Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

Im absolutely comfortable with the club not triggering the clause for a 900k payday.....it is quite overs for what he has produced. I want him but 900k is too much of a sacrifice. If his manger wants to play games, we don't play them.
An expansion club may well pay that 900k......good luck to them.
$900k is well over twice the price for a factory average player.

An extraordinary claim in all of the circumstances and one that should be abandoned by both parties.

I have no idea where these players get their sense of value from.

I note Benjis manager is in trouble. Allegedly up to no good.

Failure to disclose (allegations).

It’s quite serious in some professions because it’s seen as being untrustworthy by governing bodies.

And player agents, if we let them do what they want, the game would be more of a shambles than it is in this area.
Wow, they seem to be a law unto them selves and think they can do what ever they want, though what have they done and haven't been caught yet?
The fines are pretty small for the money everyone is earning these days.
Will Benji flick him.

I reckon the NRL would be a better place if officials and coaches weren't allowed representation.

Or, that their representation couldn't also manage players.

It's dodgy as isn't it.

They can have representation but the conflict of interest when coaches are managed by the same person who manages players and they can game the system is pretty obvious.

Ivan Cleary to me is a great coach and maybe even a decent guy but his recruitment and retention with us to me showed a lack of integrity. I think he just took the easy path and I wouldn't be surprised these coach/player/manager relationships were a part of it.

Shredder

And I reckon all agents take the piss out of it to some extent, not just the major wanker.

I got sent a survey to do last week and I completely forgot to put this on it.

The NRL were talking about doing something about this earlier this year, but nothing.

I guess legally they cant prevent someone from having representation, so they would need to ban the managers from managing coaches. Not ban coaches from having managers.

Not that difficult.

I suppose it’s still in allegations phase with details and defences to emerge.

But If it turns out to be true, I think Benji needs to consider the ramifications of consorting with cheats.

He’d be best placed to cease any association with a person under suspension.

Speaking of which, whether Benji is sacked next season or after a good career where he goes bad at the end, I think he’s going to need to find a role where he’s continued to be loved.

The face of greyhound racing, a continual call team panellist, star in a movie as a friendly zoo keeper.

Or a wildlife documentary about the pacific. Maybe politics in NZ where he’s already a knight or something. Minister for sport.

He has a lot of options where he might be happier than here in the footy. Certainly less stressful.

I think 2026 is his last chance and he has to cement us deep into the 8. The expectation is unrelenting. He’s had a good honeymoon, but the forgiving fan is not a forever proposition.

If he bails, hopefully Richo will stay on for a bit longer to usher in the new crew.

Wizardman

It's dodgy as isn't it.

They can have representation but the conflict of interest when coaches are managed by the same person who manages players and they can game the system is pretty obvious.

Ivan Cleary to me is a great coach and maybe even a decent guy but his recruitment and retention with us to me showed a lack of integrity. I think he just took the easy path and I wouldn't be surprised these coach/player/manager relationships were a part of it.
That part is not spoken about often enough with Ivan's time at the tigers. We lost talent under him and he was part of the biggest recruitment blunders we have had in our history. We were still recovering from them in Madge's last year.

In terms of recruitment / retention, Benji wins by ko over Cleary based on their stints here.

Agree. One, the club doesn't want bad publicity, and 2, surely he can manage it himself.
However, if he smells a rat with his contract, Benji that is, he might want a good manager.
Or a good lawyer? TBH, they would be more than enough for the savey blokes.

That part is not spoken about often enough with Ivan's time at the tigers. We lost talent under him and he was part of the biggest recruitment blunders we have had in our history. We were still recovering from them in Madge's last year.

In terms of recruitment / retention, Benji wins by ko over Cleary based on their stints here.
We shouldn’t have let Ivan walk.

Pascoes darkest hour ( which is saying something) for which we are still suffering the tail-end effects of.

Because what happened was a series of bad decisions after that.

Lee with all his legal knowledge and contract experience, he seemed to have raised the white flag. He was hiding under the desk when he should’ve had Ivan gagging under a fiery cross examination!

Did he not see Ivan’s signature on the document for a set period? Was it all a shonky handshake?

So we became the league’s widowed bitches. Content to live on our knees.

A persons word used to mean something.

Any of us over 40 remember those days.

For you wt forum younger cubs, there were days when honouring promises meant more than money.

Especially in the heritage of our Balmain and Western Suburbs clubs, particularly so.

Nutz

And I reckon all agents take the piss out of it to some extent, not just the major wanker.

I got sent a survey to do last week and I completely forgot to put this on it.

The NRL were talking about doing something about this earlier this year, but nothing.

I guess legally they cant prevent someone from having representation, so they would need to ban the managers from managing coaches. Not ban coaches from having managers.

Not that difficult.
Spot on Shreds.
I believe managers have to be registered by the NRL because it's their product.
So to do what you say, the NRL could put the managers licence on a term, say 2-3 years and if the stuff up then their rufusal for license could be on grounds of bringing the game into disrepute, not restriction of trade.
The definition is disrepute is;
the state of being held in low esteem by the public:
I can't believe there's so many managers out there also.

Wizardman

We shouldn’t have let Ivan walk.

Pascoes darkest hour ( which is saying something) for which we are still suffering the tail-end effects of.

Because what happened was a series of bad decisions after that.

Lee with all his legal knowledge and contract experience, he seemed to have raised the white flag. He was hiding under the desk when he should’ve had Ivan gagging under a fiery cross examination!

Did he not see Ivan’s signature on the document for a set period? Was it all a shonky handshake?

So we became the league’s widowed bitches. Content to live on our knees.

A persons word used to mean something.

Any of us over 40 remember those days.

For you wt forum younger cubs, there were days when honouring promises meant more than money.

Especially in the heritage of our Balmain and Western Suburbs clubs, particularly so.
I could not disagree more with that comment. In a situation like our club was in at the time, if the coaching leader of your football team is not all in to make our club better, he needs to leave ASAP. It is entirely different from a star player wanting to leave. If the head coach wants out of your club, it is absolutely best for the club to let him walk out the door.

Mmm…I think reasonable minds can reach different conclusions.