Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

R 22 v Raiders Sat 2/8/25 5.30pm

maestro1

Surely the coach makes some forced and unforced changes for this game.

LKT back to reserve grade and Nick T into the 17 just for starters.
LKT has only had one poor game since he came into the NRL team. That was vs the Cowboys. His defence has been very good in all games. Dearden took advantage of the unfamiliarity of the LKT, Luciano, Feargai/Damien Cook defensive coordination. First game defending together and Dearden made the NSW defence look amateurish. I'm more concerned with the Senior Assistant coach's insistence on this static/wait for the runner to come to us defensive strategy. Cowboys we're makingb60 and 70 metres every set.

I'm Hornby

I'm more concerned with the Senior Assistant coach's insistence on this static/wait for the runner to come to us defensive strategy. Cowboys we're makingb60 and 70 metres every set.
Yeah me too, do you reckon our experienced premiership winning head coach should have a word to the assistants or she'll be right?

I'm currently in Canberra visiting my daughter, and yesterday for something to do I took her and her boyfriend to watch the locals put a big score on the Knights. So here's the intel from row ZZ.
1. Jamal Fogerty is a heck of a kicker, and gives the ball plenty of air. Our fullback and wingers better use lots of sticky spray.
2. Corey Horburgh was playing like a 5/8 at times. I thought he was just a big thug but he has a few moves on him.
3. Josh Papalii was well marked and never really got going. The key is to stop him before he can wind up, which the Knights generally did well.
4. Neither sides fitness seemed exemplary. Line speed etc didn't look any better than ours. I was a bit surprised at that.
5. Canberra were exemplary at slowing the ruck without getting penalised. Newcastle just always carried on that little bit too long and gave away a couple of 6-agains. Canberra had enough fire power to score off the back of that.
6. Canberra's defence would bunch up in the middle after several plays. Newcastle always looked dangerous when they spun the ball wide on tackle 4 or 5.
7. Both Canberra's wingers move infield in defence. Both of them were just as bad as Sloane in that respect.

Given the game is at WIN, I suppose we are some chance. I'd be surprised though. I think the Raiders will be very focussed given the close result last time we played.

RedVDave

Even though they are our bogey team.
Even though they are supremely better than us (and most of the competition to be fair)
Even though they beat us already minus Josh Papalii just a few weeks ago.

I'm calling it now we beat them it's their last loss of the year they go onto win the grand final.

since77

Canberra were exemplary at slowing the ruck without getting penalised. Newcastle just always carried on that little bit too long and gave away a couple of 6-agains. Canberra had enough fire power to score off the back of that.
Yep. Noticed this very early in the season with Canberra. They get away with almost as much crap in the ruck as the Blue & White “born not bred” scumbags. Rarely get pinged for it. No surprise the teams that are the best at getting away with this - Storm, Bulldogs, Raiders - are doing well in the new form of rugby league called “6 again because I said so”.
Also no surprise that the teams who are struggling this year usually get pounded in the 6 again lottery because you know…..momentum.
But hey, the game has never been better apparently…..

Harry Bath

another Saturday afternoon game!!!, it seems like all the games dragons have lost are on the Friday 6pm or Saturday night game they really do have a mental issue with games at this time.

I'm Hornby

I can't see us beating the Raiders, Sharks, Warriors or Penrith. Maybe Souths and Manly but that's wishful thinking. If we lose our next 3 games our game against Souths will be the decider on who gets the spoon unfortunately.
Awesome, reckon the spoon bowl tickets will go on sale to members before the general public mate?