Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 22 vs Canterbury @ CommBank Stadium, Parramatta / Burramattagal

Who will win? Round 22: Wests Tigers v Canterbury

• Wests Tigers 13+

• Wests Tigers 1-12

Votes: 1 12.5%

• Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 1-12

• Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 13+

Votes: 7 87.5%

WA Tiger

The two funniest moments
1/Galvin pulling his hand back when he thought the ball for him was a miss out pass from Chrichton (he’s got to be still a worry under pressure)
2/ the replay of kikau knocking the ball on dead in front of the camera and him looking up expecting the worst, but the ref didn’t see it..

Nutz

I think their actions were stupid and wrong but we live in a society where being an immature dickhead is considered a good thing by some people.

The hypocrisy of dogs supporters whining though kills me.
I found out today that it's the equivalent of the one finger and it's how one Arab person would signal get stuffed to another Arab person. So it's not some serious religious slur. I think.
Some say what's the big deal.
Well if this is true it takes a bit of the heat off the gestures......HOWEVER
If all the players stood in front of the doggies supporters and vigorously gave the one finger gesture that we Aussie all know, that would probably be even a worse look and the NRL probably would've come down on them just as hard.
I would cranky if I had my 10yr old nephews with me at the game and saw heaps of players give the one finger. You don't do it in public unless your a ratbag with low standards.
Just don't be vulgar and stupid. They are supposed to be role models.

WA Tiger

I’m guessing the fans gave it to the wt boys before the finish otherwise they wouldn’t have needed to act like dickheads..I doubt there was pleasantries coming from the spectators the way the boys all got into them at one spot. It was funny seeing Turuva waving and pulling Naden back. He’s already been in the shit for stuff

I like how they use the Arab connotations like it’s suicide bomber level.. fk it’s just giving the finger and according to the arabs.. anyway don’t fk with us or else haha

I know plenty of Muslims. They've made jokes at my expense when we are out at a restaurant and there is a loud noise that I think it's a bomb.

1/Galvin pulling his hand back when he thought the ball for him was a miss out pass from Chrichton (he’s got to be still a worry under pressure)

I thought this was Crichton's fault but on replay it looked like it was Galvin's fault as well.

WA Tiger

I thought this was Crichton's fault but on replay it looked like it was Galvin's fault as well.
No it was Galvin.. That was a here Galvin, I know your a new boy here so I will give you the EASIEST PASS EVER THROWN IN MY ENTIRE LIFE..Galvins reaction was inexplicable.. like how could you mistake that, thinking it was meant for the outside man and not you?? Was there even an outside man? Chrictons look, pulling a face says it all..
”Maybe he is a dud” or “How is that possible” That’s not easily forgiven.. coz it made Chricton look stupid

No it was Galvin.. That was a here Galvin I know your a new boy here so I will give you the EASIEST PASS EVER THROWN IN MY ENTIRE LIFE..Galvins reaction was inexplicable.. like how could you mistake that thinking it was meant for the outside man and not you?? Was there even an outside man? Chrictons look pulling a face says it all..
”Maybe he is a dud” or “How is that possible” That’s not easily forgiven.. coz it made Chricton look stupid

I don't mean to be a bitch but that was pretty funny wasn't it.

AKA Das Hassler

Anyone catch Gould's hilariously petulant effort on the footy show tonight?....believes Galvin went well but had no support from the rest of the team...yeah ok...then says the panther's trainer thing is the biggest fan and media generated "beatup" he's ever seen and didn't warrant a second look.... Yeah right ..this coming from the CEO of the same Bulldogs club that has asked the NRL to investigate the WT try celebration/ opposition fan spray biggest media beatup there's ever been....hillarious

Nutz

I think we are hamstrung with cap restrictions untill start of 27 when Sullivan’s $ is freed up etc I think for AD maybe $450 on a good day and a higher figure from ‘27 .. locked in on this contract
Agree. There is the issue with Sullivan. Also, I don't know if Richo had factored into the equation AD'S explosion of great form of late.
I'd strangle the cap until we have everything sorted. No more KOE Cup std signings.
When we return from the bye, and AD puts in more sterling efforts, what then. His price will keep increasing. If we haven't secured his services by then at the current price, we maybe forced to pay overs or let him go.
That lowball first offer should have been at the current offer and take it or leave it. He would have signed imo.
I seem to be on my Pat Malone when I say AD is not a ½. He is a natural lock.
Even Cooper Cronk says AD should be our long term ½.
Matty Johns, who I rate better as a judge agrees with me though.
The thing is, AD is a naturally gifted running player and has in the past stifled the attack because he tried to do too much. However, in the wet, his style of play was perfect on Sunday.
At lock, on a dry track, his role is more defined in attack, like it is in set type plays, block plays but still be able to make a dash if something opens up.
He'll actually touch the ball more often because he's not restricted to a side of the field.
Amongst traffic he seems to defend better than when isolated where he used to arm grab.
Over the off season he could refine his lock role even further.
Was Madden recruited because Benji feels Latu isn't ready atm. We don't know how Latu has trained or what they talk about. Maybe Latu is having trouble running Benji's style of play???

