Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

Tiger Ted

Yep, everything in life is a gamble hey. I think the RLPA and the NRL need to sign off on a tiered salary system.
The amount of money a player can earn is based on an apprenticeship system.
Once a kid finishes year 10, that's when when he starts year 1 of his apprenticeship and finishes at the end of his 4th season.
During those 4 years, players can be placed into performance based groups. Performance groups are statistically rated. For example a ½ would have more creditations for try assists, forced repeat sets, 40/20, goal kicking %, unforced errors, forwards more of post contact metres, missed tackles etc and further points are gained by his involvement in junior programs, school involvement and their own high school grades 11 and 12 grade report cards. (Similar to college footy). This ensures they are employable after footy career.
So they can't say it's a restriction of trade because he isn't yet a qualified tradesman.
Having a 17-18 year old potentially earning a million dollars a year seems unethical and ludicrous.
This apprenticeship scheme would stop players who have done the hard yards over 4 years, being walked all over by an 18-year-old.
Obviously, every year, the base salary goes up as well as his performance based salary either goes up or down.
Nice idea but would never get approved.Player agents who wield inordinate power & the RLPA would never agree to limiting earnings of players in this case precocious kids & consequently a reduction in fees for the grubby agents.Also Politis with his billions would still be able to poach the majority of elite kids from the eastern seaboard with the untraceable inducements the rorters can offer.Its never been a level playing field & it never will especially now that the wanka PVL thinks he’s a Hollywood movie producer.

WA Tiger

I’m happy to be proved wrong with Galvin.. It’ll only take 5-6 games to see if he’s got it or not although warriors Bronco's Sharks eels Dragons isn’t a great test for him tho it should be enough
Thankfully by the time we need to fork out $$ for him we should know. I’m just saying it’s not beyond the realms that he could fall short. Once doubt creeps into anyone’s game the wheels can fall off. At least then the silly smile will be gone

WA Tiger

While some cancers can be extremely capable of holding high ranking positions in business and perform with distinction. Most that I’ve met struggle somewhat with dealing with negative shit and pushing through. Ive got a sneaking suspicion from posts I’ve read from vic that he’s a cancer. So that kind of disproves my theory. Although I think he’s just extremely intelligent. That can override virtually anything..eg Elon Musk is also a cancer..cut a long story short Galvins a cancer although being the Chinese sign of the arrogant rooster could help but prob not..

Nutz

Nice idea but would never get approved.Player agents who wield inordinate power & the RLPA would never agree to limiting earnings of players in this case precocious kids & consequently a reduction in fees for the grubby agents.Also Politis with his billions would still be able to poach the majority of elite kids from the eastern seaboard with the untraceable inducements the rorters can offer.Its never been a level playing field & it never will especially now that the wanka PVL thinks he’s a Hollywood movie producer.
The only reason it won't work is for the majority of reasons yove stated but if it was implemented it would work given time.
Greedy people will get their stake no matter what has been introduced.
They once said that putting a limit on the tackle could would ruin the game and we could come up with a thousand things that have been introduced that we now just accept in life.
Remember fuel without lead....outrageous!
It's the only way around the restriction of trade and that us to make it a trade and make them do a recognised apprenticeship.

I do think that if other clubs buy a player that we (or any other club) have developed as a junior the new club has to pay us a development fee. Not sure what that would be or how it would be calculated, but its needed.

Also, if you bring through a junior from your own nursery you get a 50% discount on the cap.

Nutz

I do think that if other clubs buy a player that we (or any other club) have developed as a junior the new club has to pay us a development fee. Not sure what that would be or how it would be calculated, but its needed.

Also, if you bring through a junior from your own nursery you get a 50% discount on the cap.

I think you'll find this a very good read considering the points you made DOM.

My take on the article and what you have said is this. It's all about the player.

When the game grew significantly over the last 20 years the amount of money generated from media rights, revenue from increased membership, gate takings and sponsorships the RLPA got on board and said 'what about the players?'
Where's their fair share from SOO revenue etc etc.
Slowly, just like the unions of the old days, the RLPA have fought for more and more benefits and at one point the game came to a stand off because Andrew Abdo and Clint Newton couldn't see eye to eye with the Collective Bargaining Agreement.
The player have so many allowances now and their income keeps increasing whilst a hard working man or women supporter struggles to to put food on the table for their small family.

There is a Veteran and Developed Player Allowance which is eligible for players who were either developed by the club prior to becoming NRL players and/or have been a Top 30 player for at least 8 years at the club or have been a Top 30 player for at least 10 years across the game.

All about the player!

Third party agreements are payments made by companies directly to players. There is no restriction on the amount a player can earn through third party agreements where he is being paid for his own intellectual property, without the need to employ club logos or names and where the company involved is neither a club sponsor nor are they acting on behalf of a club to secure the player's services.
All third party agreements must be registered and approved beforehand. This is to ensure that they do not become a way for clubs or players to use sponsors or third parties to undermine the salary cap and also for the game to ensure the protection of club and game intellectual property.

All about the player!

The amount of player managers who have been accredited over the last ten years have increased incredibly.

All about the players and greedy add-ons.

The Player Development system and supplement list have been introduced to provide players from school leavers to players at the end of their careers every opportunity to keep the trade going if they put in the hard work.

