Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

85 Baby

We could be missing both JAC and Lomax through the season with SOO.

You really want to be having some younger players pushing through to CUP when I say young 18-19..

We don't have that this year unfortunately maybe next year..
If you are suggesting one of players we need to cover SOO wingers is an 18 year old, I think your expectations are out

85 Baby

I do. Every centre and Wing should have the ability to roll the ball into the in goal as they often will have ball in hand on last.
The fact Will and Russel and nearly all our junior backs we've produced aren't capable of this tells me we aren't at the same level of training and development. It isn't just a fluke.
Small details is what wins premierships. Think how only a few wingers used to be able to do the spectacular one handed finishes. Now all just about can.
Coaching and practise.
And opportunity and game plan. An outside back kicking even for Smugs would be an option play and usually the byproduct of the main play breaking down. Historically they have also been built around high amount of possession in opposition 20m.

Risati is a half.
He looks like he could play anywhere, and he might be so good that he plays his first senior footy at wing or centre, like so many talented spine players. Munster and Strange both played centre and wing in reserve grade. Edwards played some centre in reserve grade and made his NRL debut on the wing.

Johnny88

@Johnny88 ….. paywalled. Local story about our Parra Pete.

Every person who attended 'Parra's' memorial service on Monday was 'sucked in' by one of the great celebrations of a well-lived life.
Nicknamed 'Parra' because of his love for NRL club Parramatta Eels, he passed away from complications following a heart attack on October 25. He was 79.
It was difficult not to burst into tears at times, but it was just as easy to laugh uncontrollably as the stories flowed.
'Parra' was a natural storyteller and instilled his sense of humour on family.
Daughter Sharni Montgomery outlined 16 life lessons. Number nine was 'don't swing on the chair'. One of 'Parra's' grandchildren was swinging on a chair, and he asked, 'Do you want a hammer? ' The youngster, obviously intrigued, asked 'why grandad?'. He replied: 'Because if you want to wreck it quicker, just use a hammer. '
'Parra' was born in Bondi, which is the Eastern Suburbs Rugby League Club's heartland.
He soon moved to Granville, two train stops from Parramatta, where he fell in love with the Eels.
Nothing stood in the way of Parramatta.
Sid Barnes was one of Australia's finest Test batsmen immediately following World War II, averaging 63.05 in his 13 Tests.
He later worked as a sports journalist, and his writing was extremely direct and often critical of players.
He criticised one of the Thornett brothers, much-loved figures at Parramatta, and 'Parra' did not hold back, sending a letter to Barnes, expressing his disappointment. He was only 16.
At a family gathering on Mother's Day, daughter Janine Montgomery noticed Dad was getting agitated.
"He said, 'I thought you'd all (the guests) be left by now, 'Parra' is about to play," she said.
Colleen admitted 'Parra' could get grumpy, but his wife of 55 years "does not have a grumpy bone in her body".
"If he was cranky, Pat would walk over to him, place her hand on his shoulder, and this raging lunatic could melt," she said.
The pair met when Peter left the big smoke to accept a promotion with the NSW Public Service (Department of Lands).
He arrived in Hay in 1966 at 19. Janine says his first date with Mum was a trip to the footy at Hillston, around 160km away.
Humour was his superpower. His work colleagues soon realised he hated spiders. They put plastic spiders in his files. A fake spider on the phone receiver saw the phone hurtled across the room.
'Parra' and Pat married in May 1970. Janine said, "They were perfect for each other". Colleen said: 'if you are going to be married to 'Parra', it's going to be a wild ride'.
Sharni's life lesson No. 9 was "real men express emotions".
Start the conversation
Have your say.
Leave a comment below and let us know what you think.
Be the First to Comment
In 1972, Sharni said 'Parra' became the first father to attend the birth of a child in the Hay hospital. Other dads followed.
He loved the community, and it loved him back. Janine always wondered why Santa had the same glasses as Dad. 'Parra' was in the Hay Marching Band. He played the cymbals. He organised the annual Sao Eating competition.
He worked at the Hibernian Hotel for 19 years. He owned the Highway Inn Hotel with former Australian rugby league player Kevin Goldspink. He built the Highway Inn Motel and ran it for years.
The family loved his Basil Fawlty moments. Like the time he walked into what he thought was an unoccupied room to clean it, and a lady had nothing on. 'Parra' was mortified, and son Mick hoped he gave her free accommodation to cover her embarrassment.
Or the time a Tony Taylor checked in. It was during an Ashes cricket series, so 'Parra' thought he would humour his new guest. ''Gee mate, you must be proud of your son Mark 'Tubby' Taylor?' Tony was stunned, 'how did you know I'm Mark's father?' Now, the town had a character called 'Breeny' who did not like 'Tubby' Taylor because of a "lack of runs and a fat ass". 'Parra' brought Tony into a group setting and asked 'Breeny' what he thought of 'Tubby' Taylor. Sure enough, 'Breeny' ripped into the Test opener. 'Parra' said, 'Breeny, I'd like you to meet someone. It's Tony Taylor, 'Tubby's' father'."
After his stint in hospitality, he bought a share of Hay's newspaper, The Riverine Grazier.
A founding member of the Hay Cutters Rugby Union Club, one of his favourite headlines was when the team belted Temora 50-0. It read: 'Cutters play like there's no Temora'.
In 2011, he organised the 'Pie in the Sky' rugby league game. The local team, Hay Magpies, played a charity game against former NRL superstars, including Mal Meninga and Laurie Daley. It attracted around 2500 people. Hay's population is 2800. He was an advocate for the underdog, the battlers.
He loved song parodies and would sing to his granddaughter, to the tune of ABBA's Fernando.
"There was something in her hair last night, it was flaky and white, it was dandruff".
He even sang about picking up the droppings of his beloved sausage dog, Betty. It was called the 'Poo Patrol' song.
But granddaughter Hannah Lewis says it was never just about laughs.
"He had a serious side; he was always there for us," she said.
Sharni's life lesson No. 11 was: "Everybody is a somebody and deserves respect".
He was a Justice of the Peace for 50 years, and people would ask for advice on filling out forms or how to prepare for a court appearance.
'Parra' was nostalgic. He loved his family, his friends. And he never stopped having fun.
Even on his last day, he asked the nurse at St Vincent's Hospital, Melbourne, 'what is the record for cannulas in the arm'?
Sharni was not surprised his heart failed him.
"I'm convinced it was because he gave so much of his heart to everyone," she said.
He had moved to Albury in 2017 to be closer to the larger health services.
'Parra' is survived by children Janine, Mick, Sharni and his extended family.
The Border Mail attended the memorial service with the permission of the Montgomery family

