Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Zealand 2 will deal a massive blow to NZ rugby

Matiunz

Which school, and how long ago? Didn't happen down my way (maybe in the 80s). Must be an Auckland thing. 😉

Super 8 tried to put a league comp together a while back but couldn't get enough teams. They might have a better chance now. Best way to do it would be to have it a couple of weeks out from the national comp as then they'd be primed for that.
I remember we had a group of guys wanting to play league and the school was happy enough to accomodate it- only problem is there was literally no one to play against

marlins2.0

Which school, and how long ago? Didn't happen down my way (maybe in the 80s). Must be an Auckland thing. 😉

Super 8 tried to put a league comp together a while back but couldn't get enough teams. They might have a better chance now. Best way to do it would be to have it a couple of weeks out from the national comp as then they'd be primed for that.
Mid 00s, and put it this way, it wouldn't surprise ya who haha.

My school didn’t have a rugby or league program at all till I got to 6th form. Up till then the school had their hands full just getting kids to show up, let alone play sport lol

When we finally got a team together most of us were already playing league for the club across the road, so we played 1B 1stXV on Sat and for our league club on Sun.

Anyone remember Andrew Blowers from the Blues/ABs in the late 90s? We played a 7s game against MAGS once and during a scrum, that motherfker reached over, grabbed our frontrower on the far side, and trapped all 3 of us in the scum by himself while they cleared the ball. Then he just let go and trotted off. I've never felt so shit during a footy game in my life.

marlins2.0

Blowers was a specimen!

I played with a few guys who would make the Warriors/Under 20s/and various feeder siders across the ditch. They were all leaguies through and through.

At school quite a few professional rugby players, and a couple who jumped to league when the Warriors had the 20s pathway. Now it's way more common, as has been previously said. Back then I used to get shit for playing league and not union, I would never had played firsts, but club league in Auckland was tough bloody going, some very good players the seasons I played in age grade.

Wb1234

Lmao all you guys being 1st xv

I was like in the “e”s

They used to make us turn out on Saturday to cheer and watch the first team it was so boring

Thing is even though there was no league at school everyone followed it and we all played touch footy or soccer at lunchtime

Matua

What school so I can see whether I'm surprised. :)

I'm guessing Auckland Grammar or Kings?

I was like in the “e”s

They used to make us turn out on Saturday to cheer and watch the first team it was so boring

Thing is even though there was no league at school everyone followed it and we all played touch footy or soccer at lunchtime
Did you go to a boarding school?

There's a Maori boarding school we used to play, Te Aute, and the entire school used to turn up for games. It was quite intimidating (even though most of our players were Maori anyway), they'd line the path as you walk in, do lots of haka/waiata (songs). Sadly, they're no longer a strong school.

Anyone remember Andrew Blowers from the Blues/ABs in the late 90s? We played a 7s game against MAGS once and during a scrum, that motherfker reached over, grabbed our frontrower on the far side, and trapped all 3 of us in the scum by himself while they cleared the ball. Then he just let go and trotted off. I've never felt so shit during a footy game in my life.
I was always surprised by how short an AB career he had, he was destined for greatness. I played with and against some future ABs at school and at uni, but the worst I've ever felt was a league game.

I don't know if anyone remembers Mike Doreen, played a few games for the Warriors, Tigers, and Hunter Mariners back in the day, and years for Canterbury. Anyway he was the captain of the Unicorns in the Lion Red Cup so played a few club games in Hawkes Bay. I marked him one day, and always prided myself on my defence, and I don't think I ever stopped him cold anytime in that match, he only beat me clean once, but even when I'd get him he'd get the ball away, or get it away before I got to him and leave me stranded. I think they ran up a cricket score against us anyway so it wasn't like I was the only one who felt like shit.

I was always surprised by how short an AB career he had, he was destined for greatness. I played with and against some future ABs at school and at uni, but the worst I've ever felt was a league game.
Yea he was a beast aye... big, aggressive, proper gas. Real shame he didn’t kick on. Was only mid 20’s I think when he dropped off the AB radar and moved offshore.

