Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

ding ding ding, we have a winner.

Bloke will rock up late Nov/early Dec for pre-season when all our boys not part of the internationals will already having been slogging it out in the heat for 4-5 weeks and what, be welcomed with open arms knowing he has ALREADY signed for his next team which he'll be at in under 12 months.

F**ked if i'd be bothered getting to know the bloke or going out of my way to make him feel welcome.
You must be bewildered why much bigger professional soccer clubs regularly sign players on loan.

Mate, I think most would agree that since BA's departure the club has made the right moves when it comes to most calls. On this one, I think (like almost everyone else on here) that it's a bad call going forward, if true. This is the wrong gun for hire, imo. I would have expected better options than this one.
So why do you think they've done it? If they don't see a benefit, why would they bother?

Im judging him on exactly that if the rumour is true. He wants to be at the Broncos when they are ready for him but doesn't want to waste another year in reserves at the storm. We are the fat chick you only want to screw when you are drunk and your first choice is out of town.
She should've known that already. I did try to tell you.

Lemon Squash

He is a better 6 than any of our other options. That's all that matters. He's a stop gap/

You need to forget about how Brisbane might benefit. It shouldn't be a factor. Like picking Talagi in first grade last year. Without his 11 tries we might have won fewer games and run last.

We got rid of those guys because we didn't need them. I doubt we would have won more games. Maybe Gutherson would've gone as well as Iongi, but we had the chance to get Iongi this year. Gutherson left because he wasn't going to play fullback, not because we didn't want him to stay.

I reckon they'll be professional and see him as a player who will help them win more games for a year.

I'd say that's because the player doesn't want to be there. In this case we know Pezet wants to be at Parra for 2026. Remember we knew Papali'i, Mahoney, Kaufusi and Niukore were all gone by the start of the 2022 season but they still played good footy and got us deep into the finals.

I'm not defending it, I'm explaining it. You merkins haven't even come up with an alternative explanation other than lOl RyLeS iS cUcK!!

I will be happy every time we win. You do you.

I’m not even going to waste my time with you mate you are deadset worse than my Mrs… I won’t win.

Arbitaar1

I don’t see the benefit. I’d rather try Joash and he fail. Atleast there is more upside in that if he progresses he might turn into a 6 or find another spot.

it’s the fact he turned us down for a long term deal it really does seem like a cuck move. We are not talking about a proven experienced first grader here like DCE or a Ben Hunt so there is no upside unless it’s cover for Moses and even then we have Hawkins who didn’t play to bad.

6 wins should be enough for Ryles just like it was in 2018 with the roster he has next year.
The 2018 roster had nine merkins who never played NRL ever again. How many of next year's side do you think will do that? I'd say the only certainties are Paulo and Matterson, with possibly Walker, JAC and De Belin. Everyone else is at his peak or on the way up.

What the people buying the “spin” that this is a good thing as it allows Lorenzo to develop and not block his path are overlooking the fact we put a 4 year deal in front of Pezet. We wanted him long term, he said no, he wants to go a better club.
So we should only sign staunch Eels fans?
we didn’t give a shit about Lorenzo’s path being blocked until 2029 - so that tells you what you need to know about the clubs vision.

Lorenzo is plan b, and spinning it to make him look like plan A because we failed yet again to get the big fish we wanted doesn’t pass muster for anyone with a brain.
Who said he's plan A? He has barely played reserve grade ffs. He isn't top 30 until 2028 so nobody's pretending he's the plan for 2027. He is just another option. I suspect we will get our 2027 five-eighth in the upcoming player market.

lingard

The more I think about it the more annoyed I am that the club would do this. The fact he wouldn’t sign long-term with us just shows he doesn’t have faith in Ryles and the club and its direction. we can surely offer more money than the Broncos who are packed full of stars. So he is going to the Broncos because he sees them as a more viable option to be successful in which case why do we sign him at all? He’s coming to us purely because we’re offering money for one year.
Well, to be fair, what player in their right mind wouldn't see the Broncos as a more viable option for success than almost any other club in the NRL?

Soto

My take on this is no no no and no.
Broncos get the benefit of us developing him further. We block a pathway of one of younger blokes, Papalli, Talaitana etc.
What if thinks ahhh efff it i know im not here next yr....honestly I hope this doesn't play out.
Here for 3 or just dont turn up...
Also hes more a 7 than a 6....
Bewildering at best...

Lemon Squash

Your problem is you think it's a competition. I'm trying to help you be less confused. At least acknowledge there is an alternate explanation other than the club is always wrong.

What are you going on about? You are arguing with so many people at once you are the one getting confused. I already mentioned that I often agree with your opinions, I’m not a sheep I don’t always agree with the crowd and smash the club for the sake of it.

I think Jim and MON (with the help of Ryles) pretty much nailed all our recruitment last season and credit to them.

On Pezet though I really don’t see the appeal in the signing. I think the negatives far outweigh any potential positives. Whatever facts and figures you try and justify it with I’m not going to agree with you.

85 Baby

What's wrong with just increasing our win rate for 2026? I watch games hoping we'll win on the day ffs, not to convince myself we're stuck in a long term plan.
Nothing wrong with increasing win rate for a year but that’s all we potentially get out of this deal. Which….
You think Pezet's only taking $100k of our cap next year?
Of course Pezet would be paid more but if that’s for a handful of likely insignificant wins in 2026, is he worth more than a handful of dollars? He isn’t an established player yet, let alone a genuine star. We are taking all the risk with no payback if/when he develops into an established player. So I might sign him but sure as f**k it wouldn’t be at the price he wants.

Or do you think the NRL will allow a $500k front loading on a contract extension?
They probably wouldn’t be happy with it but they may accept it across 5-10 contracts. Or do you think they’d be happy with us either playing $500k below cap or just giving some player $500k even though they know that’s an inflated price that will affect perception of player values across the league?