Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

Nutz

That is pretty funny. I love God and f**k you all you dogs.
Typical modern day role model where in one breath they praise god then in another they let go of f bombs and remarks of hate.
The Gypsy King is another example. He'd say, I'd like to thank my saviour, followed by, I'm going to smash his
f ing head in. I don't get it.
Seriously, don't they care about how they are influencing young men and women, kids even . Do we want our boys growing up thinking all girls love porn and god condones hate.
I'm no prude and a lot of women don't give a shitester but where do we draw a line particularly with kids role models on social media.
It must be so hard for parents these days to raise their children to respect others and be nice to people.

Typical modern day role model where in one breath they praise god then in another they let go of f bombs and remarks of hate.

My wife is Catholic. I never had a problem with religion but now I do. It's become a dog whistle for hate and discrimination.

Nutz

My wife is Catholic. I never had a problem with religion but now I do. It's become a dog whistle for hate and discrimination.
Correct.
I'm a Christian but I believe that God has a sense of humour.
Also it's man and churches, not god, who stray from true values.
Anyway, this is a footy forum and I won't ruin it for others.
Go the tigers.

Nutz

Anyone know what this is about? Is it true.
No, but if we had to, I'd rather Perth than PNG.
Better still, I'd rather have 16 teams and WT be one of them. This way we would get some marquee players and our huge nursery would still be protected.

No, but if we had to, I'd rather Perth that PNG.
Better still I'd rather have 16 teams and WT be one of them. This way we would get some marquee players and our huge nursery will be protected.
I think we spoke about this earlier, I would rather a NSW country team come in.
But I don't think we have enough talent to support what we already have.
We've certainly shown that, for the past decade or more.

Nutz

Exactly mate. For some dumb reason we ae shying away from rural areas.
For Pete's sake, this is where a huge amount of players come from.
Most Polynesian kids are in places like Canterbury and Penrith and even western suburbs.
If PV wants an international game where players represent their heritage then Australia might end up being a tier 2 nation :)
We have to get aussie country lads involved so nurseries expand and not shrink.
This sounds like a very racist remark but I assure you that I'm not a racist.
What I'm trying to say is our sport is becoming a huge Polynesian involved sport and they will want to represent their heritage and not their state, leaving the interstate battle with the crumbs if we are not careful.
They are now looking at Samoa as a tier one nation.

Tiger Ted

It’s a no brainer that the cashed up ignoramuses running the NRL should be investing whatever it takes to resuscitate & sustain country rugby league over the long term.Its beyond a joke that the NRL are expanding when there’s glaringly a shortfall of competent players to fill 17 squads.Its 1 of reasons why a lemon like Dylan Brown has been gifted a powerball equivalent contract.

Nutz

It’s a no brainer that the cashed up ignoramuses running the NRL should be investing whatever it takes to resuscitate & sustain country rugby league over the long term.Its beyond a joke that the NRL are expanding when there’s glaringly a shortfall of competent players to fill 17 squads.Its 1 of reasons why a lemon like Dylan Brown has been gifted a powerball equivalent contract.
There's a player in Orange NSW that's even better than Brown but he doesn't want to live in Sydney.
Who is it?
We'll never know :)

I believe the NRL wanted certain financial backing of the Perth team from the WA government. Sounds like this isn't going to be forthcoming. Not sure why you'd need this as no team aside from PNG has any govt backing. And that was only for national security reasons.

The NRL must believe that the consortium backing Perth isn't financially stable enough

Nutz

I believe the NRL wanted certain financial backing of the Perth team from the WA government. Sounds like this isn't going to be forthcoming. Not sure why you'd need this as no team aside from PNG has any govt backing. And that was only for national security reasons.

The NRL must believe that the consortium backing Perth isn't financially stable enough
One politician's dream I believe. Lets shore up the east coast where it started then keep expansion to rep footy. Increase support to rural grass roots east coast teams is what I want.

Maybe because it was tried there before and failed?

Nutz

It was more VFL and NSWRL based teams years ago and now NRL and AFL because they want to expand and not die out. I get it but imagine the AFL losing Geelong then more rural teams in Victorian folding because the AFL didn't support then and concentrated more on national footy....is that the way we really want to go, lose our heritage.
We are eroding our county's true blue Aussie traditions and values already, do we want the same for RL and Aussie Rules?

WA Tiger

I can’t get enough if this guy.. I hadn’t even thought of taking sea salt for the profuse sweating on my job to replace the electrolytes(minerals) .. off to the health shop

Nutz

I know I'm in the majority, especially on a site like LU, but I actually support ARules. I can't watch it, except the GF, but I would hate to see an iconic Australian sport fade away. It wont. Why? Because it's a Victorian sport. They are nutters like we love out RL
We should never compete.
The only issue that we have is our sport is more brutal as far as head knocks go but both codes are addressing that now.
Little Johnny has just the same amount of chance of spinal injuries playing in the schoolyard than in a controlled game of footy I reckon, a lot is overhyped.

Nutz

I can’t get enough if this guy.. I hadn’t even thought of taking sea salt for the profuse sweating on my job to replace the electrolytes(minerals) .. off to the health shop
Why do you need to take electrolytes in a barbershop WA, gee you must go hard :)

Nutz

Remeber it was in his first, maybe secong vlog WA. He packed his coconut milk mix in his bag and went off to training like a kid going to school.
I agree that he's likeable and he's definitely going to be a cult figure hero at WT.

It was more VFL and NSWRL based teams years ago and now NRL and AFL because they eant to expand and not die out. I get it but imagine the AFL losing Geelong then more rural teams in Victorian folding because the AFL didn't support then and concentrated more on national footy....is that the way we really want to go, lose our heritage.
We are eroding our county's true blue Aussie traditions and values already, do we want the same for RL and Aussie Rules?
If they want Perth in, they should finance them in the reserve grade competition, until they earn their wings.

But anyway, it will interesting if we find out the reasons?