Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

I’ve decided not to put you on the shit list. But let’s try to have some common ground.

Some questions for you.

Do we take Sloan on for his full contract amount assuming it’s the reported $500k?
When did I ever say we should take Sloan? We don’t need a first choice winger or a fullback. Though I do think he will become as good as JAC.
I think Simonsson is on less than that.
I think so too, but I reckon he thinks he can get more now, and he could well be right.
I’d rather Averillo than both of them but I reckon we’d have to give him $600k min due to his versatility.
Agreed
PS - The internet is forever.
It’s why I prefer discussing footy here than anywhere else.

Lack of Quality Coaching - our attacking shape has changed this year and you can see moving parts across the board in the attack which is improving.

Our defensive structure has also changed and you can see improvement especially on the edges not as many wingers are scoring untouched like previous years. We still let in soft tries but the structure Ryles has brought in will continue to improve.

Tactically - Across the game BA is seen as very poor. Its very basic and one trick pony stuff

You look at the knights under O'Brien who comes from similar background and there attack is atrocious and been so for some time.

BA had the benefit of having naturally gifted halfback in Moses but a lot of his tenure the one tactic we had was pass it to Semi or Sivo. When the attack struggled our shape was rubbish and relied on individual brillance a lot

Certain aspects of Man-management - The freezing & treatment out of some players like Fui, Mannah, Nathan Brown.

Tim Mannah is a respected figure in the game and the club the way his exit was treated was nothing short of disgraceful.

Micro-management of the football program away from head office - Now this is more of a internal issue the club didnt realise until Ryles arrived.

But to put it bluntly BA never trusted head office after salary cap and kept the squad and himself at arms length from a lot of the football & general administration of the club as time wore on.

Ryles has been open and transparent with everything & everyone at the club.

Making everyone from the reception girl at the front desk to the water boy feel connected at the club & first grade side.

We haven't got the results this year but the change from the top and down won't be measured in W/L this year but its a stepping stone for future success.
A lot of hearsay and untested assumptions here.

85 Baby

When did I ever say we should take Sloan? We don’t need a first choice winger or a fullback. Though I do think he will become as good as JAC.
I don’t think he will. JAC has the background and experience from success in Melbourne, and he’s a big training ground influence because of that experience and his personality. I don’t see that in Sloan at all. He may be as good in highlight reel tries but he won’t be in defence and general play.

I also agree that Averillo is better target.

eels_fan

RU360 or whatever it is doesnt start until at least 2027, if it happens at all which a lot of decent judges are saying it's a pipedream.

i wouldnt be making recruitment decisions now based on it

RU360 or whatever it is doesnt start until at least 2027, if it happens at all which a lot of decent judges are saying it's a pipedream.

i wouldnt be making recruitment decisions now based on it
Mate it’s going to be all tax free. They will recruit plenty. Union is still huge in Europe.

I reckon Bailey is headed towards Union based on that figure and Lomax could get well over $1.2m
If you listen to Brent Read in his past few podcasts who has been following this, he has stated that the 360 crew don't have their Saudi funding secured as yet and need 200+ letters of intent from basically anyone. This tournament is a short gig like the IPL that will function in the UK/EU off season. In reality, they don't think that any AU NRL players will get recruited.

They are just here for the Lions Tour and are getting signatures from NRL players to get the numbers up.