All about the players

Whist Players Sal Cap is paid by the NRL, the clubs are left to pick up the crumbs, pay staff, ensure all the infrastructure is in place so you and I can watch our heroes play the game.
Clubs are not as wealthy as some people are led to believe.
Phil Rothfield wrote an article about each clubs financial standings in 2015 but I'm led to believe that clubs struggles haven't changed much. Some are doing ok but some aren't.
They talk about how one club made a whopping $2mil annual profit. Woopydoo, the price of Sydney house.

Getting back to your concerns DOM.
The fact that Wests Tigers have got a huge breeding ground means we have untapped wealth of juniors....future stars.
If the NRL would grant greater cash rewards to the club for development of these stars rather than salary cap relief that would make the club stronger. More financially stable.

Some players stay for the premiership ring and better chance of rep status but generally players move on for money.

That's what has/is happening to Penrith. Look at the stars they have had to let go for this reason, and in the the salary cap era it make their multiple GF win more remarkable.
Remember it's the cap that is the restraint, notwhetherr the WT are compensated or not. WT can't pay players any more money outside of the cap.
What they should do, if they aren't already doing it, is the NRL pay larger amounts of cash to go into the club's Development fund and that amount is based on registered junior players in the catchment.
If we have 20k registered juniors and the Roosters have 30% less then we get 30% more cash than the Roosters, or something like that :)
The club would make that a separate business.
It's all about the name of the club, it's perception, how they look after the players post footy.
Our name is slowly getting better and we've attracted a great CEO, Chairman and hopefully a better board.
If we continue to take these baby steps we could be a powerhouse club in a few years...it's a generational thing too sport.

Nutz

Obviously I didn't make it to the game. My birthday present blown because I had another medical episode.
Watching the game on a small hospital bed TV didn't have much appeal but winning made all the pain go away.
I love my tigers, no matter how much grief they cause me.
To all us faithful Tiger supporters, WE WON, WELL DONE YOU LOT.
We can be elated for another week :)

We may have to agree to disagree there mate. Believe it not its still legal in 2025. Hahaha.

I reckon the development clubs deserve some of the benefits I've but forward. Clubs like the storm and roosters would be most effected by this. f**k them, I say.

The TPAs would be a decent idea if they were legal. I won't accept that melbourne are at arms length in any of theirs like they're meant to be. You can't tell me corporate support is falling out of the trees to get behind players in a rugby wasteland like Melbourne. Aside from about 15k die hard ex-pats NRL isn't even on the radar. They've been caught systemically cheating before.

Brisbane used to have the thorobreds club which ran all their TPAs. When Andrew gee was the chair of the broncos he was called before ASIC to answer questions about this but resigned his position. Apparently ex-employees can't be forced to give evidence.

There's an exception to every rule but I'd 99.9% of all TPAs are illegally arranged by the club directly to either benefit a current player or one they want to poach.

Das Hassler

Obviously I didn't make it to the game. My birthday present blown because I had another medical episode.
Watching the game on a small hospital bed TV didn't have much appeal but winning made all the pain go away.
I love my tigers, no matter how much grief they cause me.
To all us faithful Tiger supporters, WE WON, WELL DONE YOU LOT.
We can be elated for another week :)

Bummer you didn't get there and sorry to hear that you're in hospital...a.win does help that's for sure!...what day was your birthday mate?

Nutz

We may have to agree to disagree there mate. Believe it not its still legal in 2025. Hahaha.

I reckon the development clubs deserve some of the benefits I've but forward. Clubs like the storm and roosters would be most effected by this. f**k them, I say.

The TPAs would be a decent idea if they were legal. I won't accept that melbourne are at arms length in any of theirs like they're meant to be. You can't tell me corporate support is falling out of the trees to get behind players in a rugby wasteland like Melbourne. Aside from about 15k die hard ex-pats NRL isn't even on the radar. They've been caught systemically cheating before.

Brisbane used to have the thorobreds club which ran all their TPAs. When Andrew gee was the chair of the broncos he was called before ASIC to answer questions about this but resigned his position. Apparently ex-employees can't be forced to give evidence.

There's an exception to every rule but I'd 99.9% of all TPAs are illegally arranged by the club directly to either benefit a current player or one they want to poach.
Well apparently TPA's like the salary cap are heavily scrutinised, audited and and enforced You believe that don't you Dom, ;)

Nutz

Bummer you didn't get there and sorry to hear that you're in hospital...a.win does help that's for sure!...what day was your birthday mate?
Dec 19th, never had a chance to get out Das.
One day I'll watch them. Are you or anyone else planning to go to any games this year?

Das Hassler

One day I'll watch them. Are you or anyone else planning to go to any games this year?

Ok...Dec 19th...I think you're fairly outside the " one present for both" birthday/ christmas envelope :)
I'm not sure when I'll next get to a game..probably be homebush when I do

Tiger Ted

I certainly want to get to the 3 games at the 8th wonder & im eager to go watch us at comm bank as I’m yet to go there since it was rebuilt.Im quite disappointed that apparently they r no longer letting us stand in front of the Norman latchem Robinson stand where I stood for decades.The joy of watching the great Balmain sides of the 80’s every 2nd week at the 8th.Hope u get to a game soon Nutz & u walk out a winner.