Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kyle Flanagan

I'm ok with the club re-signing Kyle.

Illias and Kyle have a chance to show what they have got this year. Recruitment should already be scouting.

my hope/guess is that Kyle starts at 9 and does what cook did against the broncos. Takes the heat out and acts as a 13 or mobile forward when Liddle comes on. If that’s in 2026 or 2027 I am not sure, depends on cook. Kyle is a hard worker and a descent backup in 9 and halves.

however, I’d be really disappointed if we loose Liddle for Kyle to go to 9. Performer since he came
Look no further than DCE / Atkinson in our halves for 2026.

blacksafake

When evaluating K F think about this

Which coach would eagerly swap their starting 7 or 6 to get K F

Which other 7 or 6 wouldn’t you take to replace K F?

When you work out that then you know what his worth is to a side that wants to compete for a premiership.

His future has been carved out and secured at our club at our clubs expense as simple as that.
Not disagreeing but you could say the same with every other position

DJDL

I have substantial concerns that you may very well be correct.

Not sure how Atkinson got all the rave reviews.

It came about from the Sharks beating the Storm in Melbourne when he kicked the winning field goal.

Atko was there for Trindall, who was still serving his suspension.
Nicho went down in the warm up.
So we played with a supposed halves pairing of Atkinson and Brailey.

Anyone who paid attention to the match would know that all of the Sharks play came from Brailey at dummy half.
We played with no halves, and an extra forward.

Atkinson's stats from the night:
Line Breaks: 0
Line Break Assists: 0
Tries: 0
Try Assists: 0
Line Engaged Runs: 0
Runs: 12
Rum Metres: 59
Tackle Breaks: 2

But he kicked a field goal to put the Sharks in front that night, and a myth is born.

The numbers above are basically a blue print for the numbers he has churned out this year.

He's a dud, sorry.

Eastview

I have always wondered why Kyle wont play more ad-hoc footy instead of the crap he dishes up when he knows there is no chance in hell he will get dropped (unless the media actually start taking notice of the blatant nepotism from one of their own ex work mates and start actually reporting on it)

It came about from the Sharks beating the Storm in Melbourne when he kicked the winning field goal.

Anyone who paid attention to the match would know that all of the Sharks play came from Brailey at dummy half.

But he kicked a field goal to put the Sharks in front that night, and a myth is born.

The numbers above are basically a blue print for the numbers he has churned out this year.

He's a dud, sorry.
LKT is not ready
Kyle is not good enough
Elias is not good enough
Atkinson is untested

We need a DCE or Glavin to pair with Atkinson who we still need to grade.

DJDL

LKT looks the goods to me.
You guys need to hang onto him whatever you do.

Atkinson would be 4th choice on that list for me.

He’s capable of the odd bit of flair but, by and large, just a run of the mill player.

LKT is not ready
Kyle is not good enough
Elias is not good enough
Atkinson is untested

We need a DCE or Glavin to pair with Atkinson who we still need to grade.
We would not even be in the market for DCE or Galvin.
I posted a while back that what we need prior to 30th June is an experienced number 7 to guide the team around the park, and to link up with Atkinson as our number 6 for 2026.
The other one is what plenty of posters here have been baying for, is that big bopper to get our pack on the front foot for the young guns to play off.

redv13

He's a dud, sorry.
In fairness to Atko, he has been shunted around a fair bit this year. I know he is your 14 but fair dinkum the poor bloke has covered hooker, lock, halves, centre, wing, right side, left side, not played at all. A bit all over the place and Fitzy has to wear that. I’m sure if he was settled at 6 or 7 he would be totally different

We would not even be in the market for DCE or Galvin.
I posted a while back that what we need prior to 30th June is an experienced number 7 to guide the team around the park, and to link up with Atkinson as our number 6 for 2026.
The other one is what plenty of posters here have been baying for, is that big bopper to get our pack on the front foot for the young guns to play off.
Well when it comes to young ones, we have the following out for the season:
T Couchman
R Couchman
Eagan
Did we promote them before their bodies were ready.

Tonga and Stewart look the goods. Let's hope they survive the riggers of first-grade.

To make room for new blood we should let go:
Lawrie
Rava
BMM
RFM

redv13

Well when it comes to young ones, we have the following out for the season:
T Couchman
R Couchman
Eagan
Did we promote them before their bodies were ready.

Tonga and Stewart look the goods. Let's hope they survive the riggers of first-grade.

To make room for new blood we should let go:
Lawrie
Rava
BMM
RFM
Toby isn’t out for the season poss, he should be back hopefully vs Newcastle or shortly after that game. ACL injuries can strike anyone at anytime regardless of whether they are playing first grade or Harold Matt’s. Quite simply, the game of rugby league isn’t great for knee pressure. Age, size etc has no bearing on this injury

DJDL

In fairness to Atko, he has been shunted around a fair bit this year. I know he is your 14 but fair dinkum the poor bloke has covered hooker, lock, halves, centre, wing, right side, left side, not played at all. A bit all over the place and Fitzy has to wear that. I’m sure if he was settled at 6 or 7 he would be totally different

Hard to argue.
I posted similar in the Sharks forum last week. Fitz is doing him a great disservice as far as his development goes.

He’s more a fullback than a 6 though. He can do a job there, but ain’t gonna be the saviour you’re looking for.

Crush

Hard to argue.
I posted similar in the Sharks forum last week. Fitz is doing him a great disservice as far as his development goes.

He’s more a fullback than a 6 though. He can do a job there, but ain’t gonna be the saviour you’re looking for.
Yeah I agree, he isn’t a marquee signing by any means.
I reckon he’s a good little player that is versatile, but he isn’t going to step into the halves and change our trajectory.

Ronnie Dobbs

He's a dud, sorry.
The law of averages would suggest you are right, given our average signing.

Budpower

our gun halves combo for 2026 should be LKT and Reed!
behind a pack with Tonga, Halangahu, Couchy 1, Couchy 2, Egan, Stewart, Stanley Trail, Lui and Tsougranis theyd go ok!