Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

The only thing that matters is where clubs are willing to play him (and what they’re willing to pay for that). I’d be surprised if Burton gets another halves contract. It’ll be like Valentine Holmes who wanted to play fullback for similar reasons, but was eventually moved to centre where he actually plays at an elite level.
I disagree. Burton’s kicking game is valuable enough (i.e. there is high demand compared to the supply of NRL standard kickers) that he will get paid as a half by someone.

T-Boon

To get our money’s worth out of Moses, he needs to make 15 kicks a game. That doesn’t leave many left over to get our money’s worth out of Burton.
I can confirm that the offensive coordinators value Moses running/passing game and heads up potential as much as his kicking and that taking some pressure off him as a kicker is not seen as a bad idea.

That’s why you have a five-eighth, just not one who can earn a premium for his kicking game. It’s no coincidence that Cleary’s halves partners (at club level where there’s a salary cap) have ordinary kicking games. Under a salary cap you don’t want to pay too much for stuff you rarely use.

King-Gutho94

Jake Arthur had a farewell party tonight in the Parramatta area.

His flying out to the UK on Sunday

It was a pleasure to be apart of it even it happened by accident.

I asked where Boods was.

Unfortunately the little shit couldn't be bothered. Sums him up really.

Sean Russell was the life of the party.

Feels like JAC has taught him a bit.

DaveMc

I asked where Boods was.

Taught him a bit about ‘little short balls’? If so, thank goodness it’s the off-season, I guess.

I asked where Boods was.

Wait a second - Boods didn't show to Jake's farewell party?

That's kind of slack...

I still reckon Jake could be a valuable ball-playing edge forward, if he spent time training, and developing into one. Good footy brain, some skill, tall frame.

Wait a second - Boods didn't show to Jake's farewell party?

That's kind of slack...

I still reckon Jake could be a valuable ball-playing edge forward, if he spent time training, and developing into one. Good footy brain, some skill, tall frame.

No way. He has zero power. The guys a park footballer for me and only got his chance cause of Dad. Otherwise he is flushed out of system back at HM level.

What are you on about? He's going to the UK because he's too good for NSW Cup.

12yrs of elite training. Its like you know some rich kids going to a private school with the best education from kindy. I'd have my money on them to succeed over a naturally more talented kid who gets no real help amd has to do it themselves
But thats just my opinion. Im probably wrong

12yrs of elite training. Its like you know some rich kids going to a private school with the best education from kindy. I'd have my money on them to succeed over a naturally more talented kid who gets no real help amd has to do it themselves
But thats just my opinion. Im probably wrong
You’re just explaining the reason he’s too good for reserve grade. You’re not disproving it. If Arthur had come through ten years ago, his lack of speed wouldn’t be a problem. Plenty of slow halves played back then. Chad Townsend even won a premiership.