Obscene Assassin

Howlett isn't making CUP.

Rokosuka needs to work on his defense when he played Flegg he allowed a lot of tries by racing in. Though that could be easily fixed with good coaching ( but that's not the coaches job 🤫)

Why not? There's always injuries, suspensions and promotions.

Agreed. There was also a lot of different backline combinations for Flegg in the latter half of the year where I'm sure players had very little time to understand each other's style of play. He was able to come up with some spectacular plays but then there were times where he would lose the ball taking a hit-up. Definitely things he needs to work on but there's very few 18 year olds who are the finished product.

RealdEel

If you are suggesting one of players we need to cover SOO wingers is an 18 year old, I think your expectations are out

No it's the players we are covering in CUP with these 18 year olds which would be nice instead of a random from the RMC side.

But hey maybe I just have expected a little too much..

RealdEel

He looks like he could play anywhere, and he might be so good that he plays his first senior footy at wing or centre, like so many talented spine players. Munster and Strange both played centre and wing in reserve grade. Edwards played some centre in reserve grade and made his NRL debut on the wing.

I get why you loved BA so much.

RealdEel

Why not? There's always injuries, suspensions and promotions.

Agreed. There was also a lot of different backline combinations for Flegg in the latter half of the year where I'm sure players had very little time to understand each other's style of play. He was able to come up with some spectacular plays but then there were times where he would lose the ball taking a hit-up. Definitely things he needs to work on but there's very few 18 year olds who are the finished product.

He probably is better than Allamaddine. Who is training with the first grade squad for God knows what reason..

85 Baby

No it's the players we are covering in CUP with these 18 year olds which would be nice instead of a random from the RMC side.

But hey maybe I just have expected a little too much..
So every year we should have 18 year olds backing up NSW Cup?

Glenneel

He's short and bog average the 3 or 4 games I seen. Bailey is 2 or 3 times the player.
Nanva looks ok but his defense is very suspect. I dont thjnk we have anything in the backs worth talking about.
If I was a recruitment officer and I was looking at players, particularly backs, my first consideration would be speed. If they have that than I believe that everything else can be taught, especially tackling. Also introducing good team systems can assist with tackling so players are not isolated in D. So if Nanva has speed, and at his age good skills in other areas as in passing, then his D can be improved.

Case in point is how our team's D performed better as the season progressed, especially out wide, where players were isolated less due to better systems.

85 Baby

Actually @Poupou Escobar could you do some graphing for us. The only data I can find is an NRL article that says the average player career is 45 games but there’s obvious flaw there that 100 gamers then have more than double average career and Cameron Smith is almost 10 average careers.
What I think would be better is some sort of melded heat map of games played and years contracted. And if you could somehow add in which players were regular NRL players. I think we’d see pools with players at longer careers with heaps of games, players with mid length with heap of games, mid length careers with next to no games and short careers with basically no games

Actually @Poupou Escobar could you do some graphing for us. The only data I can find is an NRL article that says the average player career is 45 games but there’s obvious flaw there that 100 gamers then have more than double average career and Cameron Smith is almost 10 average careers.
What I think would be better is some sort of melded heat map of games played and years contracted. And if you could somehow add in which players were regular NRL players. I think we’d see pools with players at longer careers with heaps of games, players with mid length with heap of games, mid length careers with next to no games and short careers with basically no games
I’m on it.

Russell did a chip and chase this year which ended up being a great try. He is the most improved back we have and I'd pick him before any other centre at the club. He put Staggs in his pocket when he was marking him on the way to our win against them in Brisbane.

I agree he had his best season and would cost under 300k. So he isnt really an issue in the squad. But I would say Will has far more upside if he can fix his hands. Russel I think has average pace, no real foot work or any power. He is safe I guess and tall.
Our problem is if you named every centre in comp we dont have one in the top 25 do we?