Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2025 Crowd Watch

eels4lifee

If 40k have been sold so far, and its only Tuesday - I'd imagine by sunday we could be heading towards 70k, and had it been a Dogs vs Eels it would've sold out by now I'd reckon

insert.pause

I really hope the crowd lives up to the hype this time, we’ve been burned before with finals talked up as being sellouts or 70k, bla blah, and then less then 50k turn up.

I know Good Friday and King's Birthday this year had aspirations to hit 70k, and that was picked up by the press. Those games topped out at 65k and almost 60k respectively (the latter was rain impacted).

In both instances, TfNSW was the most accurate source for crowd predictions. Their event planning guidance indicated crowds of more than 60,000 for both games. As such, I'd say TfNSW's estimate of 60,000 is the most realistic figure for Sunday.

Based on my previous post, that would be another huge attendance milestone for the game, as the highest Week 2 finals crowd in the game's recorded history. It would also be one of the top 5 non-Grand Final / single-session attendances in the game's recorded history.

Exciting stuff.

yakstorm

They've just released another 4x bays on Level 6 overnight (604, 605, 610, 611), with three of the new bays selling back to row 15.

With Cat 1 & 2 bays pretty much sold out (down to single seats), large chunks of behind the posts gone & only the corner bays left of levels 3 & 4, the absolute baseline for this game is 50K now.

Will be interesting to see sales today. Historically Wednesday sees a pretty sharp drop for Finals matches before momentum starts rebuilding leading up to kick off.

bazza

And

who gives a shit? A bunch of whiney nobodies on a footy forum and some flog journo’s!
Meh, don’t get it, NRL already changing min requirements for next year. Should just scrap home ground anyway and all play on neutral grounds.
I think they will keep home ground semis - just limit them to teams that have a suitable home ground

i0Nic

I'm going to expect 50k at bulldogs vs penrith and anything more is a bonus.

In saying that, it would be amazing to fill this joint. I'll be attending as a neutral it should be a great atmosphere.

50k is a low ball estimate in the same way that the NRL reporting today that the crowd could crack 80k is an unrealistic highball estimate:

The smart money is on 60k.

Trifili13

I think they will keep home ground semis - just limit them to teams that have a suitable home ground
So they will disadvantage some teams by forcing them to play somewhere else even though they have earned the right to play at home no matter how shit their ground is. I get the discussion that some grounds are not fit for purpose but you can't have 1 rule so some and another rule for others.

I follow the Dragon's and others might disagree but I would prefer they have the best chance of winning the GF (however unrealistic that is at this point in time) than worry about fitting in more people and making sure they are comfortable just because some clubs have been gifted government built grounds in their territory.

newc18

So they will disadvantage some teams by forcing them to play somewhere else even though they have earned the right to play at home no matter how shit their ground is. I get the discussion that some grounds are not fit for purpose but you can't have 1 rule so some and another rule for others.

I follow the Dragon's and others might disagree but I would prefer they have the best chance of winning the GF (however unrealistic that is at this point in time) than worry about fitting in more people and making sure they are comfortable just because some clubs have been gifted government built grounds in their territory.
Maybe clubs like the Dragons and Sharks should be playing more games at venues like Allianz during the season to try and attract more fans to their club and increase their revenue.

Would you also complain if you were to play against the Dogs in a GF because it's at Accor?

Dogs Of War

The game ultimately is about making money. Given the finals primarly benefits the NRL who takes the bulk of the cash with the clubs themselves getting very little. The NRL would like to maximise that.

Grounds like Shark Park and Kogarah are just not fit for purpose for those types of events. I'm glad the NRL is putting a red line through them. Cause even back in the 2000's when Sharks played Cowboys in the finals at the SFS, it drew just over 15k which is still more than what Shark park holds now.

Trifili13

I get the arguments about certain grounds not being up to scratch even for home and away let alone semi finals and the NRL wanting to maximise money and people attending. However if you asked say a Tigers supporter do they want to play say the Storm at Leichhardt, Commbank, Allianz or Accor in a knock out semi what do you think they will choose to give them the best chance of winning? A neutral ground or the 8th wonder?

Dogs Of War

I get the arguments about certain grounds not being up to scratch even for home and away let alone semi finals and the NRL wanting to maximise money and people attending. However if you asked say a Tigers supporter do they want to play say the Storm at Leichhardt, Commbank, Allianz or Accor in a knock out semi what do you think they will choose to give them the best chance of winning? A neutral ground or the 8th wonder?

Thats why the adults are in charge

Wb1234

Thats why the adults are in charge
No chance the nrl will convince the clubs who lose home finals to agree

Clubs control the arlc and Pvl knows this

It’s either neutral grounds for all week 1finals for all teams or not

That would see out of state teams playing finals in Sydney

The current system works well for everyone and shark park will go back to capacity hopefully after next year