AKA Das Hassler

Agree. There is the issue with Sullivan. Also, I don't know if Richo had factored into the equation AD'S explosion of great form of late.
I'd strangle the cap until we have everything sorted. No more KOE Cup std signings.
When we return from the bye, and AD puts in more sterling efforts, what then. His price will keep increasing. If we haven't secured his services by then at the current price, we maybe forced to pay overs or let him go.
That lowball first offer should have been at the current offer and take it or leave it. He would have signed imo.
I seem to be on my Pat Malone when I say AD is not a ½. He is a natural lock.
Even Cooper Cronk says AD should be our long term ½.
Matty Johns, who I rate better as a judge agrees with me though.
The thing is, AD is a naturally gifted running player and has in the past stifled the attack because he tried to do too much. However, in the wet, his style of play was perfect on Sunday.
At lock, on a dry track, his role is more defined in attack, like it is in set type plays, block plays but still be able to make a dash if something opens up.
He'll actually touch the ball more often because he's not restricted to a side of the field.
Amongst traffic he seems to defend better than when isolated where he used to arm grab.
Over the off season he could refine his lock role even further.
Was Madden recruited because Benji feels Latu isn't ready atm. We don't know how Latu has trained or what they talk about. Maybe Latu is having trouble running Benji's style of play???

Agree with most of your thoughts there...on a dry track he may not be the best choice ...yesterday he had to be at 7 ...even Luai said that AD ran things out there. Funny thing is if you compare Doueihi to Galvin...both tall...AD much stronger....about the same speed and both set up there outside men about the same. In truth Doueihi has shown he is just as...or more likely to turn a game as Galvin is now or even when he was eith us! Granted Galvin is going to keep improving but just wanted to make the comparison to illustrate AD'S real value to us atm. He HAS won our last 4 prem. points for us off the back of a winning attitude and having the ability to do it. As for Madden's return...with the elevation of Latu F perhaps it's more to do with having a reliable organising half in state cup to give the young guys there a good foundation to develop their games. For me Madden is not too different to Chad Townsend ...you know what you're going to get...half-back 101 no frills. My guess is he'd make a reserve grade coach's job a lot easier. Maybe i'm way off but I think the right jury could swallow it

Nutz

Agree with most of your thoughts there...on a dry track he may not be the best choice ...yesterday he had to be at 7 ...even Luai said that AD ran things out there. Funny thing is if you compare Doueihi to Galvin...both tall...AD much stronger....about the same speed and both set up there outside men about the same. In truth Doueihi has shown he is just as...or more likely to turn a game as Galvin is now or even was for us! Granted Galvin is going to keep improving but just wanted to make the comparison to illustrate AD'S real value tomus. He HAS has won our last 4 prem. points for us off the back of a winning attitude. As for Madden's return...with the elevation of Latu F perhaps it's more to do with having a reliable organising half in state cup to give the young guys there a good foundation to develop their games. For me Madden is not too different to Chad Townsend ...you know what you're going to get...half-back 101 no frills. My guess is he'd make a reserve grade coach's job a lot easier. Maybe i'm way off but I think the right jury could swallow it
Good points mate.
Hey what are doing up this late?
I thought insomniacs like me were the only ones. ;)

Tigers players have claimed that they made the gesture as retaliation for relentless abuse from Bulldogs fans through the game, CODE Sports reported.

The term “khwad” means “take that” in Arabic however, in some contexts, it has an offensive meaning similar to “flipping the bird”. The translation could be as strong as “f*** you”.
-----------
Do other clubs get this type of scrutiny?

Wizardman

That game was the highlight of our season in many ways. I do feel the weather conditions helped us a great deal yesterday in many ways, but credit to us for having the steel in our play to deal with what came our way.
Prior to this year, I'll admit that Doueihi was the most overrated player in the game. This year, (Terrell May aside), he has been our best player all year. There are some games other than yesterday where if he was not in our line-up, we likely lose. First time in my life I've said this, but we need him beyond this year.
Im proud of the way we have dealt with the Galvin issue. It was plain to see who the big loser was yesterday. Galvin strikes me to be an odd fellow who is not easy to get along with. In his heart of hearts, I don't think S Chrichton loves having to deal with him. I think Galvin will have a heap of regret about how 2025 has turned out. His behaviour will follow him for years.

I do have one negative and it is the arabic finger issue. We are in the professional era and our boys have not had the best of years when it comes to social media or negative on-field behaviour. If we are to improve our culture in a positive sense, there needs to be some breach notices for the players concerned....and an even stiffer penalty for Naden. Some will say they took no offence.....but there will always be some who do. Remember that kids go to the game and just do not need to see that stuff.....we need to be better. While its not a hanging offence, it is something that if we ignore it, it speaks of a poor culture in our club.

Wizardman

Tigers players have claimed that they made the gesture as retaliation for relentless abuse from Bulldogs fans through the game, CODE Sports reported.

The term “khwad” means “take that” in Arabic however, in some contexts, it has an offensive meaning similar to “flipping the bird”. The translation could be as strong as “f*** you”.
-----------
Do other clubs get this type of scrutiny?
It is no excuse for the players to go down to the fans level. I would not even mind a wave or a shoosh.......but giving the finger in a place where kids are is not great....Im happy for the players to get a breach notice for this one.

WA Tiger

I don't mean to be a bitch but that was pretty funny wasn't it.
Galvins pass to Burton was the one dropped for AD’s pick up and length of the field try as well..(too low fast and slightly back from the mark for the wet?) ..anyway what a treat

The only issue I have with AD at lock is that we have a smaller pack and we've been rolled this season. We muscled up against the Dogs but we played Sione at lock. In stating that I think maybe Sione was playing on an edge and Seyfarth in the middle.

I agree though that AD running it in the middle suits his game. There was a recent article on here I think where Cheika called him a running half. I can see him playing that role as well.

The thing with AD is that it's hard to trust him. This has been his best season but he has played blinders at other times and then been terrible for long periods of time.