Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Rd 2 2025 - General Non-Warriors Thread

Blair

It's only round two but I feel worn out already! Who else feels the same? What is it, 'Vegas-virus'? The fact we're deeply worried about the Warriors in general? I think it's a combination of both. What is obvious though is that we need to snap out of it, with a surprisingly good performance against Manly.

First, we have the Knights and Dolphins. Will the thirteen-million dollar man inspire Newcastle? He's not there yet, we know that, but sometimes a high profile signing can lift a team. I noticed the Dolphins were also predicted 'wooden spoon' candidates this year. Either way, at the wrong end of the ladder, this game's big.

Friday, here we go! Mt Smart will be full, Manly always bring out the old-school, pre-Warriors, Kiwi league fans too. It could be a walloping though. Manly have pace to burn out wide, the Warriors have, well, the home crowd to push us forward. Who's confident of an upset?

Over in Parramatta, it's probably premiership time again this year, for the 'home' team. Yep, the Panthers. Robbo's Chooks will be sent packing back to Bondi, and he might still be praising their effort!

Saturday, three games, league's back for sure. The Dragons have some unhappy fans, no one likes losing in round one. Down in the 'gong it'll be warm, pre-season training might prove the winner against Souths.

Payten at the Cowboys has made a big call dropping Nanai to Cup, after a lousy effort last week. It's a coach's call a lot of us at the Warriors wish our guy would make. Let's see if it works against the imposing Sharks, who have big plans this year, with big Addin leading from the front.

Sticky's Raiders are on a Vegas high. It's a serious jolt back down to earth being at Bruce Stadium in Canberra. Brisbane are in form too, so look out!

Sunday, Brown wants out of Parramatta, he's made his choice, his future is set. Does he go out swinging this season? Wests have no wriggle room either, especially with more than one wooden spoon up their collective arse.

We close out at Belmore, with Canterbury hosting the GC, who have copped a drenching up at their Robina base. Some dry-weather footy should be a godsend.

Enjoy!

Blair

Woolf is going to get sick of hearing about the Bennett curse very quickly.

20-6, Newcastle. Halftime. It was 20-0. The Dolphins still have some big names from last year. Woolf doesn't sound like a mug coach. What is depressing though is the gulf between top and bottom in the NRL. It seems like there's two divisions now.

Edit: Knights win, 26-12. With a fit Ponga, and at home, that result was expected.

Penrose Warrior

Newcastle have just signed a guy in the halves for 13 million, yet they have a 6 in Fletcher Sharpe with ridiculous speed and talent, plus Jack Cogger who won a GF and has the steel of coming through that Penrith system.

They'll have to find somewhere for Sharpe because they just signed him on a 3-year extension and he looks like a genuine gun

Reactions: JJ

Penrose Warrior

He’s going to hear about it a lot more, and perhaps be a victim of it if he can’t do better with this team
He will, and the Phins aren't going to make the finals.

It's worth remembering that they didn't under Bennett, either. They were in the 8 for the majority of the season in 2024 but lost five of their last six to miss out by a game (they would have been ahead of the Knights on points diff).

So that would be harsh if people compared Woolf to Bennett.

Reactions: JJ

JJ

He will, and the Phins aren't going to make the finals.

It's worth remembering that they didn't under Bennett, either. They were in the 8 for the majority of the season in 2024 but lost five of their last six to miss out by a game (they would have been ahead of the Knights on points diff).

So that would be harsh if people compared Woolf to Bennett.
Yep - but they were generally competitive, have looked pretty bad so far - could be some serious competition at the bottom of the table, we're right in it lol

Penrose Warrior

Ponga is one hell of a player. Basically playing 1, 6 & 7 all in one. Allows Sharpe to just get in their & run.
Agreed, he's a freak. That's why I don't think Brown is a good signing. If you want someone to ball play, why? Ponga is incredible. If you want a running half, as Brown is, you probably already have one. And Cogger is a serviceable organiser.

I think it's a really poor, desperate signing.

Penrose Warrior

Yep - but they were generally competitive, have looked pretty bad so far - could be some serious competition at the bottom of the table, we're right in it lol
Yeah I had them at 16th...but honestly their squad isn't bad. With a genuine NRL standard coach (and Woolf may be in time) they should be entitled to make the 8

JJ

Be interesting to see whether Ponga gets a rep go again, or his yeah, nah approach has cost him...

He's such an amazing player, but then in terms of Green and Gold, so is Dylan Edwards - and of course, Tom, Teddy, Walsh, etc ... which of course is why I struggle with us playing CNK at 1, when we have someone who has been in that class (and is undoubtedly still much closer than CNK)

Newcastle have just signed a guy in the halves for 13 million, yet they have a 6 in Fletcher Sharpe with ridiculous speed and talent, plus Jack Cogger who won a GF and has the steel of coming through that Penrith system.

They'll have to find somewhere for Sharpe because they just signed him on a 3-year extension and he looks like a genuine gun

Hard to see where Cogger fits given Brown's arrival and Sharpe's extension as you say. He's got one more year on his deal, but I reckon short odds on an early release if another club comes knocking on 1-Nov.

JJ

Hard to see where Cogger fits given Brown's arrival and Sharpe's extension as you say. He's got one more year on his deal, but I reckon short odds on an early release if another club comes knocking on 1-Nov.
We have a habit of collecting journeymen halves?

Penrose Warrior

Oh yeah, Cogger is the guy that misses out. Sharpe at 6, Brown at 7. That's a good spine with Brailey at 9 (not a Crossland fan) but when you have Ponga, Sharpe and Cogger, do you need to pay $1.3m per season more for Brown? I'd be going after a big name prop first. Especially seeing they're losing Leo Thompson

Brailey has signed with Canberra, they love collecting hookers