Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2025 Crowd Watch

I know its on Thursday but surely the Dogs vs Penrith can crack over 20k?

I think it can.

I definitely think it will break the non-Eels regular season attendance record (R14 2025 - Tigers vs Panthers, 17,708).

Level 1 East is virtually sold out (~3,000 seats), Level 2 East is about 60% sold (~4,200 seats) and seats are moving on Level 1 South.

Always hard to tell how many GA tickets have moved at Commbank, but I think this is tracking well compared to Tigers vs Panthers (as the benchmark).

It's Been Done

Dragons v Eels is surprisingly selling quite well at WIN Stadium. The club has already put the back 5 rows on sale in all the grandstands (unless it's a big game, its not uncommon for these not to go on sale) and most of the concourse has been sold out. Grandstand areas don't have a lot of availability outside of the corners.

Unless the club has been holding back large chunks of seats or the weather turns terrible, this game is actually on track for 16K+.
There's always one home game either at Kogarah or Wollongong that gets a random big crowd every year. 2023 was the Dolphins, last year was Manly, both in Wollongong. Plus we haven't played Parra as the home team since 2017, that is until Saturday

newc18

Saturday was a glimpse into the grind of Perth's regular attendances.

There are going to be sub-10K Bears crowds semi-regularly.
I'll be very surprised if that's the case, especially in their first year or two.

Regardless they are a new team in an expansion market. Let's wait 10-15 years before declaring them a success or failure.

i0Nic

GWS is still getting regular sub 10k crowds as standard 15 years since inception even with some on field success.

Even if the bears were getting a bunch of 10k crowds in their first years it will be on par with where GWS are at in present day.

yakstorm

I think it can.

I definitely think it will break the non-Eels regular season attendance record (R14 2025 - Tigers vs Panthers, 17,708).

Level 1 East is virtually sold out (~3,000 seats), Level 2 East is about 60% sold (~4,200 seats) and seats are moving on Level 1 South.

Always hard to tell how many GA tickets have moved at Commbank, but I think this is tracking well compared to Tigers vs Panthers (as the benchmark).
There is definitely evidence supporting this. Further to what you've outlined, Panthers have had some of their best corporate sales for Thursday's game, with the Cumberland lounge and all corporate boxes sold out and the other main lounge is near capacity. Bulldogs supporter bay has also made some significant movement in the past 24 hours.

RedVee

There's always one home game either at Kogarah or Wollongong that gets a random big crowd every year. 2023 was the Dolphins, last year was Manly, both in Wollongong. Plus we haven't played Parra as the home team since 2017, that is until Saturday
I’ve noticed over the years that Parra get a good roll up of fans in the ‘Gong.

AdelaideSharky

Is that why you cause a stink whenever the Sharks get questioned?
Yet another imbecile who supports an out of Sydney club telling Sydney clubs what they should be doing.

Your own club gets big crowds because there's two parts of f**k all to do in Newcastle.

It takes nearly 50 minutes to get to Allianz from the Shire and you want us to play home games there.

Newsflash for you Sydney is not f**king Melbourne where all the clubs bar Geelong are within 10-15 minutes of each other so playing at the MCG & Docklands works.

Sydney is a load more spread out.

Clubs like Manly or Cronulla playing at the same home grounds would be a total nonsense.

Both are miles away from each other.

Saxon

Well not really, they had a trial storm vs broncos back when I dunno but it had a very good turn out
Three trials played at @ North Hobart Oval over the years.

V Adelaide Rams in 1998 - this was Storm's first ever game got about 3000 attendance.
V Broncos in 2012 - over 11,000
V Dogs in 2017 - about 7K

newc18

Yet another imbecile who supports an out of Sydney club telling Sydney clubs what they should be doing.
I'm allowed an opinion and if you don't like it, I'd suggest you log off here.

Your own club gets big crowds because there's two parts of f**k all to do in Newcastle.
Or the more accurate words would be that we actually support our club. Once again though this has nothing to do with who I follow as I want to see all clubs succeed.

It takes nearly 50 minutes to get to Allianz from the Shire and you want us to play home games there.
If you actually read what I said, I suggested they work with the NRL and venues NSW to schedule 1 or 2 games a season against big Sydney clubs at the SFS. This would mean more revenue for the club and you act like that's a bad thing.

If you schedule it right and promote it, there's no reason Sharks fans couldn't make the 30-50 min trip on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon. Plus you can then sell 1 or 2 game memberships to Sharks fan who live in Sydney but don't live in the shire. Don't limit yourself to just the Shire.

If it doesn't work, then stop doing it, but at least try something.

Newsflash for you Sydney is not f**king Melbourne where all the clubs bar Geelong are within 10-15 minutes of each other so playing at the MCG & Docklands works.

Once again, I'm not suggesting they play there full time, but 1 or 2 games a season isn't going to hurt. Considering the Sharks atm are struggling to break even unless they sell 15,000 tickets, why not look at more ways to make more revenue that you can invest back into Shark Park.

Clubs like Manly or Cronulla playing at the same home grounds would be a total nonsense.

Manly are doing a great job atm. They sell out or go close to every single game and create a great game day experience from what I've heard. They could benefit from a bigger stadium, but they are currently working on that.

Vlad59

Three trials played at @ North Hobart Oval over the years.

V Adelaide Rams in 1998 - this was Storm's first ever game got about 3000 attendance.
V Broncos in 2012 - over 11,000
V Dogs in 2017 - about 7K
I was at all 3 games.
The 1998 game was about 4700 from memory but it wasn’t huge.
2012 was phenomenal. Crowd was massive and shocked everybody. Slater made a return from injury and scored a brilliant try. Place was absolutely packed.
The 2017 turn out was considered disappointing but I’m not sure what they expected.

Vlad59

I'm allowed an opinion and if you don't like it, I'd suggest you log off here.

Or the more accurate words would be that we actually support our club. Once again though this has nothing to do with who I follow as I want to see all clubs succeed.

If you actually read what I said, I suggested they work with the NRL and venues NSW to schedule 1 or 2 games a season against big Sydney clubs at the SFS. This would mean more revenue for the club and you act like that's a bad thing.

If you schedule it right and promote it, there's no reason Sharks fans couldn't make the 30-50 min trip on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon. Plus you can then sell 1 or 2 game memberships to Sharks fan who live in Sydney but don't live in the shire. Don't limit yourself to just the Shire.

If it doesn't work, then stop doing it, but at least try something.

Once again, I'm not suggesting they play there full time, but 1 or 2 games a season isn't going to hurt. Considering the Sharks atm are struggling to break even unless they sell 15,000 tickets, why not look at more ways to make more revenue that you can invest back into Shark Park.

Manly are doing a great job atm. They sell out or go close to every single game and create a great game day experience from what I've heard. They could benefit from a bigger stadium, but they are currently working on that.
Actually you are a massive sook who hates to be challenged.

Vlad59

He’s a first rate know all and drop kick this one mate. The great thing about supporting the Sharks is that we annoy flogs.

Vlad59

There is definitely evidence supporting this. Further to what you've outlined, Panthers have had some of their best corporate sales for Thursday's game, with the Cumberland lounge and all corporate boxes sold out and the other main lounge is near capacity. Bulldogs supporter bay has also made some significant movement in the past 24 hours.
If they can drag 20000 there on a Thursday night then that is a huge effort. The bulldogs factor can’t be denied.