Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

Nutz

Who was it on this forum who said we should target Kai Pearce-Paul?
I think it was PT.
Well his wishes might come true.
A handy player to pick up.

Nutz

Harry couldn’t tell the difference between a steeden footy & a slazenger tennis ball.The only reason he gets involved in anything is if he has to for the sake of his business/balance sheet.To add to what u said he is a massively greedy tight arse flog.
Well said sir. Normally I'd protect sponsors, no matter how little or how great their sponsorship is.
The reason being:
a. They don't have to give away dosh especially if there's no real financial gain from doing so, and
b. Their could be a valid reason why they don't give a greater amount and more frequently.
However in the case of one of the richest man in Oz, Harry's contribution seems to be chicken feed. He once had a jersey sponsorship which I believe right at this moment in time, if he kept it going would be an extremely important marketing tool for a company, like Pepper Money.
Why? Because the game is now being streamed all around the world and is watched by millions.
It's for this reason that Broadcasting rights from Foxtel and Chan9 are huge because they get a return in subscriptions and advertising fees from several companies.
It was around $4m I think to save Balmain and he saId NA.
Old Harry had a monthly meeting with Pacoe where Lee would grovel for another $. Harry has openly stated severl times that he loves the Tigers so why isn't he throw huge amounts of money at the club, with a return for jersey advertising, in the hope that he'll see another premiership before he kicks the bucket.
Once you've set your kids up financially and secured your company's employee's financial welfare what else is all his millions good for?
He can't take it with him when he kicks the bucket so Harry, open up your wallet bigger and better than ever before and financially help us win the cup by WT attracting marquee player who know we'll look after them with great TPA's and maybe property investments after footy career ends like at Easts.
I apologise Harry if my facts are screwed by this is how many supporters perceive your dealings with the club. Maybe it's because of the HBG who are more aligned with the magpies and not his beloved Tigers, who knows.

Nutz

@Tigerm
You've worked at Balmain Leagues. What's your opinion why it failed well before it burnt down.
Regardless of it's alignment with a struggling footy team what other reasons did it go under.
Was it because of the location not being in an entertainment precinct?
I used to love going there.
I probably ran into you and coming out of the ladies whilst I was going in.
Do you think it was stuffed admin wise and that's why Harry started to get the shitesters?
Harry did consider buying the Wests Tigers but pulled out.
Once again because it was a rockshiw perhaps?

@Tigerm
You've worked at Balmain Leagues. What's your opinion why it failed well before it burnt down.
Regardless of it's alignment with a struggling footy team what other reasons did it go under.
Was it because of the location not being in an entertainment precinct?
I used to love going there.
I probably ran into you and coming out of the ladies whilst I was going in.
Do you think it was stuffed admin wise and that's why Harry started to get the shitesters?
Harry did consider buying the Wests Tigers but pulled out.
Once again because it was a rockshiw perhaps?
TBH, I'm not sure, maybe they got themselves into debt? I think that's when back door done the dirty.
When I worked there though, the joint was rocking, always a lot of people and after a game at LO, it was standing room only and when they won, it was the only place to be.

What's a rockshiw?

Nutz

TBH, I'm not sure, maybe they got themselves into debt? I think that's when back door done the dirty.
When I worked there though, the joint was rocking, always a lot of people and after a game at LO, it was standing room only and when they won, it was the only place to be.

What's a rockshiw?
Sorry, meant a rockshow, army slang for a shitfight, a dog's breakfast, hopeless admin :)
When I turned 18 we beat Easts at LO and my mate drove me back to the Leagues Club in my HT Holden because I was going to get shitefaced.
I had an awesome night, the club let everyone party on in their Balmain jerseys are club stuff. Around 11pm I found myself barfing out the back of the club, then tried to get back in.
The doorman said, sorry mate, once you go outside at this time of the night you not allowed to get back in, and he said "while your at it, I would clean the spew off your shirt before you try some other joint.
Ah, what a great night but took two days to get my senses back :)