Would’ve made a really good league backrower I reckon. Dunno if the Warriors ever had a sniff.. we had a good group of backrowers in the early 00's so maybe not, but I think Blowers would’ve given it a real good nudge. Certainly better than Mark Carter did a few years earlier.

I don't know if anyone remembers Mike Doreen, played a few games for the Warriors, Tigers, and Hunter Mariners back in the day, and years for Canterbury. Anyway he was the captain of the Unicorns in the Lion Red Cup so played a few club games in Hawkes Bay. I marked him one day, and always prided myself on my defence, and I don't think I ever stopped him cold anytime in that match, he only beat me clean once, but even when I'd get him he'd get the ball away, or get it away before I got to him and leave me stranded. I think they ran up a cricket score against us anyway so it wasn't like I was the only one who felt like shit.
Name was vaguely familiar but couldn't remember details so had to look him... part of the 95 team wasn't he. He's OG Warriors

Wb1234

What school so I can see whether I'm surprised. :)

I'm guessing Auckland Grammar or Kings?

Did you go to a boarding school?

There's a Maori boarding school we used to play, Te Aute, and the entire school used to turn up for games. It was quite intimidating (even though most of our players were Maori anyway), they'd line the path as you walk in, do lots of haka/waiata (songs). Sadly, they're no longer a strong school.

Had boarding but I wasn’t a boarder

School had a major problem around 20 years ago with borders being hazed sexually

Inner west Sydney so a lot of the kids weren’t posh even if they pretended to be

Phil Rothfield also went there so that’s says a lot about the education standards me and him went there

Matiunz

Haha I remember playing Te Aute, half their team was clearly older family members of the students. The officials would swear they were students but these were fully bearded men with like 10yo kids on the sideline cheering “go dad!”
The pub across the road didn’t check ids either though ;)

taipan

School had a major problem around 20 years ago with borders being hazed sexually

Inner west Sydney so a lot of the kids weren’t posh even if they pretended to be

Phil Rothfield also went there so that’s says a lot about the education standards me and him went there
You're kidding Rothfield went to my old school ? He would have dragged the IQ down ATT, probably had the same ruddy boozer complexion back then . Can you imagine the clown in a boater ?

Wb1234

You're kidding Rothfield went to my old school ? He would have dragged the IQ down ATT, probably had the same ruddy boozer complexion back then . Can you imagine the clown in a boater ?
You him and my mate would be the only sharks fans that ever attended it lol

And I used to cop detentions weekly cause my tie and boater were never on properly lol

Matua

I see what you're trying to do, just admit it, all this time we've had a toff in our midst. 😉

Haha I remember playing Te Aute, half their team was clearly older family members of the students. The officials would swear they were students but these were fully bearded men with like 10yo kids on the sideline cheering “go dad!”
The pub across the road didn’t check ids either though ;)
Haha. My cousins went to TA and I can confirm they were the correct age.

On the having kids, that probably checks out, we went on a first XV rugby tour to Oz in my final year and five of the players had kids. I can remember shopping at at all the kids shops at Paddys Markets.

Canard

I was like in the “e”s

Pretty f**king hilarious that the one guy who accuses everyone who disagrees with him of being a Union troll, is a private school boy who played Union, and was a Sydney Swans member.

ParraEelsNRL

Same voters for you everytime. Still don't know what team any of you three support. Never seen any of you in a match day thread or even mentioning something you seen and you liked from a game. It's always this side of the sport you lot mention, so yeah, you lot are trolls, esp that maximus hater of all things white, Aussie and Rugby League.

Old Walter you are mentioning above I would guarantee has spent 1000 times the amount on this sport than you 3 clowns combined.

ParraEelsNRL

You've posted in game day threads a total of 7 times in 4 seasons.

I'm in there voting other posts up or down. I mentioned the International I watched this year as probably the best match I have experienced. I don't have to prove I like RL. I've been here over 20 years. I am a Parramatta supporter, I have no idea who you support and quite frankly, I don't care because you don't care enough to ever mention one.

Canard

Haha f**king rekt.

"You guys don't post in the game day threads, so your not real fans"

To suddenly " I don't have to prove that I'm a fan"

Than why should I you absolute dickhead?