Newcastle that now have local teams you still have lots of supporters of Sydney NRL clubs. People also relocate all the time within Sydney and to the regional/rural areas, taking their club allegiances with them, also passing them down to their children. Kids are also known to pick teams to support based on their favourite animals and colours (a win for the dolphins there!).

Canard

I've compared pre-COVID vs post-COVID in other threads.

Here's the reports.

P29.

$4m last year and $2.77m in 2020.

In 2018 and 2019 it was $6.1m and $5.6m. That's before COVID-19 and still well down on what Cowboys generate in a regional city of just 180k.

P27.

So it's closer to $6M annually before Covid.

Why is this one metric, seemingly your sole judge in terms of a teams viability?

Canard

It is strange logic. There weren't even top tier clubs in NSW outside of Sydney until 40 years ago. Even in places like Canberra, Wollongong and Newcastle that now have local teams you still have lots of supporters of Sydney NRL clubs. People also relocate all the time within Sydney and to the regional/rural areas, taking their club allegiances with them, also passing them down to their children. Kids are also known to pick teams to support based on their favourite animals and colours (a win for the dolphins there!).

QLD, for example is full of NRL fans of NSW clubs that have never even visited Sydney.

docbrown

QLD, for example is full of NRL fans of NSW clubs that have never even visited Sydney.
You're right. Roy Morgan used to get paid (unsure if they still do) by the NRL to do geographic breakdowns of club supporters. They use it in negotiations with sponsors.

So it's closer to $6M annually before Covid.

Why is this one metric, seemingly your sole judge in terms of a teams viability?
After winning a GF it peaked and then began declining to what it is today.

Cowboys were able to generate $8.9m in 2021 and $6.4m in 2020. You cannot say COVID-19 only impacted Sharks.

Cowboys didn't make the finals between 17-22. Sharks were more than competitive during this period.

Sponsorship is a very important metric because it shows how much a club's brand is worth to the corporate sector. Rugby League is a professional sport. If we want to grow we will need to start maximising revenue from sponsorship, membership, gate receipts and hospitality because the revenue from broadcast rights and gaming machines isn't guaranteed to be around forever.

What happens when pokies are phased out of licenced venues?

Foxtel and Ch9 don't give a f**k about our game and said as much through their actions.

So why aren't you pushing for two or three smaller Sydney clubs to relocate to Adelaide, Perth and New Zealand?

If you believe there are so many Cronulla fans around the country and people don't give a f**k where they're based then all of their remaining fans will avidly support the Adelaide Sharks, yeah?

No one will threaten to give up the game and go watch the Swans?

Then that settles it!

Adelaide Sharks here we come with the West Coast Pirates!

You're right. Roy Morgan used to get paid (unsure if they still do) by the NRL to do geographic breakdowns of club supporters. They use it in negotiations with sponsors.
So why is the sponsorship value of the Sydney clubs so low?

The only fans who matter are those who actively support their team.

docbrown

So why aren't you pushing for two or three smaller Sydney clubs to relocate to Adelaide, Perth and New Zealand?

If you believe there are so many Cronulla fans around the country and people don't give a f**k where they're based then all of their remaining fans will avidly support the Adelaide Sharks, yeah?

No one will threaten to give up the game and go watch the Swans?

Then that settles it!

Adelaide Sharks here we come with the West Coast Pirates!

You obviously missed the part where Canard and I were specifically talking about NSW and QLD...
So how do you explain the all-Sydney GF drawing horrible ratings in Brisbane?

What about games not involving the Queensland teams and Melbourne drawing dreadful ratings in Brisbane?

This has been going on for years.

docbrown

So why is the sponsorship value of the Sydney clubs so low?

The only fans who matter are those who actively support their team.
There are lots of things that affect sponsorship values. On field performances - not just in the past year but over the longterm. Sponsors want to associate themselves with success. Fanbase demographics (young vs old, male vs female). Who are you selling your product to? Market size is important but it's only one of them. But I can tell you another big one - FTA coverage. You talk about the Broncos deal but you don't mention that they got 17 games in 2022. Sharks got 8. If it was flipped you'd see both sponsorship values change. To suggest that only one factor is important doesn't reflect the actual reality of how advertising works.

Canard

What about games not involving the Queensland teams and Melbourne drawing dreadful ratings in Brisbane?

Only two GF since 2006 featured QLD teams, some of which have been the highest rating games of all time.

Colk

$2billion extra over 10 years, $700mill extra over next 5 years. they can afford to be as ambitious, wasteful, fanciful as they like!
They needed nine games, Sydney and GC provide better long term ROI opportunities than Tassie and Canberra as 17 and 18.
$4.5billion mammoth deal would suggest they know what they are doing lol

You think a team in tassie and canberra costs much less than the 2 they chose? You think they get $643mil a year without 5 city reach and 9 games? You think with $200mill-300mil ayear more revenue than NRl they cant afford it long term? Please!
If we had half the balls we would have a team in Adelaide and Perth by now and had Brisbane2 a decade ago.

They already had a 5 city reach though. Look if they went with one ambitious side (a second Sydney/Brisbane side) and relatively safe side (say Tasmania) it would be less costly for them.

docbrown

The same way I explain the horrible ratings elsewhere. The result was a foregone conclusion.

What's your argument? That Sydney NRL clubs should pull the same as the Broncos in Brisbane? Nobody is suggesting that. It's a strawman argument. That's like saying the Broncos should draw the same as the Knights in Newcastle. The Queensland teams are obviously going to be several times more popular than the Sydney NRL clubs in Queensland -- BUT -- that doesn't mean that there are no Sydney NRL club supporters in Queensland either or that they are insignificant. People only believe that if they're unaware of the reality or have an agenda to push.

There are lots of things that affect sponsorship values. On field performances - not just in the past year but over the longterm. Sponsors want to associate themselves with success. Fanbase demographics (young vs old, male vs female). Who are you selling your product to? Market size is important but it's only one of them. But I can tell you another big one - FTA coverage. You talk about the Broncos deal but you don't mention that they got 17 games in 2022. Sharks got 8. If it was flipped you'd see both sponsorship values change. To suggest that only factor is important doesn't reflect the actual reality of how advertising works.
Broncos are on FTA regularly because they rate well. Sharks aren't on FTA very often because their rating are below average.

Only two GF since 2006 featured QLD teams, some of which have been the highest rating games of all time.

This is an article from 2012.

Both Fox Sports and Channel Nine are keen to televise a second Brisbane team and capitalise on the parochial ratings of Queenslanders.

With only three Queensland NRL teams in its 16-team competition - Brisbane, North Queensland and Gold Coast - Nine is frequently frustrated finding enough Queensland teams to schedule for its Friday night double header and its Sunday afternoon coverage.

Ratings are traditionally down in Queensland when Nine shows an all-Sydney game on Sundays, such as the recent Penrith-Wests Tigers match.

There's other articles that mention this.

Colk

Very good point on the last one. Locality isn’t the biggest thing.

The size of the market is important for sure but a team based in a suburb shouldn’t necessarily mean that they are small. If a Sydney club is small, or indeed any club is small then it is incumbent upon them to build up their brand

Wb1234

@Perth Red showed how much money the Panthers generate from sponsorship. It's just $6m with the best team the country has seen in decades. But you ignore the total amount and post irrelevant bullshit about 100 companies paying little on this club.

You keep on waffling about the broadcast rights, even though @Perth Red and @The_Wookie have debunked your crazy claims.

You're not very bright, that's for sure.

Yes, you and your mate should quit. The evidence doesn't support the laughable claims you both throw around.
Quit what

I’m just having a giggle on the sidelines