Sorry, meant a rockshow, army slang for a shitfight, a dog's breakfast, hopeless admin :)
When I turned 18 we beat Easts at LO and my mate drove me back to the Leagues Club in my HT Holden because I was going to get shitefaced.
I had an awesome night, the club let everyone party on in their Balmain jerseys are club stuff. Around 11pm I found myself barfing out the back of the club, then tried to get back in.
The doorman said, sorry mate, once you go outside at this time of the night you not allowed to get back in, and he said "while your at it, I would clean the spew off your shirt before you try some other joint.
Ah, what a great night but took two days to get my senses back :)
I had the enviable job of cleaning the spew off the steps.
At the time I was working there, junior was as well, he didn't have to do anything hahaha
Just before I left there, they offered me the job in the downstairs gym, it's where the players drank (heaven for a fan) but I moved up to the central coast, never went back (no particular reason) and then heard it was shutting.

Nutz

I had the enviable job of cleaning the spew off the steps.
At the time I was working there, junior was as well, he didn't have to do anything hahaha
Just before I left there, they offered me the job in the downstairs gym, it's where the players drank (heaven for a fan) but I moved up to the central coast, never went back (no particular reason) and then heard it was shutting.

Awesome mate .
Pete took me there one day and I was introduced to Barnesy and a couple of players who for the life of me I can't remember who they were just before my birthday . Remember at the entrance the Photos of year by year teams? How would you like all of them in your man cave?

Awesome mate .
Pete took me there one day and I was introduced to Barnesy and a couple of players who for the life of me I can't remember who they were just before my birthday . Remember at the entrance the Photos of year by year teams? How would you like all of them in your man cave?
Yes, I spoke with Barnsey a few times, he was a proper gentleman, not sure of the timing, but maybe the beginning of the end when he left.

Well said sir. Normally I'd protect sponsors, no matter how little or how great their sponsorship is.
The reason being:
a. They don't have to give away dosh especially if there's no real financial gain from doing so, and
b. Their could be a valid reason why they don't give a greater amount and more frequently.
However in the case of one of the richest man in Oz, Harry's contribution seems to be chicken feed. He once had a jersey sponsorship which I believe right at this moment in time, if he kept it going would be an extremely important marketing tool for a company, like Pepper Money.
Why? Because the game is now being streamed all around the world and is watched by millions.
It's for this reason that Broadcasting rights from Foxtel and Chan9 are huge because they get a return in subscriptions and advertising fees from several companies.
It was around $4m I think to save Balmain and he saId NA.
Old Harry had a monthly meeting with Pacoe where Lee would grovel for another $. Harry has openly stated severl times that he loves the Tigers so why isn't he throw huge amounts of money at the club, with a return for jersey advertising, in the hope that he'll see another premiership before he kicks the bucket.
Once you've set your kids up financially and secured your company's employee's financial welfare what else is all his millions good for?
He can't take it with him when he kicks the bucket so Harry, open up your wallet bigger and better than ever before and financially help us win the cup by WT attracting marquee player who know we'll look after them with great TPA's and maybe property investments after footy career ends like at Easts.
I apologise Harry if my facts are screwed by this is how many supporters perceive your dealings with the club. Maybe it's because of the HBG who are more aligned with the magpies and not his beloved Tigers, who knows.
Unfortunately rich people don't think that way mate. Money and power are their drug, and they're hooked just as much as some poor kid living on the streets.

I believe he said he was happy to kick in as much money as anyone needed, but he wanted ownership. Obviously the Holman Barnes Group of tossers had an issue with that.

It's all about him and what he wants.

Nutz

Unfortunately rich people don't think that way mate. Money and power are their drug, and they're hooked just as much as some poor kid living on the streets.

I believe he said he was happy to kick in as much money as anyone needed, but he wanted ownership. Obviously the Holman Barnes Group of tossers had an issue with that.

It's all about him and what he wants.
Yep that's how I'm reading it too mate.
I'm just as happy if I can have a second serving of chesecake and ice-cream.